We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security the main issue we would never stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atempo Design Hotel
Ranked #95 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Security the main issue we would never stay here again.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel in a great location - close to many great restaurants.
Air conditioning leaked and we almost slipped down the stairs. Loft was very lovely. Pool not as we had imagined but was a nice looking modern hotel. However the main issue we would never stay here again or recommend is the lack of security.
BA is a very unsafe city but only after our 3rd night we realised our balcony door wasn't locked - not a massive deal. But picture this - one night at 2am in the morning you hear your door unlock and someone enters your room downstairs (2 story loft) you think you're hearing things but no - there is a (drunk?) man in your room downstairs. You scream and he walks out - apparently our rooms key system worked with any key. Hotel did not feel this was a big deal ... After much insistance we moved rooms - there are no double locks for the room just that key entry. If you stay here - Use a chair against the door at night. And we never did find him again - so a drunken mistake and faulty door or a burglar and a scam who knows..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Littlemisseatalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    133
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
43
211
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
taiwan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Air conditioner started leaking on day 1 and shocked I was when front desk staff came and said "here we have a law that AA only work between 22 and 26 degrees or it will leak" and was asked to move room at 11 pm at night. Also I sent clothes for laundry (after being assaulted by a man and a woman on avenue Mayo, splashing green bird sediment on my hair and clothes and confusing me to drop my canon camera on which the man jumped on and the woman confusing me offering paper and water to clean the sediment with the purpose to take the wallet in my pocket) since the first day and only after the second day, when I followed up with call about it, wishing to put on my clothes, the answer was it is not yet ready and surprising was, minutes after when downstairs going to town, to see that they just called the laundry at that same moment. If you want tour of the city, please DON'T by any reason book it through the hotel because the service is unreliable and confusing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristinachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Gerente at Atempo Design Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Atempo Design Hotel.
Your constructive comments are very important to us.

It is disappointing to hear that we were unable to live up to our high brand standards and that you found our original response to your concerns unsatisfactory.

Please rest assured that since your stay with us changes have been made and we have taken your feedback seriously. I do sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity welcome you back.

Additionally, should you wish to further discuss your concerns I can be reached via email at info@atempohotel.com

Kind regards,

Nicolas Bril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Atempo design hotel

I booked this place after a friends had stayed here and described it as ok but in a  great location,I  should have probed.

I hope the people of tablet hotels read this review and then consider removing this hotel from their list of selected hotels.

At the outset, the value proposition appears excellent but that should have raised suspicion. The location in Palermo Hollywood is in an up and coming neighborhood,but Buenos Aires is clearly a city suffering from the past economic woes, it is ,safe for a few exceptions a dirty city, covered in dog feces and graffiti,albeit with beautiful architecture.

This hotel is a pathetic attempt at being a contemporary and hip hotel. They recommended private tours upon request at extortionate prices through a rather dubious operator who kept raising prices . Landry sent was not returned and then discovered unwashed in the front desk cabinet with the excuse that the outside laundry operator did not pick up. The air condition was leaking and overall,with perhaps one exception the staff ace across as aloof,insincere and of a could not care less attitude. This is a truly awful hotel,do not stay here ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Gerente at Atempo Design Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Atempo Design Hotel.
Your constructive comments are very important to us.

It is disappointing to hear that we were unable to live up to our high brand standards and that you found our original response to your concerns unsatisfactory.

Please rest assured that since your stay with us changes have been made and we have taken your feedback seriously. I do sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity welcome you back.

Additionally, should you wish to further discuss your concerns I can be reached via email at info@atempohotel.com

Kind regards,

Nicolas Bril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This minimalist yet confortable design hotel harmonizes perfectly with Palermo's cool vibe. Young, cool, friendly and professional staff. Great location for those who want to walk to explore the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zelucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! It has great location, great service and yummy breakfast.
The accommodations are beautiful and well maintained. The staff are about the best we have ever encountered.
Our experience here has been incredible and I would eagerly recommend Atempo to anyone!
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greattravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

My loft was fantastic but small things like better amenities could have improven the whole thing even more. The location is strategically on a very good location as more and more cool bars and restaurants open around the hotel and honduras road is really nice for shopping! The sraff is ery informal, personally inlike that but i know that this is not accepted by all cultures and it doesn't improve on your overall rating. Breakfast has to be improved. It
Is typically argentinan but if you want to be attractive for people from all over the world, the hotel has to offer more. Overall i would stay again but am really hoping for improvements.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Pros: Rooms were very big and stylish. Bed, TV, and furnishings were great. Guys at front desk were friendly and helpful. Great location. There's a pool upstairs if you're ok with the construction site beside it.

Cons (minor ones): Floors were not carpeted, which was nice, but I could hear the lady upstairs walking back and forth. Wifi and cable weren't working in my last night there. Breakfast is so-so.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BKK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Palermo Place by P Hotels
Palermo Place by P Hotels
#71 of 447 in Buenos Aires
492 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
#96 of 447 in Buenos Aires
324 reviews
Palermo
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
#141 of 447 in Buenos Aires
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Hotel Vitrum
Hotel Vitrum
#107 of 447 in Buenos Aires
362 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,363 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#14 of 447 in Buenos Aires
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atempo Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atempo Design Hotel

Property: Atempo Design Hotel
Address: Calle Arevalo 1564, Buenos Aires C1414CQF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atempo Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atempo Design Hotel is born out of the combination of noble wood and original design. Located in the heart of the Palermo Hollywood neighborhood, among designers, artists, bohemians and gastronomic experiences, Atempo offers a one-of-a-kind service, a warm environment with unique details, which will make your stay unforgettable. Our Hotel has 20 suites and 8 design lofts distributed across 10 floors. We have rooms with an area ranging from 45 to 70 sq mt. All of them have LCDs with cable TV and DVD player, individual heating and air conditioning, safe boxes, telephones with national and international dialing facilities, Wi-Fi Internet connection, full kitchen and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atempo Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing