We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, but no food Sunday evenings!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #1 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, but no food Sunday evenings!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

There is a reason this hotel has no ratings below average - it’s a great place to stay.
It’s located in Palermo which is one of the nicer suburbs. It's by no-means central, but the nearest subway station is only a few minutes’ walk and frequent and cheap trains run to the city centre. It’s also pretty conveniently located for the domestic airport (AEP).
The rooms are really nice, very clean, have all the facilities you need and the beds are to die for. I tried room service the night I arrived from the UK and that was also excellent. There is a nice little garden area at the rear where you can take your drinks and Wi-Fi seems to work everywhere.
The only downside is that the restaurant and room service don't open Sunday evenings or public holiday evenings (which meant I never got my free glass of wine). Fortunately, there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. However, these are restaurants mainly for the local community so don't expect menus with English explanations like you might get in the tourist areas. There are also plenty of shops nearby so it’s easy to stock up with drinks and other essentials for trips out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    267
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
165
855
112
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed 9 nights at the Fierro 11/2 to 11/13, with 2 nights away at Iguazu Falls. Our experience was simply the best. All of the positives have already been noted, but I'll repeat them as they are well-deserved. The staff are remarkable--so knowledgeable and helpful. Whatever you need, they are there for you. We found the location of Fierro perfect--close to great restaurants, shops, the subway (which we took many times without any problems). Our room was very spacious and quiet, the bed heavenly, and the hotel decor most inviting. Breakfast in the restaurant was lovely; and for those of us who didn't tote along electronic devices, the lobby computer access was just right for our keeping up with e-mails, etc. While we didn't use the pool/sauna, it was there. We loved Buenos Aires--a vibrant city with so many wonderful, walkable neighborhoods; we'd go back in a heartbeat; and we'd stay at the Fierro. If you want this hotel, please plan ahead. During our stay, it was booked solid; and now you know why. Cynthia Scanlon, Sacramento, California USA

Room Tip: Our room at the back, overlooking the garden, was very quiet. But even sitting in the lobby, at stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gentbrugge
Level Contributor
282 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel. Two nights at te beginning of our trip in Argentinia and 2 nights when returning from our trip in Patagonia. Both times we booked a balcony suite but I would say the room itself wasn't worth the extra money. The one thing it has more than the other rooms is of course a balcony, which eventually you end up NOT using it, because there is no sunshine on the balcony (large trees) and because there is a lot of noise and exhaust from the cars, busses and trucks passing by. There are 2 such rooms in the hotel and the number 11 we stayed in the second time around was smaller then the number 12, in which we stayed the first time.
The rooms are of a good size and clean.
The shower door in number 11 doesn't close very well and as a result the bathroom is almost flooding when taking a shower.
Also when you are a light sleeper do not forget earbuds when having a room on the street side (very noisy).
At the check-inn for the second time we got two coupons for a complementary glass of wine in the restaurant but we never got this on our first visit. On the second night of our 2nd visit they forgot the turndown service. We however received apologies through mail for that.
The location for us was not one of the top locations in BA. It is a good 20 min. walk to Palermo Soho where the restaurants and great shops are.
Breakfast is ok, although the cold part is almost everyday the same.
The staff is wonderful, helpful and very friendly except for the lady (who's name we haven't got) that handled the check-out on our last day.
I hesitated a lot on giving a 3 star or 4 star but eventually I ended up giving a 3 star.
I think there are better options to stay in the Soho neighbourhood.
Honestly I would not stay again at the Fierro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianGrano, Gerente at Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinions with us. Your feed-back is an opportunity for us to improve the quality of our services.

We would have been pleased to relocate you to any other room more suitable to your needs and expectations.
In fact, we have four Balcony Suites, two facing the street and the other pair facing the garden. And there are 22 Superior Suites located from the 2nd floor to the 7th floor. I would suggest you to request the manager for a room move in any future similar situation.

Our maintenance staff is checking the issue with the shower door you mentioned.

You did not receive wine coupons on your first visit as it is a new initiative to increase customer benefits.

I have done the internal follow-up with the housekeeper manager regarding the situation you mentioned with the turndown service. Kindly give us more detail of your check-out situation so that we can address it for the future.

Finally, regarding location, it is a matter of preferences.

We look forward to your reviews on other hotels in Palermo. Hopefully you will see fit to visit us again, and we will be able to make up for the shortcomings that you pointed out.


With best wishes,

Julián Grano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a hip hotel that is reserved in its hip-ness. High design, everything thought out carefully from the understated entrance to the calm and comforting lobby to the simple and elegant dining area and the quiet garden beyond. Oh yes, and the rooms. Continuing the theme, not high-style cold, just perfect. The staff? Welcoming, kind, thoughtful, and knowledgeable. The location is, in fact, ideal, a short less-than-10-minute walk from the Subte, and a host of stellar local restaurants within 2-6 blocks, of all types and styles. Ask the staff - they are conscientious about recommending restaurants that meet your interests.

But the first night, or one night, you must eat in, at the hotel's restaurant with an outstanding tasting menu (my preferred option), and chef Hernan Gipponi. For all that is offered, most reasonable, and a wine sampling to match, a tour of Argentina. Would I stay here again? Without question. A neighborhood with real architectural character and a hotel that I know will welcome me back...as I will be pleased to be there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picturedesk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

On our first trip to Argentina, our first stay in Buenos Aires was at the Fierro. We selected the place based on positive reviews on the internet, yet we were still pleasantly surprised by how great our experience was. the staff was incredibly helpful, the room was large, comfortable and modern, and the restaurant was over the top good. The included breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel. Nicely located in the Palermo Hollywood neighborhood, it's close to the Subte, restaurants and shops. Great neighborhood for walking around to start to get to know this incredible city. Honestly, I hesitate to write more glowing comments, because i fear that this place is going to become incredibly popular very soon, and that this little gem of a hotel will be almost impossible to book at the reasonable prices they are currently charging.

Room Tip: Only four rooms per floor, and I really don't think there's a bad room in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent our last night in Buenos Aires here, having just returned from Patagonia. I had never ordered room service before, but given the reasonable prices on the menu and the great restaurant, we decided to give it a shot. We were not disappointed - and I wish we had ordered more. The only downside is that it took a little over an hour to get our food, but hey, maybe that's normal for room service? Also, I can't complain too much because I was just lying around in bed.

Breakfast in the morning was included for us, and that was delicious as well.

The only problem we had was with trying to have our bags held at the front desk after we checked out in the morning (since our flight was in the evening). Our bags just sort of sat out in the middle of the lobby for what seemed like an eternity, and we weren't sure if we needed to stick around or not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaotictc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Cudos to Julian Grano, General Manager at the Fierro Hotel. Julian, being an exceptional and professional host, went beyond the call of duty of get me a cab for the airport in the deluge that hit Buenos Aires a few weeks back. He stood out in the driving rain and street flooding for 45 minutes to hail me a cab, so I could make my flight. Awesome guy! The hotel is great from every other perspective, rooms, beds, pool, breakfast, staff. They could expand their happy hour offering to more days per week, for those of us who like to have a cocktail after a long day of sightseeing/shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warfdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,806 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 447 in Buenos Aires
974 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 447 in Buenos Aires
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,288 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#11 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,311 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#7 of 447 in Buenos Aires
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Soler 5862 - Palermo | Palermo Hollywood, Buenos Aires C1425BYJ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing