We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Asturias

Plaza Asturias
Ranked #480 of 4,733 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montserrat
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Unique ambiance (if a bit bright), enormous menu, excellent service. Initially tried it as we arrived late into Buenos Aires from Montevideo and it was just down the street from our hotel - ended up coming back a couple times over the next week. The steak was the best I had in Argentina. The wine and dessert selection could be a bit deeper - but overall a great culinary experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    203
    64
    24
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
538 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time (and Calorie Count) Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I don't know how Plaza Asturias is getting all these good reviews on Tripadvisor but we thought the food was overpriced for its sub-par quality. We dined at the restaurant on our first day in Argentina because it was around the corner from where we were staying. Then, we didn't think it was fantastic. And after dining in some of he best restaurants in El Calafate, Ushuaia, Puerto Madryn and a couple of other cities on our trip, I have to say Plaza Asturias really pales in comparison to these other restaurants (ranging from fine dining to family establishments) that we have dined in throughout Argentina.

We ordered the paella mariscos, which while huge, was rather bland. If this is typical of Argentinian paellas, locals here really should venture to Spain to try the ones found there. We also had the fried mozzarella (again the portion was huge) but it was rather tasteless and after four bites, we tired of eating it.

Service here ranges from mediocre to poor. We speak basic Spanish so we didn't find it difficult to order but a word of warning for non-Spanish speakers - no one here speaks a single word of English.

We were left rather unsatisfied with our meal. There are definitely much better restaurants in Bs As worthy of the price tag charges at Plaza Asturias.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Local ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is quite a big restaurant and quite empty when we went in at 1930 but it was pretty full by the time we left. The waitress ofered us complementary sherry and olives before taking our order and although she spoke no English was very patient and helpful. She did not try to persuade us to have extras. would recoimmend for a real local flavour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pollyanna1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
305 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice place after a theater night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We went after an opera at nearby Avenida Theater. Food is good and plenty, and prices are very reasonable. The place was crowded and the service was a little slow, but we didn´t mind. If you are not very hungry try sharing dishes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebertello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“GOOD COST / BENEFIT EATING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Plaza Asturias has been on the go many years and you feel this the moment you walk through the door , i have eaten here many times and they have a fixed price set menu Monday though Friday which is good value at around 55 pesos ( May 2012 ) , otherwise choose a dish from the extensive menu which offers many fish, seafood , meat and pasta dishes , something for everyone here for sure , i would describe the food as good home cooking but quality and presentation are not going to blow you away , the place gets packed but the waitresess are very good and on the ball , all in all a good place .

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Asturias also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Plaza Asturias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing