We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 rooms, Nice but quirks”
Review of Awwa Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Awwa Suites & Spa
Ranked #68 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at the AWWA for 5 nights and had to change rooms, so I got a look around. There are 9 floors with each room number offering something a bit different. The best rooms end in the number 1, like 701, 801, etc. but they do not have a balcony. The balcony rooms are a bit smaller, but the big draw back is that they face the street and can be loud. Two things that keep this from being a 5 in my book. 1) Very weak internet service. In fact this is the reason I changed rooms. They tried hard, but could not make the internet work on the top floor. 2) Breakfast. The cafe offers a fixed price breakfast which is double the price of the cafes along the street and the coffee was awful! The good news is that there are many great neighborhood cafes, a laundry, you name it within a few steps.

Room Tip: The best rooms end in the number 1, like 701, 801, etc. but they do not have a balcony. The balcony...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Awwa Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 639 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

I was visiting my daughter in Buenos Aires the last two weeks in February, and chose this hotel based on customer reviews and location. I was not let down ;o) Stayed for two weeks and loved it! Great room, great facilities, helpful staff, lovely standard, nice neighborhood and close to the beautiful Japanese Garden and the Palermo woods. Would love to stay here on another visit. I had a room on the 5th floor facing the street, but there was not much noise.
I had booked without breakfast, but ordered room service some mornings and it was superb. Also tried the washing service and it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampusine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Good:
Great neighborhood, beautiful and peaceful. Close to excellent restaurants, markets, stores, museums, tourist attractions... Great room too.
It was possible to negotiate a special check in and check out time to match with our flight schedule, which were extremely important for us who were traveling with a baby. I thank them very much for this.
Bad:
They should separate smokers from non smokers guests in different floors. A smoker neighbor bother us, lucky it was our last day, otherwise I would ask to exchange rooms.
The cleaning was not so good, there were dust in the kitchen furniture and china, and it wasn't possible to walk barefoot in the room without have your feet grey! The rooms doesn't have carpet, which is an excellent thing to allergic guests, so they should make this a main strength of the hotel improving the cleaning.
The breakfast, as so much guests related, there weren't so good. Just a few options and there weren't low fat option at all. There are great and so very lovely cafes in Buenos Aires, is better to have breakfast in different places or cook it yourself, although it's not so much practical. Much better than bet all your coins at Nucha.
I didn't use the pool and the spa facilities, so I can't rate it.

Room Tip: If you're a non smoker guest, ask for non smokers neighbors.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

slightly odd breakfast arrangements but no problems. My rooms was on the road side of the building but still quiet enough if the windows were closed. Good value and handy for the congress centre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Upscale neighbourhood, 10 minutes walk from La Rural Congress Centre. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms large and comfortable, with microwave, hotplate, free WiFi. Breakfast buffet good, but not outstanding. Good parrilla restaurant (La Gauchita) and outstanding Peruvian restaurant (Astrid y Gastón) on the same street.

I would definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: I expect rooms not facing the street might be a bit quieter, but not a big problem in any case.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Overall, I was very happy with my stay at Awwa Suites and I would stay there again. The staff were all friendly, spoke English well, and were really helpful. They booked my return car service to the airport (240 Pesos, ~$55 USD), stored my bags on my last day, and they explained all the details of my stay and my bill. Front desk is staffed 24/7. I requested an ironing board and iron and it was brought to my room within 5 minutes, at many hotels, it will take 30 minutes or more.

There is also a local police-man stationed on the block and he literally stands right in front of the hotel. He was real police, and not a hotel security guard. Sentries (policemen) are stationed every few blocks throughout most neighborhoods.

Location: The neighborhood was very safe at all hours. 2 blocks to Zoo. Across from large parks area. 1-2 blocks away there is a small boulevard with several cafes and restaurants. 2 ice cream shops/cafes within 2 blocks. Alfa Romeo dealership on the corner, should indicate the type of neighborhood. I was traveling for work, and it is some distance from downtown. `35 Peso (~$9 USD) taxi ride, 10 minutes without traffic. 20-30 minutes with heavy traffic. Very residential, relaxed, quiet neighborhood. 10 minute walk to closest subway train line at Scalabrini Ortiz & Santa Fe (D-line).

Basics: I stayed in room 807, an internal room with a small balcony. Minimalist design, walnut hardwood floor. I believe this room would qualify as handicapped accessible. Bathroom was large, with toilet and bidet, nice, large mirror with a tilt capability in case you are tall or short, or possible in a wheelchair. No tub, large shower, with fold-up wall seat. King size bed (two mattresses side by side), TV stand at foot of bed (lots of channels, plenty of English language programming), which rotates (360) to face the other area of the room with nice large working table. Kitchenette: Refrigerator, stocked with drinks, water, some snacks. 2 electric burners. Small sink. 2 sets of dinner-ware. Closet contained a digital safe for storing valuables, large enough to store my large laptop and several other valuables.

Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Internet performed very well. 2 computers in the lobby available for use.

Hotel lobby has access to the Nucha restaurant/cafe. In some room rates, breakfast was included, but I did not book that option. But I did use the cafe and the food was good.

I did not use the Spa facilities, so I cannot comment on those parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericericeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed here for 5 night in total in March 2012 (3 at the beginning of the month and 2 a couple of weeks later). The hotel is well situated in Palermo in a street of the main Avenida Liberatdor.

The rooms are large and clean and everything seems to be in good condition (almost new in fact). The cafe/restaurant is pretty good for breakfast and lunch although there are many better places to eat in the evening. I'd describe it more as a good cafe than a restaurant.

Breakfast was simple but good.

The staff were all helpful and the internet connection via wifi was good enough.

They have a small swimming pool and gym in the basement which is also good.

My only possible criticism is that if you have a room on a lower floor there is some noise from the street.

The hotel makes a good base for Buenos Aires and its rates seem to be very reasonable. I'd definitely recommend it

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor or a room at the back
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
CasaSur Bellini Hotel
CasaSur Bellini Hotel
#22 of 443 in Buenos Aires
369 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,340 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Suites
Palermo Suites
#160 of 443 in Buenos Aires
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
#102 of 443 in Buenos Aires
328 reviews
Palermo
Dazzler Polo
Dazzler Polo
#21 of 443 in Buenos Aires
524 reviews
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#234 of 443 in Buenos Aires
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awwa Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awwa Suites & Spa

Address: Calle Lafinur 3370, Buenos Aires C1425FAJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#62 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#89 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $75 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awwa Suites & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awwa Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awwa Hotel Buenos Aires
Awwa Suites And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing