We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel in fantastic neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algodon Mansion - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #108 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in fantastic neighborhood”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late April. Algodon is a lovely boutique hotel in the upscale Recoleta district, close to shopping, great restaurants and within walking distance of the famous Recoleta Cemetery.It is located on a side street, and although somewhat noisy early in the morning, is actually reasonably quiet after the rush hour.
We were given the largest suite, absolutely outstanding, with its own wine bar, separate dining area, and livig room with an amazing fireplace.The reception staff were friendly and attentive, particularly Martin and Soledad who graciously took care of every request.
On a negative note, breakfast was a little disappointing( it was included in the room rate). No full American breakfast here, nor a buffet style breakfast. Even the continental breakfast with fruits, yogurt and toast/pastry grew tiresome by the fourth morning!!
Also, we found the housekeeping service incredibly disappointing. On two occasions we had to call to have the room cleaned ( this was at 4 in the afternoon!). Amenities were not replaced/ restocked to the point where I had to use a plastic bag because the shower cap I'd used the day before had been taken and not replaced.
The rooftop pool was tiny, as was the adjacent seating area.
Despite these minor inconveniences, the hotel and staff were amazing and I will definitely stay at Algodon on our next visit to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    29
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
137
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel, lovely neighborhood. For reasons unknown (a favor to our booking agent, Limitless Argentina?), we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite for our one-night stay, which was fabulous...if only we had 20 friends to entertain that night. Loved the TV embedded in the mirror in the bathroom. All facilities were excellent. Staff was very helpful, but response was slow because there are only a few people on staff...even checking in, we had to wait 15 minutes...then even longer for luggage. The included breakfast was excellent, but, again, service was very slow. A wonderful place to stay if you aren't in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I spent about 3 days at this fine hotel. Our room was magnificent, the staff very helpful & attentive when needed. I would highly recommend this Hotel when visiting BA. The rooms are beautifully fitted out with large bathroom and generous sized bedroom. It is not a large hotel so book early for busy seasons.

Room Tip: The street view room we had wasn't noisy that we noticed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We loved the Algodon.A fantastic location for exploring Buenos Aires.We liked the fact that it is in an area that is safe to walk around at night.Great big luxurious rooms with everything you could possibly want.The staff are very friendly, warm and helpful.Our only complaint is the spa.This is not run by the Algodon Mansion so it is not a reflection on them.However it is housed in their hotel and they offer a complimentary spa as part of some packages.So i think they need to make sure it reflects the feel of the hotel.Our experience with the spa was not good but I am pleased to say the hotel were very helpful in sorting out our issues.So.....stay at the fabulous Algodon Mansion but avoid the spa.

Room Tip: Avoid the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights at the Algodon Mansion last month and had a wonderful experience. Our suite was spacious (a huge bathroom, which is unusual in an urban hotel), the continental breakfast that was included with our room was delicious and the location is perfect. What stood out the most, though, was the excellent service provided by all of the hotel staff. While this may be partly the advantage of staying in a small boutique hotel that focuses on individual attention for its guests, many of the staff went above and beyond to help make our stay at the hotel and our experience in Buenos Aires exceptional. From recommended itineries to restaurant and shopping suggestions (including making an individualized list of stores when they knew we were looking for leather goods), they just couldn't have been more helpful. The staff is young and enthusiastic and I want to give a particular shout-out to Jimena and Soledad for all of their help. We would definitely recommend the Algodon....oh, and their restaurant Chez Nous is wonderful too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at the Algodon Mansion in October of 2012, so my review predates some of the not so favorable reviews I just looked at. I can only say that my stay, in Room 8 or 9, for four nights was up to standard for a small boutique hotel. I was traveling with my mom, who is 77, exceptionally demanding of hotels--and she pronounced herself pleased. We came down to breakffast every day and had a wonderful time with the serving staff, who were all "muy amable". I only ate at the restaurant once and didn't think it was exceptional but it was certainly acceptable. Our room, which was one of the better ones in the hotel, was really just over the top in terms of luxury appointments. I particularly liked the TV screen that appeared in the bathroom mirror. The location is lovely; just a street or two over is a local food market area that was fun to walk through and of course it is walking distance from the great Buenos Aires book store: El Ateneo.

Altogether, an excellent hotel. More elegant than charming perhaps, but nothing wrong with that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

During a recent stay at the Algodon Mansion, we experienced a less than stellar stay and communicated this to management. While I was both angry and disappointed over the experience, I've been heartened by the response of management to our concerns and their efforts to make things right. Mr. Beck expressed genuine regret that things didn't meet our expectations, and we hope to visit Algodon Mansion next year and write a more extensive review. I always like to give a hotel or restaurant a second chance and hope that our next visit is stellar.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AMULD3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#24 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#29 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#20 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algodon Mansion - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algodon Mansion - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Algodon Mansion - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Calle Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#32 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#34 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#43 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Algodon Mansion - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algodon Mansion is an all-suite, luxury boutique hotel located in the Recoleta neighborhood of Buenos Aires, Argentina. This landmark 1912 building is fashioned in French Classical design and has been impeccably restored, yet re-imagined with inspired contemporary elegance and sophistication. Our suites are exceptionally spacious and offer superior comforts in amenities, including impeccable service, design and luxurious finishings. Suites overlook a shaded residential street, as well as an exquisite interior lightwell that features a cascading waterfall descending to the lobby. Our celebrated restaurant and wine bar offer delectable ambiance and cuisine, and on our rooftop, teak decks and loungers surround a swimmer's pool for summertime tanning with a petite bar for afternoon soirées. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Algodon Mansion - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algodon Mansion Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing