We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel, fine and helpful staff, clean and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Ranked #20 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Leverett, MA
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel, fine and helpful staff, clean and pleasant”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is an excellent small hotel, with a fine staff, one that is helpful in all ways and very friendly. It has a rather good location in the Palermo district within a few blocks walking distance to a number of good restaurants, shops, etc. If you want the city center, this is not it, but if you want some peace and quiet, while at the same time you want good service, this is a place to consider.

It has rooms in three categories, Terraza, Patio or Vitraux. We had a patio room on the entrance floor and found the room to be clean, the en suite bathroom to be of good size, the king bed to be very comfortable and the little patio nice for fresh air. WiFi is included so you can stay connected if you wish. Also included (at least at our room rate) is a rather nice breakfast. The breakfast includes a choice from many items and you can have whatever you want in whatever quantity. So, there are three choices of cereal, there is yogurt, there are egg choices, rolls, bread, juice, fruit, etc. All very attractive to look at and good to eat. The coffee is excellent (at least we thought so) and comes with steamed milk if you like it that way – you add the milk from a little pitcher.

The little front desk is staffed 24 hours a day. Access to the hotel is only available by ringing the doorbell – you can’t just walk in. This enhances security and the bell is responded to typically within a minute. Just a bit of advice – there is no huge sign to identify the hotel. Work by the street address 1746 Julian Alvarez and when you arrive you will find a small sign on the wall of the building just to the left of the door. That is your indication that you are at the right place. Our driver was a bit concerned that we were in the wrong place, but the door opened and we were warmly welcomed. In fact, we arrived before normal check-in time after a long overnight flight and our room was ready.

There are several staff members who rotate in their times of duty, but we found them all to be extremely helpful. We had communication with Alex by e-mail and he was also there to provide breakfast on several of the days we were there. He and the other staff speak English quite well and there was never any difficulty with communication. We also found the staff to be very helpful with recommendations for things. So, for example, we asked if there were reasonable (in terms of quality) restaurants nearby and we were asked what kind of food we might like and there then followed several suggestions. We tried a couple of them and found the descriptions to be accurate and the quality and prices to be as we were told in advance. The staff will make reservations for you, ask if credit cards are accepted, etc. The staff will also make reservations for a return ride to the airport for you (and confer with the driver in advance so that there is no surprise about the cost). For such a trip the staff will also confirm whether or not the fare can be in US dollars or Pesos. When the official exchange rate was 8.1 Pesos to the dollar, our ride for 300 pesos was paid with 30 US dollars, a 10-1 rate.

Anyway, this is a fine place. If we are in Buenos Aires again and need a place in that general area of the city, I certainly would not search further, but would return to Magnolia for sure. We really liked it there.

Room Tip: Entrance floor (patio) rooms may be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Bob,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the neighborhood and your stay with us
We work really hard to make our guests feel comfortable, enjoy our place and all the nice attractions and restaurants Palermo and the city has, so it’s a pleasure to hear that our suggestions have helped you.
We would love to have you staying again at Magnolia in your next trip to Buenos Aires.
Kindest regards to you and Norma.
The Magnolia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    58
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
249
30
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at the Magnolia for 5 days last week. It was so lovely. Friendly, BEYOND helpful staff, delicious breakfast, comfortable and luxurious rooms, great shower pressure, great location. I plan to stay here every time I'm in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrapezeGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Micaela,

Thank you so much for writing such nice things about us!. It means a lot that you took the time to do so.
It’s great when our guests appreciate so much our city, history and culture the way you and your parents did!
We love to read that you enjoyed staying with us, and hope to have you as guests next time you come to Buenos Aires, and don’t forget you have to teach us some tango .
Kindest regards to you, Judy and Ron.

The Magnolia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Magnolia, We made reservations directly with the hotel--The were great at getting everything lined up. We e mailed back and forth several times to get information and suggestions for our trip. The staff was always quick to help us out.

The hotel is like staying in a good friend's home. There are only eight rooms--but they are all very nice. We had a terrazzo room which had its own little courtyard. The room was quiet, very comfortable and well appointed. This is not a big corporate hotel so there are no bells and whistles--or the hustle and hassle of a big hotel.

Breakfast was complimentary every morning--and included eggs, juices, pastries, cheese and charcuterie--All of it outstanding.

The staff was great in providing suggestions and caring for out needs. Everyone spoke English--but let us practice our Spanish--We actually spent time chatting with all of the staff about world cup football, life in Buenos Aires etc.

The hotel is on a quiet street in Palermo Soho--but close to lots of attractions--cabs came by every few minutes--so getting around was easy.

This was one of the nicest hotel experiences we have ever had. Many thanks to a lll of the staff and to Maria our gracious host.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the found floor terrazzo room--it was large and airy--also the roof top deck is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you so much for writing such nice things about us!
It makes us really happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
Unfortunately we couldn’t win the World Cup, but I guess your visit brought us luck as it was 24 years since we couldn’t get to the finals.
It was great that you could have a lively experience on how passionate about football we are. 
We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your days with your son.
Kindest regards to you, Stacey and Reese.

The Magnolia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Magnolia Hotel is a very charming hotel with extremely friendly service. Rooms are well equipped, especially for holiday guests. The hotel is well-located being only a few blocks from Plaza Armenia, a lively square with a lot of restaurants and a Sunday market. Breakfast is very well done. The hotel has an outstanding roof-top terrace with great views (although wifi does not work up there). The only thing that I would criticize is that the walls are quite thin and thus rooms can be noisy. For business travellers the lack of a proper desk and chair to sit and work can be an obstacle.

Room Tip: I would not recommend the rooms on the ground floor, since very close to breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Claudia
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review! The feedback of our guests help us a lot in order to improve our service!
Thanks again
Magnolia´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at Magnolia Hotel for five nights, and had a fantastic stay. It is in a perfect location in Palermo Soho, a couple blocks from the main shopping / dining area, and convenient for anything else you may need (grocery store, ATM, taxis, etc.). By American standards, the room was nothing fancy, but still perfectly fine, and for the price it was definitely a great value. And all of the amenities (shower, bathroom) were modern, clean, and nice. What really made the Duque so great was the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this charming little hotel for 4 nights and couldn't of been happier. From the moment we arrived we could go straight to our room, which having just done an overnight flight was a blessing as we were about 3 hours early! The rooms are spacious and done out in traditional colonial Argentinian style. The bed was huge and very comfortable and there's a cool little Juliet balcony to go out on. The staff were more than friendly and were always willing to help with everything from tango show bookings to advice on local bars etc. This a great chic neighbourhood and a great base for exploring BA, thoughrely recommend!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Oliver,

Thank you so much for writing such nice things about us!
It makes us really happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and that you liked the neighborhood.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Kindest regards to you and Lesley,

Magnalia’s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had the most amazing visit to this small little boutique hotel. More than the actual beauty, the kind and gracious staff are an extra amenity. Each room is carefully appointed with comfortable beds, soft sheets, big towels, and the art is unique and adds to the lovely style of the place. The breakfast is lovely and the staff attentive to your diet and needs. The staff will take care of all of your tour bookings, rides to the airport and tell you everything you need to know for getting around BsAs. My friends who were at other hotels were impressed and jealous they were not staying there. Anyone who stays here will be very happy they did.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms in the hotel, every room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Susan

Thank you very much for your nice words. They mean a lot to us!

We hope to see you again in Magnolia the next time you visit Buenos Aires.

Warm regards and happy trip!

Magnolia´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,826 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,320 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#4 of 446 in Buenos Aires
795 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 446 in Buenos Aires
988 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#16 of 446 in Buenos Aires
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Boutique

Property: Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle Julian Alvarez 1746 | Palermo, Buenos Aires C1414DSJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#23 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#41 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Boutique represents a long house tradition of the city. It was built in 1892 and remodeled in order to preserve its essence and architecture, combining antique furniture with contemporary design. We want every guest to feel at home, in a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, enjoying design and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing