We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Magnolia. It's a small hotel with personal attention to guests. Reasonably priced considering the quality of the rooms and the location. Over the course of the stay we dealt with about 4 different people at the front desk, and we came to know all of them and got great help from them. Over and above typical hotel service. Good breakfast in pleasant room next to patio. The location is a side street of mostly apartment buildings. It is on the edge of the trendy shopping district of Palermo Soho, overall can't complain that we were outside that area because it meant that we didn't have the street noise but the shops were still close if we wanted to go there. Subway to downtown was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Palermo Soho was one of the coolest neighborhoods I have been to in any city. Magnolia is within 3 blocks of several good and reasonably priced restaurants. 1810 Cocina has great Argentine traditional food like empenadas. La Choza is a good steakhouse, just a notch below La Cabrera in quality, but half the price and great atmosphere. The gelato store on the corner was great, went there every night for dulce de leche granizado. My only suggestion for the hotel is to expand the coverage of the free wifi - it only covers the lobby and the halls upstairs, not into the rooms.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LMJ19752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hi John and Holly!

Thank you so much for writing such nice things about us! We are happy you enjoyed your time here., and sorry about the internet issue (we are working on that!)

We hope that you enjoyed Salta as much as you did Palermo and that the magazines and movies kept you entertained on your flight back home!

Kind regards to you both.

The Magnolia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 460 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to go to Buenos Aires to visit our daughter and friends recommended Magnolia as a charming little hotel.

We were absolutely delighted that we were able to stay here. Charming beautifully decorated boutique hotel. Our room was perfect with its own small terrace (ground floor) and the service was exemplary without being stuffy!! All the staff we met were absolutely charming, helpful and friendly and greeted us with great enthusiasm. We were first timers in the city and they offered masses of advice on places to visit, travel info and went out of their way to answer all our queries.

We had a wonderful stay in Buenos Aires and will certainly go back when we can spend more time exploring more of Argentina. Would thoroughly recommend Magnolia we loved it. ps There is a very pretty roof terrace where you can enjoy a drink in the sunshine or just sit and read in a quiet spot.

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor which gave us a small private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi Alyson,

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments! We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us
We enjoyed having such fresh and happy people as yourselves staying with us and we will be pleased to have you here again in the future.
We hope everything is going well with your daughter in Buenos Aires. Please remind her that she can contact us in case she needs anything.

Warm regards to you and Ian,

The Magnolia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

With my work I spend up to 100 nights a year in hotels so when choosing one for a holiday I have quite high hopes for how good it will be. Magnolia exceeded all expectations on every level. It is a beautiful, tranquil space in a great location with the most genuinely friendly and helpful staff I have ever encountered. My wife and i spent 7 days of our honeymoon here and were a little worried it was going to be too long to spend in one location but actually wished we could have stayed even longer and sincerely hope to return again before too long.

I cannot think of anything that would have improved our stay except perhaps that the birds didn't have to go to sleep and had carried on singing all night: so enchanting!

Magnolia is the perfect antidote to bland, soulless, corporate hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hi Keith!

Thank you so much for your beautiful message. We are very happy that you chose us for your whole stay in Buenos Aires and that somehow we managed to exceed your high expectations :)
Please send our warm regards to Iona.

We wish you both the best and do hope to see you again some other time :)

The Magnolia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked at Magnolia almost by accident but were extremely glad we did! Beautiful hotel with even better service! We would especially like to thank Francisco and Ezekiel for helping us to plan out and execute one of hopefully many visits in the future to Buenos Aires!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WheretoNext999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Quang,

We are very happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and that you enjoyed your time with us.
We will be happy to have you staying here again. :)

Please send our regards to Andrea.

See you next time!

The magnolia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely hotel with very helpful, engaging staff. Our room was large with a private patio. We woke up every morning to the sounds of birds singing. Great space on the roof to have drinks and watch the sun go down. Did not like the location. I thought Palermo have some charm. It does not. Great restaurant, Las pizzarras in walking distance.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Texascountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for writing!

Birds are still singing around here, we remember how fascinated you were by them. We became more aware after your comment. It is amazing how it is when you get used to something… you just stop noticing how great it is!
We are sorry to read you did not find Palermo Soho area attractive. The area is much different from downtown since it is more quiet without the offices banks and companies but still lively with bars, restaurants, chic & trendy boutiques, independent designers, parks. We feel sad that it was not what you expected, we do hope you enjoyed your time getting to know our city in spite of it.

We wich you all the best!

The Magnolia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Argentina and we booked 6 nights at the Magnolia as a starting point, however we felt so at home in this gorgeous, friendly, special little hotel we ended up staying for 2 weeks. We couldn't imagine moving on or finding anything that could possibly be nicer so we just kept extending our stay a few nights at a time and were very lucky that we could be accommodated by the wonderful staff each time. It really felt like we were staying in a private house and were always welcomed by a familiar friendly face every time we rang the bell whether it was 4pm or 4am ( we really embraced the night life in BA!) Magnolia's attention to detail was just perfect in every way and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.For a first trip to BA the hotel couldn't be better positioned close to the centre of Palermo Soho with all it's lovely bars and restaurants as well as easy walking distance to the underground and parks.
We fell in love with Buenos Aires and will definitely be back next autumn and can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 494GaleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you Gale for your nice words. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write such a lovely review.
We really did feel as though you were part of Magnolia too! We will be happy to have you again next spring (your autumn ;) )

All the best to you and the family

The Magnolia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

As seasoned travelers we can be easily disappointed. Not so at the Magnolia Hotel. It is by far the best small hotel at which we have stayed. It is located in a quiet neighborhood yet within easy reach of all the big city amenities. It is tastefully decorated and has a pleasant ambiance. The best part of the decor is the assiduously attentive staff who are a fount of information about the city. They go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable. Don't expect the brush off here. We enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast on our schedule in the morning and an afternoon glass of wine before going out for the evening. We felt totally relaxed. The Magnolia gets our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Jill & Emmet
We would be nothing if it wasn't for our wonderful guests such as yourselves! Thank you for taking the time to write such good things about us.
We hope you arrived home safely and that the cold weather treats you well.
Warmest regards :)

Magnolia's Team

PS: We hope your grand daughter enjoys her new denim vest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,924 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#6 of 444 in Buenos Aires
821 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,372 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#13 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,432 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#25 of 444 in Buenos Aires
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Julian Alvarez 1746 | Palermo, Buenos Aires C1414DSJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#23 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#41 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $108 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Boutique represents a long house tradition of the city. It was built in 1892 and remodeled in order to preserve its essence and architecture, combining antique furniture with contemporary design. We want every guest to feel at home, in a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, enjoying design and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing