We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in B.A.!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tegui

Tegui
Ranked #307 of 4,660 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Argentinean, South American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Palermo
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
272 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“One of the best in B.A.!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

After getting out of the cab my wife and I felt totally lost. We had the address, we were certain that we were in the right area but there was absolutely no sign of life , let alone a restaurant that was getting rave reviews. Between all of the graffiti on the walls we noticed a door with a bell on it, when we rang it, the door opened to a very chic and cool space and we were greeted with a very warm welcome. Our meal was fantastic, the service was friendly and seamless and the whole vibe left us with a extremely satisfied experience. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    178
    108
    53
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very cool dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were recommended Tegui by our hotel concierge when we had a free evening and were not disappointed! The restaurant is behind a hidden doorway on a quite residential street and it feels like you are entering an old-time speakeasy.
We chose the nine-course tasting menu and were blown away by the variety and taste of food, everything from scallops to steak, along with terrific wine pairings! The restaurant appears to be very popular with Argentinian locals as well, so reservations are highly recommended. Like most places in BA, the restaurant really doesn't get started until after 10 or 11, so be prepared for a late, long evening.
They have a nice outdoor seating area which we would have loved to sit at, but it was full. Did see people smoking while eating out there, so avoid that if you are adverse to smoke.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DBCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“otro mundo, a wonderful surprise, un autre monde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

When you get there in the street, you think it is a very old house, lost.... but behind the wall, there you have a wonderful deco, very fine, a chef very creative and excellent food, you think you are not in Buenos aires anymore, but the time stopped and you are in an another world. You enjoy the moment with a lot of pleasure. I really recommend it, a must go if you want to have a good time. Good food, good wines, good service.... what do you want more ???? my best experience in Buenos aires -

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday on Valentine's day, so it was quiet busy, but the service was still great. We had the degustation with the matching wine, and it was all very delicious. We were there for about 3 hours and never felt rushed. We loved the front entrance of the restaurant, very different, but cool, and then once inside it had a lovely tropical feeling. Bit pricey, but worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mj_st13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best I tried in Buenos Aires !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was looking for a place to have dinner with my coworker and by chance we got a recommendation to go to this restaurant. We got there by taxi. Ummm…we were very skeptical when we got there because the upfront of the restaurant is kind of weird: a dark street, a wall full of graffiti’s, a closed door…but then your ring the bell, somebody open the door and “voila”…a very nice and elegant place...they gave us great on-the-house appetizers. The menu consist of a choice of 5-6 dishes for entrance & 5-6 dishes for main course. For entrance I had a “Burrata” that was sutil and tastefull at the same time. Outstanding original flavor Argentinean baby beef for main course. Excellent desert. Nice wine menu and a very kind sommelier. Nice service. Nice music. Expensive but it was worth it. Enjoy !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmolina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tegui also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Tegui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing