We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great boutique hotel in prime location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algodon Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Algodon Mansion
Ranked #114 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in prime location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived at Algodon Mansion after an overnight flight from the U.S. When we arrived, we were greeted by name as we exited the cab (nice touch!) to find our suite was available for early check in (well appreciated). We stayed for three nights. The suite was very spacious and really nicely appointed. Very large bathroom. We really enjoyed our time there. The location in Recoleta is also very central. You can walk to the downtown area, or take a very short cab ride. The staff was very nice and helpful. Overall, a very classy stay that we would highly recommend if you want to splurge a little bit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoytravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    27
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
132
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
285 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at Algodon Mansion after an overnight flight from the U.S. to find our Recoleta suite was available for early check in. Aside from the tiny 4x4 elevator Algodon became our oasis to return to during our stay in B.A. From the huge comfortable bed to the cavernous shower to the delicious boxed chocolates every aspect of our stay at Algodon Mansion made us feel as though we were very important guest.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed four nights over a two week period and was completely blown away by this opulent mansion. During my second stay I was upgraded to a beautiful apartment suite, the likes of which I would never be able to afford in another major city. Bedroom, living room, dining room, wine wall......the pictures on the website can't do the place justice. For those who prefer the ambience of staying in a private home Algodon Mansion is highy recommended. Its location in Recoleta is also a plus in terms of safety and cleanliness. Thanks to Martin and all the staff for the warm welcome and recommendations for a first-time solo visitor.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite the splurge is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gariemTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
326 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a beautiful property in the heart of the Recoleta. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are cavernous and overall we liked the fit and finish of the room. It is a comfortable hotel and the service was very good and helpful. Everyone was very nice and pleasant and issues were handled with a smile. We did have a few issues that were technical and plumbing related but they were handled and it would not prevent us from recommending this hotel. Our biggest gripe was that the cleaning of the room did not always meet our expectations and though not dirty by any means the bathroom cleaning should and could be better. It is a small property and it feels like your own mansion which is a major positive to this hotel. I would recommend this property and give credit to the hotel staff and the overall design of this property for the reasons. There are better hotels in Buenos Aires but we enjoyed having our own private mansion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back from BA yesterday and stayed here. I sent the following note to the hotel as quoted" We arrived for 4 nights last Friday and checked out on Tuesday. I thought I would share my feelings with you about our stay. On Friday when we arrived we were very tired from the flight and had dinner reservations outside of the hotel but instead decided to eat at Chez Nous. It was wonderful and we loved everything about it. Good thing we did because we had no idea the restaurant, bar and spa were going to be closed for the next 2 nights of our stay. We were VERY disappointed about this fact and feel since we were paying full tariff we should have had access to the entire hotel. Very unfortunate and odd indeed. We wanted a massage but again the Spa was closed. The cigar bar says it it open until 1:00am in the brochure but when we came back to the hotel at 11:15pm on Saturday we were told it was closed. Quite a disappointment. We found it very inconvenient to use unstaffed as well. We liked your rooms and number 9 was a nice suite but we should point out that we could hear ever word of the people in number 8 from our bathroom. Also, housekeeping was not through enough in its daily cleaning. Why did we get only one towel of each size. For such an upscale experience this seemed cheap.

Lastly, your staff was very friendly and nice and we appreciated that.

I am sure your owners know there are many high end products out there and I am searching for a reason upon my next visit to stay at the Algodon Mansion again."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank haddad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor_Beck, General Manager at Algodon Mansion, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear haddad007,

I very much regret that we were not able to fully meet, and exceed, your expectations during your stay with us.

While Le Spa offers treatments seven days a week from 8:00 am until 8:00 pm, our steam room and jacuzzi are only activated upon request as part of our commitment to being ecofriendly and environmentally conscious whenever we can be. We do recommend that massages and beauty treatments be booked a day in advance (or a minimum of 2 hours in advance on Sundays and Mondays). I regret that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy one of our exceptional spa services.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at Chez Nous restaurant. Please accept my sincere apology, however, for any miscommunication regarding the operating hours of our restaurant, which may be determined throughout the year by the high or low season. This is a factor that is not unique to our hotel, rather it is common practice among some of the world’s best hotels, among which we count ourselves.

I do thank you for bringing your comments to our awareness, and hope to welcome you again here at Algodon Mansion. We would be delighted to have another opportunity to truly exceed your expectations.

Should you need any further information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Gregor Beck, General Manager of Algodon Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Located in Recoleta neighborhood, the hotel is a havre of peace. Elegant. The rooms are superb !! The personnel couldn't be more kind and efficient. Food by Chef Antonio Serrano an experience not to be missed. Excellent wine bar. Pool maybe too small.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

What can I say this place is just divine. The service, food, accommodation is just 5 star. It is positioned in the best area. Everyone I delt with went out of their way to help beyond expectations. Gladys and Fransisco were just excellent at their jobs and need to get a special mention, they willing helped us and met our expectations all the time. We had restaurants booked, a list of shops to visit, just a couple of things they did for us. Well done to the management for training their staff to this calibre. Will be back when next in Buenos Aires.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GCC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#11 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#35 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#19 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#20 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algodon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algodon Mansion

Property: Algodon Mansion
Address: Calle Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#32 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#34 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#43 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#69 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Algodon Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algodon Mansion is an all-suite, luxury boutique hotel located in the Recoleta neighborhood of Buenos Aires, Argentina. This landmark 1912 building is fashioned in French Classical design and has been impeccably restored, yet re-imagined with inspired contemporary elegance and sophistication. Our suites are exceptionally spacious and offer superior comforts in amenities, including impeccable service, design and luxurious finishings. Suites overlook a shaded residential street, as well as an exquisite interior lightwell that features a cascading waterfall descending to the lobby. Our celebrated restaurant and wine bar offer delectable ambiance and cuisine, and on our rooftop, teak decks and loungers surround a swimmer's pool for summertime tanning with a petite bar for afternoon soirées. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Algodon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algodon Mansion Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing