We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilum Experience Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ilum Experience Home to your Saves list
Ilum Experience Home
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Salvador 5726, Buenos Aires C1414BQH, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 453 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The room: clean, very comfortable kingsize bed, pillow service, enough electricity sockets (staff has adaptor on loan if needed), super shower (with tropical shower head) in tub, dvd player, quiet airco. Really, all the comforts you need. We only had some trouble with the wifi in our room, but it was always available in the reception area. We had garden view, nice and quiet.
The hotel: beautiful contemporary design, 12 rooms only, so quiet and personal, friendly staff that speak English well, amazing breakfast with good juice, home-made bread, cakes and granola and eggs that can be ordered any style. Jacuzzi and sauna on top floor.
The location: tree-filled, bit bohemian style Palermo, what a difference from the busy city centre. Means a bit of travelling during the day, Subte (metro) is about 8 blocks away. But at night you're surrounded by the best restaurants within walking distance. We really preferred it like this.

Room Tip: Garden side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    47
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
134
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ilum was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there. We were as pleased as our friends with the hotel, the service, the assistance we received and the location.

The hotel is very well appointed, the staff very friendly and eager to assist with whatever problem one may have. It is also very conveniently located near excellent restaurants and the Palermo Soho nightlife.

We highly recommend Ilum.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaosRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here on 26 September 2012, was meant to be two nights but due to our flight being cancelled the night before ended up only being one night. They were fantastic and only charged us for the one night. Alexander at reception is unbelievable, so chirpy, friendly, English speaking, nothing too much of a bother. The rest of the staff are all very obliging also. It is a small 12 room boutique hotel but boy does it deliver on service, beautiful rooms, contemporary in style, the most comfortable bed we had slept in for a month, crisp white sheets, king size bed, we wished we could have stayed longer. They even booked our private car to the airport for a very reasonable price and we travelled in safety and comfort for the hour long trip. The location is perfect, not far from the Recoleta cemetery which is fascinating. When we return to Argentina we will definitely stay here again. We didn't get a chance to try out the spa but it looked so inviting. Breakfast room is light and airy and buffet selection was incredible and included in the price. We stayed on the second floor and our room looked over the breakfast courtyard. Linda and Vance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Ilum was a tremendous find for my first stay in Buenos Aires - a small and friendly hotel in the beautiful and charming Palermo Hollywood. We'd been worried that Hollywood was the wrong side of the tracks - but found plenty of superb restaurants and fascinating architecture along El Salvador and surrounding streets.
The hotel was designed with detail in mind spacious and well appointed - although the room overlooking the street was a bit noisy with clubbers leaving the night club opposite in the early (and not so early) hours of Saturday morning!
Fantastic help from the reception staff meant my explorations of the city and its museums was successful - I even negotiated the local buses on day 2 and found my way over to San Telmo with ease despite having no Spanish!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road at the weekend - likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you are looking for a friendly, design forward boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo, this is your place. Only 12 rooms with large windows and beautiful common areas. The hotel is only 18 months old and there is attention to detail in the every aspect of the design from the recessed lighting, to the furnishings, to the bathroom fixtures, to the glass box elevator. Unless a balcony is a high priority I recommend staying on the garden side. The entire outward facing wall is glass windows looking out on the private garden. The balcony / street side of the hotel can be loud during the day and especially at night with two bars/restos across the street. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, although perhaps not up on the happening night life scene for the jet set. A very nice breakfast is also a big plus. The one niggle I have was with the interior noise of the hotel. The beautiful ground floor to 5th floor open space design comes with a compromise. We could hear people talking loudly in the lobby or at the elevator while in our room. Not a problem for the early risers or non-siesta traveler, but not ideal for others. That said, ilum is a fantastic boutique stay with a hard to beat location. Welcome serenity in an often hectic city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US_WC_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Ilum Hotel in February and March 2012. When i read the reviews i was a little hesitant about the place as they were all glowing which always makes me suspicious but my suspicions were unfounded. This place is a real find. It's really well located - not in the thick of the action but close enough that you can get a nights sleep. The staff are outstanding, incredibly helpful, friendly and with good knowledge of local restaurants. Nothing was a problem. Breakfast is very good with a good selection on offer. While we were there the hotel was full but it was really quiet and it has a very chilled atmosphere. Rooms are a good size (we had a garden room) and the beds very comfortable. Very happy we stayed there and we will be back.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are at the back of the hotel and are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Love this hotel!! From the moment you walk into the lobby, the cool, Asian themed hotel just feels peaceful and elegant. The hotel staff are friendly and incredibly helpful. Carolina in particular advised us on great places to eat and the perfect New Year's tango show. The rooms are modern and very clean. The hotel is in the heart of the Palermo district with all the great shops and cafes. Perfect location!! The only caveat is the noise. The hotel is in a very busy area and rooms on the street side of the hotel can be extremely noisy. We stayed during New Year and we originally had a balcony room on the street side. Well the Argentines truly do party all day and night and we weren't able to sleep. We ended up in another room at the back of the hotel. We didn't get a balcony which we missed but it was quiet and peaceful. The garden seating area outside the lobby was gorgeous and serene. Breakfast was just right and the coffee delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be very noisy on holidays and weekends. If you want to guarantee quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Palo Santo Hotel
Palo Santo Hotel
#14 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
#41 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Palermo
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
#42 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#5 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Place by P Hotels
Palermo Place by P Hotels
#38 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Palermo
BA Sohotel
BA Sohotel
#83 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilum Experience Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilum Experience Home

Property: Ilum Experience Home
Address: El Salvador 5726, Buenos Aires C1414BQH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 453 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilum Experience Home 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The importance of a first step is that it would mark the way we are heading. That's why choosing Ilum is understanding that our reality doesn't nourish itself from our yesterday or our tomorrow, today is forever today, it is here and now where I choose to be. Ilum is a place with no pressures, a place where we found that the most important thing is to allow ourselves to enjoy of the best, what we receive in life is a consequence of what we give, that is why in Ilum experience home what we give is our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ilum Experience Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing