We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch”
Review of Caseros

Caseros
Ranked #377 of 4,854 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This restaurant has an up market cafe feel. It reminded me a lot of the Villandry restaurants in London - good, fresh, simple food, clean, simple, stylish decor.
Good service.
Food was healthy and fresh.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    83
    23
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
capital
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excelent option in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a small restaurant in San Telmo (close to the Lezama park). Altough is a little apart from the most usual places in this neighborhood , it´s worth visiting.
There are only a few tables and the menu is short, but all the options are great. From the appetizers to the desserts, you cannot go wrong with any of the choices.
The prices are regular and the service ok.
Definitely, a place to visit in Buenos Aires

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariaclaraCapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“having lunch”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Small local restaurant with no fancy details. they concentrate on the food, and that is just send from heaven. they serve a daily special with a starter, a main course and coffee for about 70 pesos. They have a beautifull terrace in from with several tables under the shades of some big trees.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gert jan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“We went 3 times!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We rented a loft for two weeks on Caseros street just a couple blocks down from the restaurant. Consequently we ate our way through many of the restaurants in our edge of San Telmo neighborhood. There are 4 good ones in one block! A happening place. We liked Caseros the most. We returned when friends came to visit. Food was excellent. A smallish menu, but everything we tried was well executed. Homemade bread, which others have mentioned, was fabulous. Have forgotten some of the entrees we had, but merluzon stands out as my first - on a bed of sauteed fennel. Couldn't identify taste initially, which engendered a great English/Spanish conversation among staff and us regarding "fennel." Service we had each time was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable in that way. Of course we often had our noses pressed at their window at their 8:30 opening time - only to be waived off until staff finished their dinner. Space is bright and airy - very high ceilings, big windows onto street - so if you're looking for dark and cozy this is not your place. Think they also serve outside (?)
But that was our problem . . .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West kelowna
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful food... Great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

First I have to state that our party of four went with a local guide.. He recommended it and we took him there. He knew some of the staff so service was good. The food was very tasty. Wonderful homemade breads on the table, good size starters with excellent flavours. My husband and I shared the main course of Argentina fish.. Nicely presented and great taste. The restaurant prides themselves on sourcing local foods, including beef, rabbit, lamb.
Tried some sweetbreads for the first time.A big thing in Argentina. Surprised myself as to the great nonfat taste.
Low key ambience with attentive but not "in your face" service.
The restaurant is located "off the tourist track" so mostly locals eating there. In a safe part of town.

Helpful?
Thank Canada55plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caseros also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Caseros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing