We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant for the price in BA !!”
Review of Aramburu

Aramburu
Ranked #5 of 4,854 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for the price in BA !!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

this is not merely a restaurant for a culinary experience which you have to try at least once in your life, even if you are a picky eater!

the restaurant is not in a great area of town, so get a tax (which is very cheap in BA), but as soon as those doors open and you are inside, you are treated like a King (or Queen).

The food is amazing, not only the quality and the taste, but most of all the presentation and the way it is served, is like nothing ever before (even if you have been to a set menu restaurant).

Each of the 10 courses were works of culinary art ! We decided not to got for the wine parings, but thats a good option if you want to have the full experience.

As for the price, do not believe anyone who states that it was expensive...for a restaurant of this quality, the price was very very good, I even dare say cheap (just don't raise the prices Aramburu, please!)

the service was great from the start to the end. The sommelier was absolutely fantastic, so knowledgeable and friendly (no wonder she is rated as the 5th best in the entire world!!!) It felt like we were surrounded by friends, we just did not want the night to end, but it had to...so they called a cab for us, and after hugs and kisses from the staff...we were on our way home, with huge smiles on our faces, full bellies and enriched by an experience we will never forget. Thank you everyone at Aramburu !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrobeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    155
    41
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exorbitant price, questionable neighborhood, but fantastic food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I got a reservation at Aramburu for their very special New Year's Eve dinner, a 10 course tasting menu with wine pairings. It sounded fantastic, despite the exorbitant price of almost $250 a person.

The service was exceptional, in English if we asked, and the food was AMAZING. Absolutely exceptional. Every dish that came out had two or three components, and we had a great time trying new foods. They also accommodated a seafood allergy in our group, which was nice given the fixed menu.

Our one complaint was the wine pairing. Despite a very friendly sommelier, we just felt like she didn't nail any of the pairings for the various courses. The wines were good, but they just didn't match the food.

The restaurant itself is in a very questionable neighborhood; the cab driver even asked if they were expecting us, because he didn't want to let us out there without us going directly into the place. And during the meal, the front door was locked the whole time; when another patron came up, they knocked, and the manager would answer it.

Inside, it's beautifully outfitted. They had a guitar/standup bass duo play during the meal, and it was nice. Overall, the night was wonderful, and we really had a great time. We really wanted to give the place 5 stars, but between the insane price and the mediocre wine pairings, we had to drop it one star. Nonetheless, I'd still recommend splurging a bit and trying out this great restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Pfdr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal I've ever had.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm lucky. I've been able to dine in some incredible restaurants across the world. From tiny hole-in-the-wall cafes to Michelin-rated establishments. It's been all but impossible to pick a "best meal." Until now. Aramburu takes the cake.

The food is creative, cooked to perfection, and bursting with flavor, not to mention beautifully presented. With every new dish—there were 10 courses in all—I declared a new favorite. The penultimate course was probably my overall top pick though, mostly because it was a course new to me—pre-dessert. Why hasn't anyone told me such a course existed? I've had chocolates or cookies post-dessert before, but never a pre-dessert. Best new addition to dinner, hands down.

While I am now convinced that everything I have always heard about Argentine beef is true, the seafood-heavy menu at Aramburu was a welcome departure from the heavy meat-and-potato meals typical of Buenos Aires. And the wine suggested by the sommelier was one of the best white wines I've had the pleasure of sipping. After a week of admittedly over-indulging almost exclusively in delicious Argentine Malbecs, the California-style Chardonnay was a refreshing change.

The service was friendly, helpful, and unobtrusive. Just the way I like it.

And, what a bargain! For a similar experience in the US, we would have easily paid four times as much. Bravo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgarneski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytham, Oxford
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Creative and interesting food but a “dead” atmosphere & very average service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Looking at all the other TripAdvisor reviews we were very excited to get a reservation here. This was towards the end of our 3 week trip around Argentina and we have had some excellent fine-dining experiences, so there was a lot to live up to.
Unfortunately, Aramburu did not live up to expectations and we left very disappointed. Right from entering there was no warmth from the staff, no attempt at making us feel special. The staff all seemed slightly bored and disinterested. The lady sommelier was particularly brusque, uninformative and cold. She snatched bottles away from us and really didn't seem to have any interest in discussing the wines. (After the amazing service and knowledge at Bariloche’s Butterfly restaurant, this was all very hard to take!)
The food was wonderfully creative and extremely well presented, with some really fabulous tastes (the pork and their particular take on Tamales, in particular). However, the beef was perfectly cooked (rare!) but totally tasteless.
The wine was very average.
This is not a cheap place and we left very disappointed. They really need some lessons in customer service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing foods and cheap given what it offers!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The meal we had was perfect! 10 different courses and every one of them are very delucious; very creative ( we were surprised several time when the waiter explain to us the ingredients of the dishes, never imagined things can be cooked this way); and the amounts quite generous for a tasting menu.

The atmosphere of the restaurant is very good and the services are excellent. Definitely an unforgettable experience, and well worth the money. A similar meal in Australia would cost at least 3 times as much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackJieDing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aramburu also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Aramburu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing