We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel in Palermo Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #1 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in Palermo Hollywood”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon, at the end of a tour around Argentina. We definitely saved the best hotel for last!

We stayed in a superior suite, and what an experience we had. The room was modern, spacious and clean, with a super-comfortable king-size bed -- definitely what we needed to recover after a truly horrible experience flying with Aerolineas Argentineas and their rude and nasty staff. The room and hotel have a great ambience, so you feel like you are staying at a 5* hotel but with the personal service and character that comes from a boutique hotel.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, providing us with maps and tips for getting the most out of our time in BA, making restaurant reservations, etc.

The breakfast was simply fantastic. They bring out in mini-courses a simple yet delicious breakfast -- fresh orange juice, tea/coffee, fresh croissants, perfectly whisked yoghurt, fresh fruit, and eggs made however you want them (I chose omelette -- it was made perfectly). This was a real treat. We didn't sample the bar/restaurant beyond enjoying the complementary glasses of wine -- which was really good stuff -- but the menu looked nice and we heard nothing but rave reviews about how good the food is there (it was fully booked for the whole weekend, which is as good an indicator as any!).

Location is good, a 10 minute stroll to the metro (about 20 mins downtown from there), the parks of Palermo or Palermo Viejo (where most of the restaurants and bars around this funky barrio are to be found).

Overall, a great experience, we would definitely stay here again as and when we return to BA. The only thing we felt they could do better on is delivering their excellent service more quickly at times when guests are in a hurry. On the day were due to leave, we had to 'remind' the waitress at breakfast -- who seemed to be serving the whole room on her own -- quite a few times to bring us our food so we could enjoy the morning before heading off to the airport. We got a few stressed looks, and it took 45 minutes to get through breakfast at a push. The reception was also manned by one person at checkout time, so we had a good 20 minute wait after this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianGrano, Gerente at Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinions with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us feedback that will allow us to improve service delivery.

The slow-breakfast situations have arisen as a result of having to cover some job positions, compounded by the fact that some of the items are cooked to order on first-come first served basis. Re check-out are sorry about delay.

We are now again fully staffed and trust that next time you visit us you will enjoy your stay without these inconveniences. We look forward to it.


Best wishes,


Julián Grano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    267
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
165
856
113
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We loved our short stay here and we are looking forward to our return today! One of the best hotel breakfasts ever! Lovely room and helpful staff. Pool is a real bonus. Everything very modern and well thought out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This boutique hotel is situated a few minutes from one of the best areas in BA for food and shopping and not too far from the main attractions.
The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable and the staff terrific. The room has a Nespresso machine but there is a small charge for coffee. We had to leave at 5.30 am so a continental breakfast was delivered to our at 5.00.
We sat in the courtyard late in the afternoon and asked the restaurant if we could have something to nibble on. They brought us a plate of dips and some local bread. As we spoke to the waiter he gave a background on Argentinean wines and to support his views we ended up tasting a few really good wines. When the bill finally came we had been charged less than $10 each - normally one would pay that for one glass of wine.
The hotel also had arranged to collect us on arrival in BA and to transfer us to the airport later. Their charges for this were reasonable.

Room Tip: If you want to get into the BA mood you can't do too much better than this
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed with my wife in October-November. Loved this hotel. The location is great (though perhaps not 100% perfect as it is in Palermo Hollywood and maybe Palermo Soho would have been more fun, but a minimal complaint as it was still a great spot), the staff were very helpful, and everything was nice and clean. The breakfast in the restaurant was really nice and welcoming. All told, highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great little hotel hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires. Very nice rooms, clean! services was excellent at the front desk and breakfast is really great.

Within 2-3 blocks are some very good parillas and other restaurants, would highly recommend...however, a good 10-15min walk to the main part of palermo soho

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently traveled to Buenos Aires and stayed at the Fierro for about a week. We really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be quite nice. Upon check-in we were greeted warmly and provided with information about the hotel and the surrounding area. Wi-fi is free and strong throughout the property, and we had no problems surfing the web or communicating with loved ones via FaceTime. In addition, a free cooked to order breakfast is included in the rate and it is very good.

We had a balcony room and it was pretty large and quite nice. The room had a hardwood floor and included a flat screen tv, sofa, radio clock (can charge ipod/iphone on it), and safe to lock up belongings. There is a small pool and sauna on the 7th floor which we used once and found to be nice.

The hotel is located in the Palermo neighborhood which is a taxi ride and subway (subte) ride from downtown Buenos Aires. There is a subway stop (Carranza) in close proximty to the hotel. We used the subway on a few occasions and found it to be pretty safe and cheap (2.5 pesos per person for one way). The subway is busier on the weekdays.

The best part about the hotel is the staff. They are all friendly and are willing to answer any questions which you may have/offer advice. Staff provided us with recommendations for food, provided directions, and assisted us with arranging transportation. We had the hotel arrange us with a private car service to/from the airport as well as for a local outing. You can even have the transportation cost added to your room bill instead of paying the driver if you wish. We did so for simplicity. I do not think you can get the same customer service at a large hotel that you can at the Fierro, and it makes a big difference.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others traveling to Buenos Aires. If you must be staying in downtown Buenos Aires, you may want to look at other options since the Fierro is a short subway or taxi ride away. However, the Fierro is a nice hotel located in an area with plently of restaurants and convenient access to the subway. There is also a very large park within walking distance which is worth checking out. There is a Chinese Market on the corner from the hotel where you can go to purchase snacks and drinks.

A couple of restaurants that I recommend close to the hotel are Green Bamboo (good dinner spot), La Cabrera (steak house, go during happy hour 7-8 pm on Monday - Friday for 40% off, the half portions are large, make sure to get there at about 6:45 pm to get in a short line), Siamo Nel Forno (great pizza place), Romano (pizza place - good for a cheaper and quicker meal), and Freddo (ice cream shop). We tried Miranda and did not really like it and found it over priced. Also, we tried Osaka and thought it was okay.

I will leave this review with a tip that may be helpful when visiting Buenos Aires. If you land at EZE airport, you can exchange currency at the Banco De La Nacion for the best rate and no fee. It is located outside of customs. There will probably be a line, but it is worth exchanging currency there for a good rate. You can only exchange $500 USD per person. Also, there is a taxi cab stand located in the area just outside of customs to arrange transport. We already had a private car booked through the hotel, but it appeared as if it would be easy to catch a cab from the airport to the hotel without any problems or safety concerns. Finally, credit cards appeared to be accepted in most of the restaurants we went to so you can probably use that as a method of payment if you wish, but your credit card company may charge a foreign transaction fee for each use.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rowdyburns22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place, comfortable and modern rooms, seemed very new. Staff was very helpful, and they gave us good recommendations for restaurants and wine stores.
Location is good, not perfect (very quiet part of Palermo, you can walk around but it feels a little bit far from the"rest" of Palermo.

not giving it 5 stars because we thought breakfast was so-so. Not a big deal (there are some nice bakeries/coffe shops nearby)

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arielmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,808 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 447 in Buenos Aires
976 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 447 in Buenos Aires
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,288 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,313 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#14 of 447 in Buenos Aires
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Soler 5862 - Palermo | Palermo Hollywood, Buenos Aires C1425BYJ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing