We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moderate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Ranked #11 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moderate”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is in a good location in Palermo Soho, which basically means it's a bit trendy, bars, markets and …boutiques. My room was clean and the bathroom very good, great shower. The breakfast was standard, good coffee, however breakfast staff were absent and if the hotel was busy they weren't there to clear tables very quickly, a bit of hanging about. The 'pool' is a splash pool, as I found almost everywhere in Argentina, they are not often swimming pools. The gym is, a few bits of underused equipment in a corner, the jacuzzi on full power was producing some very minor bubbles and no one gave me any info on the spa facilities, nor is there a list in the room. I had to ask where it was. The location is good, on the edge of things so easy access yet on a quiet street, but the hotel itself is very noisy and echoey, I heard doors slamming and reverberating at all hours of the night, I could hear conversations in the corridors as soon as the people stepped out of the lift until they got into their rooms! Nice architecture, nice enough staff and good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duque4364, Guest Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
First of all, we want to thank this guest for taking the time to share her feedback on her recent experience at The Duque.

In the name of the entire staff we wanted to let everyone know that we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our hotel services and facilities as most of our guests do. We continuously strive for consistency and find it highly displeasing to learn that we did not provide one of our guests with the service we pride ourselves in. We have discussed her comments with our management team and we have immediately addressed these areas.

Regarding the comments about the breakfast staff; we want you to know that we try, mostly during the weekends, to have someone available all the time to serve and to clean the tables as fast as possible. Unfortunately, maybe during her stay we didn’t do it as fast as she wished. We will put our attention on this issue and try to improve the velocity of service at the breakfast buffet.

Regarding the comments about the facilities, we think that the basis of her critics are based mostly in 5 stars hotel standards and Duque Hotel is a charming boutique hotel with different characteristics that most 5 stars hotels. The Spa and the fitness machines are complimentary, and the size of the pool is the longest it can be for a property like ours. Usually at the check-in time we give the information about the Spa hours and the extra services, and there are sings all over the place regarding the Spa location.

Again, we want to thank her for posting her comments on your recent stay at the Duque and hope she can give us the opportunity to restore her faith in us and make a lasting impression on her as this is what we pride ourselves in. We look forward to welcoming her back and remain at her service.

Duque Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    253
    36
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
829
108
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I chose this hotel because of its location in the Palermo district of Buenos Aires. This is a very charming boutique-type hotel in a renovated building. It is clean and quiet. The staff are absolutely superb and go out of their way to be helpful and make you feel welcome. They are some of the best hosts I have encountered anywhere in the world in this type of hotel. The breakfast buffet is very nice. The business center has two computers and the spa and pool are quite nice. There are many little touches such as hand sanitizer next to the computer that one doesn't find in five star hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ted w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Ted,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are very proud of our work when our guest leaves the hotel with such a nice impression about el Duque. We would like you to know that El Duque will always be your home in Bsas. Greetings from all of our staff and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip. The hotel is located about 5-10mins from the trendy part of Palermo where the restaurants and bars are. The hotel is nice, we stayed in the classic room which was quite small and only had a sliding glass door separating bathroom which is probably fine for couples but for friends was not great as not very private. The staff try to be very helpful but we asked for a deep tissue massage and they booked us into a place quite far from hotel and had never been there themselves. We ended up in a strangers house who had set up a small studio in their lounge room with a massage that was in no way close to a deep tissue. When I told the staff when we returned all I got was a shrug of the shoulders and a we tried response!! Really not acceptable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank love2travel151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The staff is great, the location is great, the rooms are great and the breakfast is great. We had a very nice experience and would love to go back.
We went there for two nights, then we went to Punta del Este. I missed that hotel, we didn't have a good experience at the hotel in Punta del Este. It was nice to be back at the Duque Hotel for two more nights, with great service. We got good recommendations for restaurants and things to do from the guys at the counter. Nice neighborhood. It was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms. One of them was a small one and it was a little tight but it wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for letting us be part of your experience in your recent trip to Bsas.
It was great having you in our home for 4 nights, we are so happy to hear that you felt home when you came back from Punta del Este. Greetings from our entire staff and we really hope to serve you in some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights of our two week vacation, and I wish we had chosen this place for longer. Palermo was by far my favorite barrio in BA! The hotel is just a short walk from several nice plazas that have patios and places to eat, drink, and shop. We loved walking around the area, and there is a local milonga (Salon Canning) just down the road where you can observe the locals dancing tango.

The hotel itself is nice as well. We never were up early enough for breakfast so I can't comment on that, but the bed was very comfortable and the staff always spoke excellent English. There was also a power strip that was already "converted" outlets so you could plug multiple American electronics in without your own. They responded to my emails promptly and politely, and they will arrange a taxi pickup from EZE which is nice. They charged us $40 US and it turned out to be a reasonable price as opposed to getting our own. All in all, I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dardanellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for letting us be part of your experience in Buenos Aires.
It is so nice to hear that our guest enjoyed their whole stay with us. That really makes our day!
It is so good to hear that our guest enjoy the whole Buenos Aires experience as yourself with the tango at salon canning and all of its restaurants and bars.
We wanted to let you know that this will always be your home and that you are more than welcome to come back. We hope next time you can enjoy our breakfast as we would like you to. Greetings from all of the staff and we hope all the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A good hotel indeed, but nothing special.

The main positive item is the staff, always helpful and willing to answer any kind of answer.

The bedroom was good, but nothing special (and near a noisy street).

The spa is below my expectations: very small swimming pool, not so clean, with many leaves and dead insects. Given the rain, many mosquitos as well. The jacuzzi and sauna are good, but also small. The massage costs almost 100usd per person, and can only be booked one day ahead.

As for the breakfast, very disappointing. Any good hotel in latin america offers fresh juice, fresh fruits and tons of bread types. The coffee machine makes an horrible coffee (imagine that old machine from your office), and coffee with milk is with powder of milk. When I asked for fresh milk the lady (always polite) said that I just should push the button and get powder milk from the machine. Argentina offers one of the best cuisine in LA, therefore I was expecting much more.

For USD130 per day I guess you can find better hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique_G_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duque4364, Guest Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We want to thank this guest for taking the time to share his feedback on his recent experience at The Duque.

We continuously strive for consistency and find it highly displeasing to learn that we did not provide one of our guests with the service we pride ourselves in.

We have discussed his comments with our management team and we have immediately addressed these areas. Anyway; we want everybody to know that this guest has made a mistake quoting the massage rate and he has accepted his mistake in private messages and we wanted to make it clear so there is no misleading information about our services.

Regarding his comments, there are some points were we don’t completely agree; for example the breakfast. If you compare our breakfast buffet to other hotels in the city; our buffet is more complete and enjoyed our breakfast as we are continuously working on new ways to enhance our breakfast experience. In fact, the hotel owner also owns a Patisserie so it is not true that there are not “tons” of bread types. You can find plenty bread options to choose from. Most hotels in Argentina don’t offer such a variety as we do; not even the option of ordering eggs in the moment. In Argentina a regular breakfast is composed only by croissants, coffee and orange just; even though we have expand our breakfast experience in order to make it more complete and to satisfy other types of guests, not only the Argentinean.

Another point that we disagree is the comments about our coffee machine. Actually, the machine we have is one of the best that you can find in the local market. All you readers can see that we have a lot of great compliments about our Free 24/7 Coffee Machine. And his request about not having fresh milk is not true, because at the buffet there is a jar with fresh milk every morning.

Regarding his comments about our swimming pool; it is located at the backyard; not at the Spa and it is being cleaned daily. At this time of the year (summer) it rains almost every day so maybe there were some leaves in the pool as it is located outdoors but we keep removing them during the whole day.

What we really see on this comment is that this guest is comparing us with other types of hotels; like 5 stars hotels. If you readers compare us with other boutique hotels in Argentina; we think that we have more and better facilities and primary we specialize in Guest Service.

Again, we want to thank our guest for posting his comments on his recent stay at the Duque and hope you can give us the opportunity to restore his faith in us and make a lasting impression on him as this is what we pride ourselves in. We look forward to welcoming him back and remain at his service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great hotel to stay a few nights. Exceptionally friendly service, nothing is too much trouble. Nice breakfast. Good recommendation on a tango show and dinner. Lovely square round the corner with lots of restaurants. We would come back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhvghcgfxrdxrtvjhnjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for posting about your recent experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed everything in el Duque. We hope that we could have you as our guest again soon; our doors will always be open for you. Greetings from all of our staff and thank you again for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,549 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#8 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,764 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 451 in Buenos Aires
775 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#5 of 451 in Buenos Aires
341 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 451 in Buenos Aires
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa

Property: Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Address: Calle Guatemala 4364, Buenos Aires C1425BUF, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#5 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#12 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#13 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duque Hotel offers rooms with designer decor and free Wi-Fi (public areas) in trendy Palermo Soho. A pool and spa facilities are available. Scalabrini Ortiz Metro Station is 700 metres away. Individually designed and combining classy style with modern facilities, rooms at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa feature parquet floors and large windows. All of them have air conditioning and cable TV. A buffet breakfast is served daily. Coffee service and pastries are available around the clock. Palermo's restaurant and pubs are just around the corner. Guest can unwind on the sun loungers by the pool and make use of the spa facilities, including a jacuzzi, a sauna and Turkish baths. Massage sessions can be requested, a library is available. Secure airport shuttles can be requested 24/7. Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa is 6 km from Jorge Newbery Domestic airport and 29.7 Km from Ezeiza International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duque Hotel Boutique And Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing