We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Ranked #117 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Some lament the tendency for chains of hotels to be uniform and the word bland is often used. This, like all Ibis hotels I have used, is clean, has free internet usage and the staff very helpful. The Obelisco, (there are two quite close to each other) is central with the Uruguay metro/subte station a few yards away, and offers an excellent breakfast at a very reasonable price.

To avoid the hassle of putting the correct coins into a machine in the buses after the driver has told you the cost, buy a sube card, which is a bit like an Oyster card. It can also be used on the metro/subte.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al0mnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 3,421 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

but aging a bit, I mean the bathroom appliances. And that bothers me because I love Ibis..I mean price/quality. This one is Really well located with a big R. But they only have small double beds (of excellent quality) but for lovers. The Novotel next door is no (price) match for local alternatives so try the Ibis if you're single or very much in love!

Room Tip: prefer the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JAS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife and another couple. Great location, close to all the major sights. The underground is just a fee meters away. Good breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff, garage for 85 pesos a day. Great experience, will definetely come again!

Thank Chri S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location, helpful staff, good breakfast, clean, good price. Ibis is consistent and reliable. They even stored our excess luggage when went to Uruaguay for a week.
Some street noise at this location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is very close to the centre and subway. Ibis standard - clean and easy, we are happy with the hotel and in terms of money, it is good value. Will recommend friends to use it. Breakfast is simple but sufficient for the beginning of the day. Wi-Fi is excellent as well. Bathroom is clean and functional. Overall, it is just spot on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Shouline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was very close to the Oblisk and easy walking distance to Florida street. I felt very safe, the bed was comfy, and I would recommend this hotel. I got in early, they held my bags, gave me a wake up call on time and had my taxi waiting for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cozumel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was travelling with my girlfriend and we wanted a hotel smack in the centre of Baires. This one is perfect in this respect, but, as we expected, it was quite impersonal. The same run-of-the -mill Ibis hotel you can find in any large city. Barring the bathroom (with some purely Argentinian quirks) and the language on the signposting, we could have been anywhere on the planet.
Which, although useful from a certain standpoint, makes the whole experience a tad impersonal.
On a more negative note, the room was definitely too small for two adults travelling with two suitcases and two handbags, which is the bare minimum you need to go to Argentina (temps range from boiling in Baires to freezing in Bariloche)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soffici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#122 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,457 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#41 of 444 in Buenos Aires
803 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#107 of 444 in Buenos Aires
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#125 of 444 in Buenos Aires
932 reviews
San Nicolas
Novotel Buenos Aires
Novotel Buenos Aires
#65 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,832 reviews
Recoleta
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
#76 of 444 in Buenos Aires
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco

Address: Av Corrientes 1344 Esq. | Talcahuano y Uruguay, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $43 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing