We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel, Great Room, A Little Removed From Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden House Hostel
South America
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hostel, Great Room, A Little Removed From Center”
Reviewed September 10, 2009

The hostel is great. Our room was clean, the staff was extremely helpful and the common areas were comfortable and clean. It was a bit further from the center of San Telmo than expected though.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    47
    15
    11
    11
See reviews for
7
59
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires, argentina
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed here with a friend during the winter and had a really lovely time. The rooms were comfortable and cozy, the hostel's not too big and it's very "homely." With nice terrace, it was a good place to meet people and an ideal spot to base yourself in Buenos Aires, with restaurants and shops nearby. And access to the downtown was very handy. The manager was also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

It was all good.

Right from when the arranged pickup from the airport was standing there with my name on a card. The staff were all fluent in English and very nice.

I stayed 4 nights. I had a clean and nice smelling double room to myself with a shared bathroom (with two other rooms). Nothing flash but good value at US19 per night. I did have access to a shared courtyard with chairs and a hammock. (see pic).

The shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water with towels supplied. The bathroom was cleaned several times a day.

On the Sunday night we had a bbq - all we could eat (incl some wine and beer) for 30 pesos on the 2nd floor open terrace. Friends of one of the staff came over and played some folk music and had CDs for sale. Bought one and am listening now.

Breakfast (argentina style) included each day.

Library was well stocked with EVERY possible guide book for Argentina and they were happy for me to borrow one of the books to walk around the streets with. Staff had good advice about getting around and what to do.

Huge lounge to hang out in but I was never really there - too much to see and do. Free internet and fast connection.

Don't let the neighbourhood put you off. It was less than 2 minutes walk to the nearest tube stop but I usually walked into down town. 5 mins to 9 July and then 20 min walk to the Obelisk. All very safe and pleasant to walk along. But it was bloody hot so make sure you take a water bottle (tap water OK to drink).

This was much better value for money than other places I stayed at in Argentina. It is a small friendly place that I would be happy to go back to with my whole family (2 young children).

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No major dislikes. Location slightly seedy but still safe.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2006

This is a nice hostel and a great value. That's not the most important part thought. The people that run this place are simply incredible. Half of having a great time in Buenos Aires is getting plugged into the local scene. They really go out of their way to make that happen. For me, that kind of experience is priceless. The atmosphere also encourage guests to get to know each other - this isn't a huge hostle with 100s of guests and the host go out of their way to make space for meeting up.

There's nothing like being able to land in Buenos Aires and hit a party, a great club or a concert your first night!

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank prere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

I was going to stay several nights here, but I ended up not liking the place. It won an award in one of the Buenos Aires newspapers for being the best hostel in town, so I booked it. The prices are low, but it's just not very nice. Most of the windows face a busy street, so you can't have the windows open at night if you want to sleep. I was there in summer, so I was sweltering in my bed as there is no air conditioning. There are 2 private rooms and the rest are bunk beds for sharing with other travelers. The bathroom really needed to be re-done. The hosts were very nice and I wish I had liked it better here. There are better choices.

web site ---- for address and phone info

Helpful?
3 Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardenadmin, Manager at Garden House Hostel, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
This is a very unusual review to our hostel. Our building features 8 PRIVATE ROOMS and 2 SHARED DORMS. Each one has a window, but only 2 of the private rooms has a window facing to the street. We do have some air conditioned rooms but they have a different price because they mean an additional cost for us. However, every room has a ceiling fan and a heater and internet service and a very plentiful breakfast are included on the price.
Our staff is a very caring group of people who would change anybody's room if the guest is not comfortable or satisfyed with its own and our clean rooms and bathrooms are usually mentioned in other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#20 of 461 in Buenos Aires
165 reviews
Vi Luz y Entre Hostel
#120 of 461 in Buenos Aires
104 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 461 in Buenos Aires
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Granados Hostel
Granados Hostel
#69 of 461 in Buenos Aires
70 reviews
San Telmo
Che Argentina Hostel Suites
Che Argentina Hostel Suites
#65 of 461 in Buenos Aires
74 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Obelisco
Hostel Suites Obelisco
#24 of 461 in Buenos Aires
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Hostel

Property: Garden House Hostel
Address: Avenida San Juan 1271, Buenos Aires C1148AAA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 461 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GardenHouse is the only hostel created by and for travelers. With a modern and bright touch. Meet with travelers from all over the world, sunbathe on the large terrace, watch movies or enjoy a typical Argentine barbecue. Our house has a capacity of 25 people. We offer private rooms and spacious shared dorms. Our friendly staff will be happy to help you explore the life of Buenos Aires. Our hostel is a large house in the neighborhood of San Telmo, a safe place, full of history and tradition, where you can experience Buenos Aires life. Located in the center of the city, within walking distance of major tourist attractions, shopping malls and night spots. If you are looking for a unique experience in Buenos Aires, come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Garden House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing