We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place also if you are not looking for meat”
Review of Habibi

Habibi
Ranked #1,991 of 4,843 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $56 - $113
Cuisines: Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Telmo
Description: Mmmm
1 review
“Great place also if you are not looking for meat”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Mon 9 jan 2012 - A little tired of all the meat we were looking for something purely vegetarian. Of the places that got good reviews online two were closed so we (gf and me) just went to an area we knew: san telmo. Just down the road from the square where they do some tangos sits this Arab restaurant.

The place has a nice atmosphere with cosy sized tables, nice lighting and decorations which hint to the Arab background of the place.

The waitress was prompt and helpful in checking with the kitchen if they coul split portions so that one half of the dish would not contain any lactose. This was no problem.

The food was really tasty.
We had 4 giant falafel balls with veggies and yoghurt dressing, 2 stuffed zucchini and a tabbouleh salad, water, 2 cokes, 2 deserts, coffee, tea for 205 ar pesos (37 euro at time of writing).

My conclusion, If you want something other than meat, give this place a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Solid, mid range, good for solo travellers”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

When you are not really too worried about what you want to eat but you need flavour (and could not stand the idea of yet another poorly cooked steak or a nasty tortilla at a 'notable' cafe) then this is a good bet. Service is pretty average but not offensive, the food actually has flavour and, at this price point that is very rare in BA, the atmosphere is busy so eating alone you are very much ignored by other diners so all in call not bad, not great, but reasonable.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BV73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad service, ok food”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Ok so we can't speak spanish, but putting us next to the kitchen wash up area in a half empty restaurant is never a good start. Poor service throughout. Encouraged to seriously over order (lucky they forgot to send out 2 dishes), even got lights turned up while still eating. Classy! There is much better dining experiences to be had in San telmo than here!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Horrible service - no organization”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My partner and I are currently staying across the street from this little Arabic restaurant. On the recommendation of our landlady, we went to Habibi for dinner on Sunday night. Several places in the area were closed, but this restaurant was FULL with a lineup forming down the street as we were seated.
They could not possibly squeeze another table into the place. Our server seemed very confused about everything. We watched as orders came out of the kitchen and no one knew what table the orders were for. There is no sense of timing, my partner was done eating his dry, flavourless shwarma by the time I got my potato ralletas which tasted like they had been sitting out all day. We waited FOREVER for the bill after asking for it twice. The only prompt part of the service was when we put out our credit card and the owner came over and grabbed it and made sure to tack on a table fee and service.
Do not be deceived by the full restaurant, I believe it must be first time tourists just trying something different.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food poor service”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Excellent food and very good value. The waitresss should find another job. Surly and unhelpful. But its worth it for the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berwicklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habibi also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Habibi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing