We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Dead Cow in an informal setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pobre Luis

El Pobre Luis
Ranked #46 of 4,741 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belgrano
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Very Good Dead Cow in an informal setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

El Pobre Luis is all about the meat. Dont expect five star service, servers are to the point and sometimes a little pretentious, but the main event (the grilled dead cow) always hits the spot. The ambiance is that of a typical sports inspired Buenos Aires Parrilla, the place can get noisy when full and the wait times to get attention from the servers will also suffer... but the meat and overall ingredient quality is top notch. Impressive wine list for a place of this caliber, although mark-ups for wines are over the top and would be more appropriate for a luxury establishment. Regardless of the few drawbacks, Luis and his team offer an excellent product that is well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaucho100K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    228
    63
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
139 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very good steaks. Good wine list. The ribeye was gorgeous. Try the pamplona its a must.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Waiters in Argentina are not the kindest you'll meet, but those of El Pobre Luis are kind and professional (interesting: I've seen very few waitresses in Buenos Aires).

The food is really good and the wine - as in most restaurants in Buenos Aires - honestly priced. Just beware of the espresso - the most expensive I ever had: 4 dollars!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever in BA”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I've traveled to BA about 20 times over the past 30 years. The waiter we had was the worst I've had in that time span - just awful. Both my wife's parents and mine are argentine and my father joined us for dinner, so there was no language or cultural issues. This guy was so bad he overwhelmed the food which was good. However, there are other good parillas in BA so that I shouldn't have to deal with such a bad waiter. OK, to the facts. First, he's one of the argentines who knows everything and acts as if he is in control - but he actually knows nothing and nothing was in control - a BS artist. Let's see, he got several items wrong, then he had the nerve to tell me how to ask for a salad. My thought was "you can call it whatever you want, but don't forget the carrots." That happened the first time. I know what is in an insalada mista as I have probably ordered it in BA over 100 times. He kept on telling us he would clear plates for fresh ones but never did - I finally took our plates up to the counter and talked with the manager. Funny thing though, after the manager said he would take care of everything, not much changed. Also, the waiter forgot several items - we had to remind him. Of course he BS'd that he didn't forget anything. I love BA and love the restaurants, but we could not get out of that place fast enough. At the end my father joked, "Do you want to order coffee and dessert?" Is the food good? Yes. But why take a chance to get stuck with that waiter when there are other great parillas with good waiters. Also, the bife de chorizo (NY Strip) was better at La Estancia on LaValle. La Estancia is slightly cheaper too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hightravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for bbq food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Family restaurant great service delicious simple food especially liked the sweet potato with honey as a side dish.
Filled with football memorabilia

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pobre Luis also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Pobre Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing