We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden House Hostel
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Really helpful staff, great terrace with BBQ available, wi-fi throughout which was excellent, rooms and hostel extremely clean. Well equipped kitchen. Would highly recommend. One comment - hostel suggests you can't bring own water and beer as they sell these, they had run out when we arrived back at 2am so we have to wander the street which wasn't ideal. Probably just an oversight on this one occasion however. Otherwise, excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Garden House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 189 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2009

A nice and cosy place to feel home in Buenos Aires. Tastefully furbished double rooms, terrace & excellent atmosphere. The location is great with places nearby where the Tango is danced at night and everything is in walking distance. Safe to walk at night, too. We felt truly home and will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralu972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The staff is great; very helpful. They went out of their way for some "special circumstances" that I had. The location is convenient (close to buses and subte stops, but also within walking distance of many attractions). My room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_A_BuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

An excellent place to stay! =)
It was very cofortable, and I like that every mornig they had fruit for breakfast.
The staff was very nice to. They always told us how to get to some place or where to take the bus, whit the most friendly way, Laura had a lot of patience when we ask her to explain something to us!
Olso I like that the hostel was very claen avery day!
Fortunately we got there on a Thursday, and we enjoyed the most delicious "asado" that they always do that day.
My friends and I spent a great time there, also in Buenos Aires.
I'm sure I will return same day to Argentina and stay in this hostel =)
Greetings from México!!!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
Thank MeXGirL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Garden house, although not in the flashiest location is a very warm and friendly place to be. All the staff are very welcoming and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Would undoubtably visit again, and i miss the friendly community environment. A great place for any travelers first stop in buenos aires.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed here for four nights and loved the atmosphere. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to help with any problems, including language barriers I would recommend this wonderful hostel to anybody. The barbecue night is great, so much food and laughter. This is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulontheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

The hostel is great. Our room was clean, the staff was extremely helpful and the common areas were comfortable and clean. It was a bit further from the center of San Telmo than expected though.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#19 of 464 in Buenos Aires
166 reviews
San Telmo
Granados Hostel
Granados Hostel
#73 of 464 in Buenos Aires
72 reviews
Vi Luz y Entre Hostel
#155 of 464 in Buenos Aires
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 464 in Buenos Aires
715 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Obelisco
Hostel Suites Obelisco
#27 of 464 in Buenos Aires
378 reviews
Montserrat
Rock Hostel & Brewery
Rock Hostel & Brewery
#33 of 464 in Buenos Aires
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Hostel

Address: Avenida San Juan 1271, Buenos Aires C1148AAA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 464 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $12 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GardenHouse is the only hostel created by and for travelers. With a modern and bright touch. Meet with travelers from all over the world, sunbathe on the large terrace, watch movies or enjoy a typical Argentine barbecue. Our house has a capacity of 25 people. We offer private rooms and spacious shared dorms. Our friendly staff will be happy to help you explore the life of Buenos Aires. Our hostel is a large house in the neighborhood of San Telmo, a safe place, full of history and tradition, where you can experience Buenos Aires life. Located in the center of the city, within walking distance of major tourist attractions, shopping malls and night spots. If you are looking for a unique experience in Buenos Aires, come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing