We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One staff member made our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monserrat Apart Hotel
Ranked #179 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“One staff member made our stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

For 90 bucks a night I guess I can't complain. The hotel is located in a pretty nondescript area. To get to anything of importance is about a 15 minute walk. I would have rather stayed in Palermo or Recolletta. The rooms are large, but ours was very worn. There was mold in the bathroom, a stain on the comforter, and lots of peeling paint. It also had a weird smell. On the plus side, however was the fact that we arrived at 9 am, and they gave us a room. Also the breakfast was adequate.
On a side note, I really hope the owners of the hotel read this, because there is one staff member who went out of his way to help us. The other staff members were friendly enough, but Nicholaus went above and beyond. I have traveled all over the world, and don't think I have ever encountered someone at a hotel as helpful as Nicholaus. I insisted on giving him a tip at the end of our stay and he refused. He will be a manager of a 5 star hotel one day.
Would I stay here again? Probably not just because I would prefer a more interesting area, and a cleaner room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    212
    105
    39
    7
See reviews for
135
226
25
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
city
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It is out of the way from San Telmo area, but once you step inside, you won't mind the extra walking time, it's worth it. Impressive, modern, clean hotel. The room is modern, clean, spacious, with mini-fridge, microwave, sink, wine opener, TV, wifi. What a difference staying here versus Circus Hostel in San Telmo. Swimming pool, breakfast buffet provided but nothing special. My complaint would be the very light tables used for breakfast, not very stable so food items and liquids are easily spilled if tripping on one of it's table legs. Supermarket a couple of blocks away. Let the hotel clerk know if you need a taxi to the airport, fifteen minutes notice.

Upon checking in, we informed the clerk we would be leaving for the airport late the next day in the afternoon, the clerk extended our checkout stay without charge. That was excellent service, and we think it was because it wasn't fully booked that he was able to accommodate us but didn't ask, just grateful to have another shower in the afternoon before leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Rooms are spacious, clean, new and modern. Staff are efficient and reception speak good English for those with limited Spanish. Wifi is free and fast.

Breakfast is included and is fine but not spectacular - very limited hot selection and even one morning the scrambled eggs had gone cold and should have been changed, and the fruit looks as if its canned fruit. I didn't try the restaurant as there are some good local restaurants close by.

Location is good although the surrounding area can look a bit dodgy especially at night and on Sundays when it's very quiet - I never had any problems or felt uncomfortable walking around though. There is some noise from the street outside from cars (it's a busy street in the morning) and air-con units, and room servicing is done very late in the day (my room was usually not serviced until after 5pm).

The leisure facilities are excellent - pool and gym are free but you have to pay for the sauna/steam room/scottish shower - all clean and modern.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back away from the road may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Excelent hotel in Buenos Aires downtown, large and nice rooms. The only thing that I can't give 100% for this hotel is location, dark and empty at nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellsantos79br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I traveled with my mom and friends and worried about the hotel. How could I choose the best option for us?
When we got Monserrat, I realized that I got the bullseye. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly.
Unfortunately, we had no time to use the pool and the gym, but we visited and was great.
The hotel stays very close to Avenida 9 de Julio and it's so easy to get any part of Buenos Aires.
From the hotel, we spent 50 pesos when we went to the Monumental de Nuñez for Quilmes Festival.

Room Tip: The rooms faced to Salta are large and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a tour group. It was in a very good location, not far from the Center and within easy walking distance of many good restaurants. It was also within easy walking distance of the subway system. The room was a good size and clean. We especially liked the fact that the hotel staff, especially Antonietta, spoke very good English. She was happy to answer our questions about restaurants around the area as well as how to get to the Center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mklopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The rooms were well appointed and spacious. They were very good value for central BA. The location is great, only 10 minutes walk from the old town, 20 minutes from the shopping centre and also surrounded by 'local' resturants. The buffet breakfast was the best we had in all of South America

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Babel Suites
Babel Suites
#258 of 445 in Buenos Aires
296 reviews
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#121 of 445 in Buenos Aires
870 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#45 of 445 in Buenos Aires
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#76 of 445 in Buenos Aires
939 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#65 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,231 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#44 of 445 in Buenos Aires
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monserrat Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monserrat Apart Hotel

Property: Monserrat Apart Hotel
Address: Calle Salta 560, Buenos Aires C1074AAL, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monserrat Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new Hotel was designed, created and executed from the start taking care of every single detail, considering our guests, either when staying for business or pleasure. Monserrat Apart has 75 rooms of 34 square meters each (366 sq. feet), they all have the following services: Complete kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and crockery for 3 people, elegant bathrooms, hairdryer, bidet, individual Control of air conditioning and heating , 32in LCD TV, Internet WiFi, safety box, desk and double insulated glass windows. Special floors for smokers and nonsmokers. Rooms are well equipped for guests with limited mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monserrat Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing