We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You MUST experience this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aramburu

Aramburu
Ranked #4 of 4,660 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You MUST experience this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've been to a lot of restaurants around the world and have tasted many chef tasting menus. This restaurant is definitely in my top 5. The first thing I noticed was how unpretentious the restaurant and the staff were. Sometimes you go to a highly rated restaurant and you feel as if you are not good enough to be there. This was not the case at all at Aramburu. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. The first course was so amazing, I thought for sure, there was no way to top it. But course after course, I was amazed by the fresh and delightful tastings brought before us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lf6444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    148
    41
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, Fantastic, Creative Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Aramburu is a delightful and spectacular dining experience.

The service is courteous, friendly, professional, multi-lingual, attentive, responsive, and entirely committed to providing an intimate, personal experience (assuming you want to engage in one, which we did). Their sommelier was deeply acquainted with her selections and she expertly guided us through a bold meal that will never fade from our memories.

The setting is contemporary, comfortable and, like much of BA, vibrates with youthfulness and new art. You can see into the kitchen through a great-big window, allowing you to experience the delicate hustle and hot, sharp choreography from just inches away.

The food was delicious, innovative, and every course offered a "wow moment." Each plating was prepared and presented in a way that highlighted the intense freshness and flavor of its ingredients. Every dish was an honest, earnest interpretation of expertly-executed techniques (at once traditional and modernist) which never put fashion before flavor. Fashion was highly present, and each course was playful and designed to surprise, but flavor surely came first.

To me, Aramburu represents the best of the avant-garde by successfully embracing new techniques in a thoughtful, artful, and scrumptious way which adds to their obvious mastery of traditional cookery and flavor development.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maxblang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Out of this World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

As always, we check TripAdvisor for the recommended restaurants when we travel abroad. This restaurant had amazing reviews and we decided to give it a try. After all day sight-seeing in Buenos Aires, we went in search for the restaurant. As we decided to walk, it did not seem it was in the best area of Buenos Aires and actually, we would have missed it if it was not for one of the reviews here. The restaurant is behind a black door with pretty small sign, so you really have to look for it... but believe me, it is all worth it!
We were lucky to arrive there around 8 in the evening as apparently the restaurant only opens for dinner in the evening (I think 8-8.30) and actually, tables are by reservation only. Again, we were lucky as we were the first ones to arrive and there was no one at the restaurant, so we got a table (however, some people that came in later were not able to get one).
The restaurant only has a tasting menu, so you cannot really choose what to order. It is all based on the menu the chef prepares for the night and the server asks everyone if they have any food allergies. So if you are looking to try a good Argentinian steak, this place is not for you. But... if you are looking to try great food and like to be surprised, you definitely need to try it. They also have a wine pairing list, which goes with the food they serve!
So when the small tasting "bites" started to arrive, we were even more amazed. The creativity of the food presentation was out of this world - sizzling shrimp served on a hot stone, french fries on a stick resembling lollipop... Not to mention that everything we tried tasted amazing plus add the romantic atmosphere and great service and you have one amazing dining experience.
The dinner was a bit on a pricier side and it took about two and a half hours to dine (which I assume some people might not be happy about), but we always enjoy a great meal and the overall dining experience and would love to go back there someday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OK_NY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything about Aramburu is designed to take the diner by surprise, and it doesn't disappoint. The San Telmo neighborhood is a perfect setting for Aramburu's subtle elegance. The graffiti covered storefront opens to reveal a small space – roughly 8 tables. Four tables sit up one stair on a slightly higher level, giving each table the feel of privacy. The décor combined elements of new and old, withered brick on the lower walls gives way to a wrapper of dark mirrors and black wine racks filled with bottles. In the center of the room sits a tremendous vase of flowers next to an overflowing chilling tub - - which pulls the diner immediately away from the feel of the street scene outside and give him the impression that he has entered a special place. The highlight of the design, of course, is the wall of glass at the back of the restaurant putting the chef and his busy staff on display. The kitchen area is likewise painted in black with elegant lighting which gives it a specific balance with the dining area – as if you have turned over an elegant rectangular-shaped watch to see its mechanical underside only to find the mechanical components and workings as beautiful as the face.

By the time the diner has settled into the surroundings he has the sense that he is about to experience something truly special, and the chef does not disappoint. The 10 course menu starts out with an a couple of attention grabbing dishes - - the first, an intricate 4 part arrangement including a slow cooked egg with chicken stock that is one of the best tasted and textures I have ever encountered. Other highlights included a shrimp / noodle dish cooked on the plate over a heated rock, a small ‘stew’ served in a martini glass, and a complex beet dish consisting of textures ranging from paper to sorbet. The 5 wine pairings were generally good (Blanc de Blanc, SB, Char, a red that escapes memory, and a white late harvest desert wine) – though I found that the SB might have benefitted from a bit more citrus/grass to offset rich elements of the early the courses.

Aramburu did not serve bread at the table, and the portions were sufficiently controlled so as to keep the diner eager for the next course rather than stuffed or overwhelmed. They meal as a whole was almost perfect (in fact, the only suggestion that we could come up with is that it would have been nice to have a small cheese or chocolate in the end to offset several sweet/citric elements in the desert course).

Our evening ended with a tour of the small kitchen and a discussion with the friendly chef - - who pointed to his toiling staff and said simply, and inspiringly, “they are here because they want to be chefs” with a smile that suggested that he would take great pride in that outcome.
We left the restaurant glowing from the experience – neither of us could remember a more satisfying dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Meal of Our Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I consider ourselves something of foodies, and have eaten at our share of fine dining restaurants in the U.S. We can honestly say that our meal at Aramburu was one of the best we have ever had. The food was made with high quality ingredients, expertly prepared, and every. single. course. (yes, we mean it) imaginative and delicious. We also had one of the best glasses of wine on our whole trip to Argentina—a great recommendation from the sommelier. The atmosphere is perfect. It is upscale without being pretentious, with exposed brick walls and funky light fixtures. They also had fabulous jazz playing in the background (apparently the band plays live on Wednesdays). We can’t emphasize enough how great this restaurant is, and would highly recommend a dinner here if you are traveling in Buenos Aires.
Rachel and Julius

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aramburu also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Aramburu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing