We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Dazzler San Telmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dazzler San Telmo
Ranked #196 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This review is for the specific room we had at this specific location. Other rooms and locations may be different.

What was GOOD: Hotel location, comfortable bed (single), large space, air conditioner was high so it did not blow directly on you, free wireless, check in people were nice

What was OK:
1. The breakfast bar was adequate, but not spectacular. We had to ask for fresh fruit several times both mornings we were there. Eggs were dry. Limited selection of breads. Orange juice was Tang, but grapefruit juice was good.
2. Vinyl covering on the couch and couch pillows - kind of tacky.
3. Very cheap laminate flooring.

What was BAD:
1. The room design was ridiculous. This was an end unit. The room was probably 30 feet long, with two single (not double or queen) beds at one end right next to the windows with a lot of noise and bright sunshine, a living room area (couch and coffee table on one side of the room, small desk-like place for computer on the other) in the center, then a closet sticking out into the center of the room, behind which was something that was perhaps supposed to pass for a kitchen, and the bathroom at the far end of the space. The coffee table in the center of the room had sharp edges and would have been dangerous in the middle of the night when you were tryng to get to the bathroom; we immediately pushed it over to the far wall. The closet was very large but had only a few hangers. Truly a third grader could have designed a better room.
2. The room had no soundproofing - you heard all the street noise and traffic.
3. The beds were not aligned with the TV, so only one person could watch comfortably.
4. The room key was a heavy metal key, not a modern plastic card.
5. There was no coffee pot in the room.
6. The sink area in the bathroom was very small, so we had to put medications and toothbrushes outside in the kitchen area.
7. The shower head was attached to the ceiling, one third of the way down the tub. You could not avoid getting soaked before the water had warmed up.
8. There was no English CNN channel available. For a hotel trying to attract international visitors, this was ridiculous.
9. Check out was inefficient. Although there were three people at the desk, only one could process the paperwork, and it took a LONG time to get checked out.

What was TERRIBLE:
1. The location of the safe. It was literally inside a closet space in the kitchen area, at ground level, at the back of the closet. You literally had to get down on your hands and knees to access it !!
2. There were a lot of structures with sharp edges and corners at eye level - dangerous !!
3. The 'shower curtain' was a moveable piece of solid plastic extending half way down the tub which would swing both inside and outside of the tub.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeadeWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 481 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

We had a huge room with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom appeared elegant but it was very small, the shower door was poorly engineered and water drained all over the floor and it took over an hour for the water to drain. Breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast room and lobby were comfortable. The keep the main door locked which was a bit disconcerting....they always had to press a button to let you in. We generally liked the location and the online price was good. When we showed up a night early we were charged about 30% more than the online price for that night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

For a chain hotel, Dazzler Tower San Telmo is small enough to afford intimacy and personalized service. How did we find this hotel? When planning trips we always use Late Rooms.com and Bookings.com, two competant, competetively priced, British hotel sites. Dazzler Tower was the first listing on Late Rooms and although I checked other listings for days, I kept returning to Dazzler Tower San Telmo, because paying $89 for a 4* hotel was too good to pass on. The price can fluctuate wildly ( I saw it for $169 later, during our trip, but the desk clerk said $130 is a normal price) so I highly recommend booking far in advance. Upon arrival we were offered a free upgrade to a suite, even though the desk clerk knew what we were paying, perhaps because we were staying longer than other guests (4 nights). Who could refuse?

The suite was outstanding with a large leather sofa and table from which to view the flat screen TV. It had a deck, although no deck furniture, a standard bathroom, kingsized bed, very large desk area and a small area at the entrance with generous counter space and a minibar. Closet space was adequate. The bedding was so luxurious it felt like satin, so we succumbed and took a nap! We opted for the heart of the city for our first 4 nights om Buenos Aires and expected traffic noises, but as urban dwellers, that is not a problem for us. We slept soundly in the very comfortable bed (in fairness, we did just arrive after a 14 1/2 hour flight and were tired). We heard absolutely nothing from other rooms.

The location is ideal for walking to: Cafe Puerto Rico to catch a tango show or just have one of their pastries and coffee; Casa Rosada; the cathedral; the famous Sunday Fiera on Defensa; the pedestrian shopping street Florida with it's shopping arcades; and San Telmo which actually starts a few blocks south of the hotel which is technically in Monserrat. It was also easy to walk into San Nicholas and Congresso from this location and we even managed to get to Plaza San Martin in Retiro and Recoleta, but those were much longer walks. If one chooses not to walk everywhere, there are many buses and taxis just outside the hotel and the nearest Subte (metro) is a block away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidadoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel was absolutely horrible...from service {we pulled up in a cab in a rain storm and the doorman stood inside while we got our own luggage and soaking wet} to the rooms {the bathroom smelled of sewage and the tub and sink took forever to drain} to only be capped off by the staff stealing on the day I left, I placed my luggage with the bell hop while I did some last minute shopping, and stuff was stolen from my bags. If I wasnt headed to the airport I would have called the police....STAY ANYWHERE ELSE.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The location is good for not being so stuck in the middle of the city , making it possible to walk to many points of interest.
However this hotel is in a very busy narrow street with buses and cars which can be a bit noisy. Speaking of noise, almost everything in the hotel is loud, the elevator emits many sounds, warns when it arrives, when it open the door and warns when it go, moreover the signals of the bedroom door also sends loud alerts when the card is inserted in the wall support. A little annoying. The noise of the floor hall also invade the rooms making a light sleep be interrupted when a guest arrives a little happier at dawn.

The breakfast is great and full, what holds a couple of hours until lunch. The staff is kind and polite and never fails to deliver a message or make up your bedroom. If you're not at the hotel they leave a lovely envelope with your message under the door.

The room is comfortable, connected by cable TV, comfortable bed, desk for work and a living room with sofa. And there is WIFI internet for free. Just don't forget to bring a plug adapter. Look for it at Google's to know how the Argentinian electric system works.

The bathroom is a little tight and a little poorly designed, it is impossible to bathe without wetting the floor, but the shower is great with plenty of hot water and relaxing.

The smell of cloves in the hotel lobby is a little strong, but you can carry with you as a souvenir when you get home and will unpack your bags. You can remember every single moment at Argentina when you feel this smell. ;-)

I recommend this hotel and the problems are minor order.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricEvangelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

The hotel is new (about six months) but already with problems. In my room, the sink faucet did not allow changing water temperature. In the bath, it was impossible changing water flux from the bath to the shower (the button was damaged). The bath is slippery and there is no safety support. It is impossible to bath without spilling water all around the bathroom because the shower is positioned at the end of glass protection.
The breakfast is poor.
Swimming pool was closed.
The safe box is hard to deal with.
The only good thing is the nice staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catcher-in-the-rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Mauro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Dazzler San Martin
Dazzler San Martin
#206 of 444 in Buenos Aires
740 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Boca by Design Suites
Hotel Boca by Design Suites
#58 of 444 in Buenos Aires
882 reviews
San Telmo
CH Madero Urbano Suites
CH Madero Urbano Suites
#39 of 444 in Buenos Aires
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#116 of 444 in Buenos Aires
919 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#50 of 444 in Buenos Aires
544 reviews
Montserrat
Unique Palacio San Telmo
Unique Palacio San Telmo
#180 of 444 in Buenos Aires
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dazzler San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dazzler San Telmo

Address: Calle Piedras 303, Buenos Aires C1070AAG, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $67 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dazzler San Telmo 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in one of the oldest and best preserved neighborhoods in the city, surrounded by bars and tango, and within walking distance of downtown. 70 spacious rooms: Classic, Superior and VIP (duplex). Heated outdoor swimming pool, gym, business center, meeting room, extensive breakfast bar, Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel, snack & coffee bar, underground parking in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dazzler San Telmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dazzler Tower San Telmo Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing