We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be with the community, but not a very very good hotel as such”
Review of Lugar Gay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lugar Gay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Let's face it, don't come here looking for a beautiful stay, either for the (dis)comfort of the rooms, or for the (tiny) sundeck by the pool... But do come here if you're into some off hours fun with the wandering neighbours, and not counting every penny from your pocket, as the Lugar Gay does not come cheap.
It costs almost 100 USD per night, all tax inclusive, with breakfast. You paypal a third when you reserve, then you cash what remains when you arrive.

We like :
- San Telmo seems very central to us and allowed us to reach any part of Buenos aires in no time. It also has a range of choices for food and bars.
- Slow wi fi is free of charge and reachable from our room.
- Cold but enough breakfast is self served from the kitchen
- We found the staff to be pretty nice, all of them
- The "sundeck" and the pool scene are appreciated, even if they are tiny

We did not like :
- At 100 USD per night, the room and the attached bathroom were a big joke. But that is our opinion. Just look at our photos guys...

Tips :
- Men only please ! And only those with enough feet and arms to go up and down all the narrow stairs with their luggage. Means no lift. But the staff will help the desperate ones.
- Just leave your door open, if you need some fun. Actions go when night calls

All in all, it was funny to be there 3 days, during our visit to BUE, but not sure we'll be back on our next visit. The room is really really not up to our expectation. Badly in need of (big) refurbishment

Room Tip: No idea at all
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Lugar Gay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel feels like it doesn't really care anymore. It's in a great location but could be updated, cleaner, and the staff could be 100% friendlier.

I don't have any complaints other than it's not a place that makes me feel like I want to go back. It needs a refresh in staff and decor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LugarGay, Propietario at Lugar Gay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014
Google Translation

En mi carácter de propietario pido disculpas si en algún momento los jóvenes que me acompañan no supieron ser lo suficientemente amables como todos los huéspedes se merecen. Todos ellos tienen varias virtudes que nos hacen bien a todos: son honestos, sinceros y consideran que en este lugar de trabajo no sólo deben realizar las tareas asignadas sino que se sienten gratificados por lo que hacen.
Quizás la decoración no sea de tu agrado, pero tenemos un mantenimiento permanente de la infraestructura en un edificio de preservación histórica de la ciudad y una renovación constante de los muebles cuando se deterioran por su uso. En el año 2013 se hizo un rediseño completo de la página web, conservando el mismo nombre
Con respecto a la frase “parece que no importa nada” quizás no sea fácil comprender que importa todo de una manera diferente. Nosotros decimos que Lugar Gay es un espacio para compartir entre amigos, sin miedos y sin prejuicios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I know this lace since many years and it stays wonderful. It's small, friendly and clean. In the middle of Sam Telmo you can enjoy all kinds of restaurants in the evening. When it's warm outside you can enjoy the sun on a clothing optionnal terrace. They have different types of rooms from the dormitory to the room with private falicities. Very recommandable.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xavnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel is one of the very best I have ever stayed in. The staff are super helpful and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. I initially booked 2 nights and ended up staying for 9! It´s very central to the main square in San Telmo with easy reach to the bars and restaurants. I was very fortunate with the weather so made the most of doing lots of sunbathing on their lovely terrace. I would highly recommend this place. Thank you to all the staff! George

Room Tip: If you´re on a budget, the dorm rooms are perfectly adequate and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LugarGay, Gerente at Lugar Gay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014
Google Translation

Nosotros pensamos George que es uno de los mejores lugares donde te has alojado porque intentamos permanentemente de ser coherentes con nuestra forma de pensar y nuestros proyectos. Compramos una vivienda para invitar a compartir en un clima amistoso e informal, a viajeros gay que visitasen Buenos Aires. Por ejemplo, si en nuestras casas, por la mañana, entre despiertos y dormidos vamos a la cocina a desayunar semi-desnudos, podríamos hacer lo mismo en Lugar Gay sin pensar que para salir de la habitación deberíamos vestirnos “correctamente(?)”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Lugar Gay is a pretty basic hotel in a very cool part of the city. Plaza Dorrego is right at the corner and there are tons of things to do and see, including lots of cafes and restaurants. The room was small and had an en suite bathroom with a very nice shower. The staff were very friendly and outgoing which I liked a lot. Didn't ask them for many recommendations so can't vouch for how knowledgeable they are, and there was a bit of a language barrier as I don't speak Spanish. The other guests seemed friendly and there was a nice vibe about the place, though it was a bit of a frisky atmosphere. And while the location is great, it is a bit noisy from the bars and music at Plaza Dorrego. The stairs were very daunting at first but only when trying to get your luggage up there. All in all I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We chose to stay at Lugar Gay based on reviews we read and the staff that we heard was so helpful. I was extremely disappointed when we showed up. First of all, there is this ridiculously long, steep staircase that you must climb (with your luggage) just to get to the main floor of the B&B. I stayed in one of the air-conditioned rooms with ensuite bathroom. While it was adequate, there was always a musty smell in the room. The property is clothing optional and for such a small B&B (there are 8 rooms) there were plenty of naked men lying out on the small deck. Pictures of naked men and penis shaped artifacts were everywhere, and at times it felt more like a bathhouse and less like a bed & breakfast. If this is what you are looking for, than book a room. It wasn't my thing. The 2 decks got plenty of sun, but we found that most of the furniture on the decks was either broken or on the verge of ripping. We were disappointed with the staff as well. Not all of the staff spoke English as it said on the website, and they were not as helpful with bar/club/restaurant recommendations as we would have liked. Overall, this was not the kind of accomadations we were looking for. I would not stay there again. To be fair, there were plenty of guys staying there that loved the place. it just wasn't for me.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drew22vb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I miss you, plaza dorrego. Will be back. Great staff and location.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidbneatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#178 of 443 in Buenos Aires
188 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,433 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Be Trimos Hotel
Be Trimos Hotel
#29 of 464 in Buenos Aires
285 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Babel
Hotel Babel
#133 of 443 in Buenos Aires
550 reviews
San Telmo
Hostel Carlos Gardel
Hostel Carlos Gardel
#92 of 464 in Buenos Aires
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugar Gay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugar Gay

Address: 1120 Defensa, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 464 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $28 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lugar Gay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugar Gay Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing