We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we did this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BuenosTours

BuenosTours
Ranked #1 of 169 Nightlife in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The 1st private guided walking tour specialists in Buenos Aires, the capital city of Argentina - now also offering private vehicle tours, tango nightlife tours & other local tourism services. Our tours are led by native English-speaking guides now living long-term in Buenos Aires. Listed by the UK's Guardian newspaper as giving the best cemetery tour in the world. Half and Full day tours available every day, recommend at 9am and 3.00pm, but a variety of other start times are of course available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So glad we did this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have never done a private city tour in any of our other travels, and we now plan to whenever possible. We just hope that other tours will be as good as this one was. Oliver was a great tour guide, really knew his facts and history. We highly recommend this company.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Superb tour done by a quality guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I just had to get out of my slumber to write this review for the guide I had with Buenos Tours... perfect English, friendly, humorous and generous manner, amazing sights including off the beaten path and most importantly, informative without being boring. The best I've been on!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandorastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Amazing Full-Day Tour with Jessica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I took a full-day walking tour with Jessica of Buenos Tours. We had such a wonderful time with her! She is so incredibly knowledgeable about the city - my husband can be a bit of "history fact junky," and Jessica provided him with countless fun historical facts that kept him on his toes all day. Buenos Aires is such a large city, and we really feel like Jessica showed us all of the key sites. She was engaging and personable, and we loved the cafe and lunch spots that she showed us as well. I would not hesitate to recommend Jessica as a tour guide!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“consider full day over half day tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We signed up for a half day tour of the historical Centro on our first afternoon in Buenos Aires. We found our guide, Oliver, an ex-pat, to be personable and informative. He answered our questions but did not seem as engaged as we would have wished--asking no questions of us, for example, about our interests or what we hoped to see and learn about during our visit to Argentina. Upon our return home, I reread a number of the reviews on TripAdvisor, and feel in retrospect that this particular tour itinerary may not have been the best choice--San Telmo and/or Recoleta (which we happily explored later on our own) might have been better. Alternatively, a longer tour might have provided a richer experience. On the 3-hour walking tour of Centro some sites were treated in a very cursory way and we might have gotten more out of a more extended visit (e.g., to the explore the tunnels and do the tour at Manzana de las Luces rather than simply walking in and out of one building). We did spend time in the interior of the cathedral and enjoyed that part of the tour and Oliver's more detailed explanation of particular features of that site. All in all, a good experience--but a bit disappointing given our high expectations.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank atastefortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenostours, Owner at BuenosTours, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback on your private walking tour of the historical center of Buenos Aires with BuenosTours, guided by Oliver. I am disappointed to read that you had an "average" rated experience on the tour (although happy to see that you wrote it was "all in all, a good experience" at the end of your review, and that you found Oliver to be "personable and informative").

I would like to apologize on behalf of BuenosTours for this less than optimum tour experience. As per our 100% satisfaction money back guarantee we offered you a FULL refund for the cost of your tour as soon as we saw this review. However you did not reply with the details needed for us to be able to provide the refund. If you see this response and want to take us up on the offer, just get in touch and we'll organize the refund for you without hesitation. We want to make sure that taking a tour with BuenosTours is a risk free decision for everyone.

I should make it clear that you did not request a refund (and in fact no client has done so in the 7+ years we have been giving tours), but we felt that offering one was the right thing to do having read your comments. BuenosTours is our baby, and we all give tours with pride (including of course your guide Oliver), and we hate to see any client go away less than 100% happy.

We are sorry if it seemed Oliver was not as engaged as he could have been on your tour, in terms of him asking you questions about your interests and what you hoped to see and learn during your visit. As far as I know he generally does this without fail, as other TripAdvisor reviewers mentioning him by name attest to. It must have been a very rare off day.

But that is still no excuse. And so we have changed as a company since the day of your tour, to make sure that we treat every single person on our tours as an individual, to strive to find out what interests them most and deliver that information to them in an entertaining manner.

We now direct EVERY client who books a tour with BuenosTours to a form to complete (there are two chances to complete this form in the booking and tour confirmation process) where they tell us what they are expecting from their tour, their interests, and any other important information.

Our guides study client form responses before every tour, so they can plan tour tweaks to best fit the clients needs, research additional relevant information to include, and slant the tour to match exact interests as much as possible.

And now, at the start of every tour, it is BuenosTours policy for every guide to ask again of the clients what they want to get out of the experience, and to check at points throughout the tour if there are any questions that have yet to be answered.

We have found that these two changes have improved our client feedback beyond even our previous very high standards, and we continue to be rated excellent and a top activity in Buenos Aires by the large majority of people who take our tours. We are just sorry that you unfortunately had a less than optimum tour with Oliver. I am sure that would not happen now we engage in this even more proactive personalization of our tours.

In terms of responding to a couple of other points you made...

You mentioned that "this particular tour itinerary may not have been the best choice--San Telmo and/or Recoleta (which we happily explored later on our own) might have been better. Alternatively, a longer tour might have provided a richer experience."

I agree that the richest experience, and the best chance for a guide to show you all that you wish to see and respond to all your questions about the city, is on one of our full day walking tours of Buenos Aires. They are also the best value offering we have.

However, I should also point out that of our half day tours, the historical city center one that you took gets as high a level of feedback, if not better, than our other two half day offerings. I am sorry if that did not seem the case to you. I'm sure that the changes we have made to our company in regards to tour personalization would now address any shortcoming you felt.

Then you also commented that "some sites were treated in a very cursory way and we might have gotten more out of a more extended visit (e.g., to the explore the tunnels and do the tour at Manzana de las Luces rather than simply walking in and out of one building)."

Now, this comment surprised us the most, as treating sites in a cursory fashion is the complete opposite to what BuenosTours is all about. We are an "in depth" tour company, and take things slowly to explain story and context fully - not just listing off names & dates rapidly and rushing from stop to stop, as most other walking tours do. But obviously there is a difference of opinion here as to what is cursory and what is in depth.

We go inside the Manzana de las Luces interior patio, which is more than most tour companies here would do - in fact most locals don't even realize it is there to be accessed! The majority of our clients feel that we have shown them to a hidden gem.

It is not possible to explore the tunnels of the Manzana de las Luces on our tours, or any other walking tour of the city. They offer their own scheduled tours of "the tunnels" (which in truth you do not get to explore, and only a small section can be viewed), with their own tour guides, and do not allow external tour guides to bring groups in. You could only have done this on your own outside of our tour - and Oliver would have been happy to have told you how and when to do so.

Perhaps Oliver should have been more proactive in offering this information, but we tend not to mention it unless clients express an interest, as for the reason stated (you don't actually get to explore the tunnels), we do not think it is all that worthwhile.

If you think that this was treating the Manzana de las Luces in a cursory fashion, then I can only apologize for not meeting your expectations - but we think we do the most with what is available to us at that stop (as with all sites on our tours), and our clients often mention that particular stop as a highlight.

Please accept my apologies once more if this was not the case for you on your tour with us. But I am glad that you did have other highlights on the tour, such as Oliver's detailed explanations of the interior features of the Cathedral.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is of course invaluable to us to see what we are doing right and wrong, and to make improvements such as those described above, ensuring that we continue to delight the the large majority of our clients.

If you (or any of your family) are ever back in Buenos Aires, feel free to send us an email, and we'll be happy to offer another tour completely free of charge, and hope to delight you with our service the second time around.

Take care and keep exploring the world!

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buenos Aires Private Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent tour!! Our guides were very knowledgeable about their city. They were not only fun, but interesting as well. Made the city of Buenos Aires come alive for us as we probably would not have gone into some of these areas by ourselves. We broke the tour up into two days instead of doing the whole 7 1/2 hours in one day. They meet you in your hotel and away you go! Be sure you wear comfortable walking shoes and bring your camera! Highly recommend Jessica and Alan
Maureen & Jim El Paso, Texas

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenS60768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BuenosTours also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to BuenosTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing