We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some very good aspects, and some bad ones”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Own Palermo Hollywood
Ranked #129 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was difficult to rate this hotel because it has several really wonderful aspects and some not so wonderful aspects. The wonderful aspects are wonderful, and if the not so wonderful aspects don't bother you, it's a great place to stay.
I'll start with the wonderful. The staff is outstanding. Friendly, helpful, and more. They went out of their way to be helpful in very useful ways. The rooms are very nice, also. You may or may not like the decor, but that's true anywhere.
Now the not so wonderful. The area. It isn't bad, it isn't at all dangerous, there are interesting neighborhoods to see and restaurants nearby. But there are much more interesting places to stay. And the walk from Palermo Hollywood to tourist places is rather long (but do-able, we did it). You can, of course, take a taxi or a bus (figuring out the latter is hard, but I'm certain the staff at the hotel will get you there and back). The biggest not so wonderful thing was the price. We had stayed the week before for several days in the Recoleta district, which is a stone's throw from several interesting tourist sites and relatively close to others. Our room was a 2-room suite, so larger and more comfortable, and we paid less per night.
So I really wish these folks who are working very hard well, but the price and the area make that very difficult for them. I hate to rate them "average", and I hope the details help you decide whether this works for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for Own Palermo Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 783 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I travel to BA every year. Of course we don't visit the Recoleta Cemetery and Casa Rosada every year, so we'd rather stay in Palermo, for the restaurants, parks, cafes and street shopping. This is the best hotel we've ever stayed.

First of all, it's good to emphasize that if this is your first time in Buenos Aires, palermo maybe a bit far from the main touristic attractions, so if you're looking to stay next to the center, this is not your best neighborhood choice. Second, this is a hotel boutique. Excellent for a romantic trip, but may not be the best option for big families.

The design in fantastic, rooms are spacious. Location in perfect, near nice restaurants and at a walking distance from metro, shops, cafes and parks, Taxi to the city center is less than 40 pesos (8 USD).

Breakfast is table service, which is good for a hotel boutique, but I found limited choices comparing to other hotel botiques in Palermo where you could have eggs, pancakes and sandwiches.

But service is the best thing about OWN. The staff is fantastic and always available to help you with anything you need, and that's a big difference.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoBersano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bárbara B, Gerente at Own Palermo Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Bruno,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review!
We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience, that is what we work for every day.
We look forward to welcoming you and Fernanda in the future.
Best regards from myself and the whole team,

Bárbara Böttcher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful boutique hotel. It is in the beautiful Palermo, which is uber cool and bursting with life - With a chooce of great cafes and bars. It is definitely the best area to stay, with only a 10min pleasant walk to the metro. The hotel itself has everything you need. Including the best reception staff we have ever come across. They are the bible of buenos aires! and a credit to the hotel x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rooms, location, shower, breakfast - all great. But the thing that stood out the most was the staff. My husband and I stayed here for 9 days and everyday we were greeted with a smile. No matter how many questions we asked, they were always willing to go above and beyond to help us from making recommendations of where to go to booking our reservations. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Thank you again, especially to Lelia, Sol and Matias :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Own Palermo Hollywood earlier this month for three days. The room was beautiful, spacious and the bed was comfortable. The shower was great -- great pressure and plenty of hot water. No noise issues. The location is good -- though be warned it's about a 20-minute walk to the subway. The staff could not have been more helpful, giving us recommendations, calling us taxis, and just generally being very friendly and welcoming. While we found the neighborhood dark at night, we felt it was safe to walk around -- there are plenty of restaurants and bars and such open at night. It's fairly far from the city center (about a 20 minute subway ride, which can turn into a 40-minute trip if you're walking from the hotel to the subway), but since we enjoyed going out at night in Palermo, we would absolutely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferA315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A good boutique hotel, located in Palermo. The neighborhood is very nice and you will find several good restaurants and a rich nightlife. The hotel is small, with few rooms. The rooms are small, but decorated in a very tasteful way. Very modern, clean and quiet for sleeping. But only to sleep, they do not offer other services. This hotel has an excellent cost benefit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are young couple with small child and were looking for a hotel in BA which will make our landing in Argentina a "soft" one. Well, own Palermo Hollywood is the one. The service is great. I am writing this review after being in other two hotels and can definitely say - service in OWN is superb and i haven't met another like it. The team speaks very good English and willing to assist with any of your needs.
Rooms have nice design touch, but best part is the way maid cleans and arranges the room. At the end of the day when we returned we felt almost like at home :-) , very relaxing.
About location. To me there is a difference between not feeling safe and not feeling comfortable.
To some, who visits BA for first time,especially if person comes from US or EU, it is easy to confuse between the two. We felt not comfortable first day,but never not safe, even with baby. Also Palermo is much nicer than let's say micro center. Cleaner, less crowded and also have many nice cafes, pubs and etc arround.

Tip. Take advantage of blue dollar, bring cash and ask about it in the hotel.
P.S. I put value 4* since w/o promotion hotel had at the time, we wouldn't be able afford it, hotel is pricy...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyboyTel_Aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Own Grand Palermo Soho
Own Grand Palermo Soho
#40 of 443 in Buenos Aires
517 reviews
Palermo
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
#108 of 443 in Buenos Aires
522 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Clasico
Hotel Clasico
#29 of 443 in Buenos Aires
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
#102 of 443 in Buenos Aires
328 reviews
Palermo
Dazzler Palermo
Dazzler Palermo
#89 of 443 in Buenos Aires
702 reviews
Palermo
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
#73 of 443 in Buenos Aires
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Own Palermo Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Own Palermo Hollywood

Address: Calle Jose Antonio Cabrera 5556 | Palermo Hollywood, Buenos Aires C1414BHD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#44 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#50 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $64 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Own Palermo Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TEMPORARILY CLOSED -Own Hotels represent a new concept in urban boutique-hotels, characterized by personalized attention, modern design, and timeless style.Located in the most desirable areas of Buenos Aires, Own Hotels offer a unique experience with oversized rooms with all services of a 5-star hotel.You have the feeling of having your Own private oasis amidst the action of the city. The highly trained staff will insure that guests have everything they need to maximize their time in the hotel.The decoration of the hotel is pure and in order to feel completely at home the hotel offers you to customize your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Own Palermo Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Own Palermo Hollywood Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing