We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAFF!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Ranked #16 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAFF!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Magnolia was our third stop on a three-week trip through Chile, Argentina and Uruguay, and without a doubt, one of the best places we stayed. The eight-room hotel is situated in a stately building filled with antiques and lots of natural light. Our room was small, as is usually the case in boutique hotels but well appointed, with a very comfortable queen bed, hardwood floors, cable television, and a good-sized bathroom with a combination bathtub-shower and lots of counter space, an attribute often lacking in hotels and one in which I, a woman who hauls around a small drugstore of toiletries on trips, appreciates. What really sets the Magnolia Hotel apart from others we stayed in, however, is the staff. No request - whether it was the simplest restaurant recommendation and reservation or spending an hour on the phone booking ferries and buses to and around Uruguay - was too much for this young but very professional and friendly staff. As mentioned in another review, the hotel's location might not be for everyone. Situated on a side street in Palermo Soho, the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the subway, and although there are a couple of good restaurants located within five minutes of the Magnolia, you really have to walk a good 15 minutes to get to an area with a lot of choices. For us, the hotel's distance from the night life translated into a better night's sleep in its quiet environs and a good way to burn up some calories from all the Argentine wine and steak we consumed. The only suggestion that I would offer to the hotel is that it add a few breakfast options. Unlike most of the hotels we stayed at, The Magnolia offers menu service and cooks eggs to order. The food was good and the dark rich coffee was great, but we stayed at the hotel for six nights and by the end of that time we were tired of the choices. That said, it would not deter us from staying at the Magnolia Hotel should our travels take us to Buenos Aires again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dmp1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    56
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
248
30
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel at the end of a cruise. We researched it on Trip Advisor and chose it based on the reviews. It more than lived up to our expectations. Every aspect of our stay was excellent--the location in Palermo, the room, the free breakfast cooked to order, the wonderful rooftop terrace and most importantly the staff and owner. They had a genuine interest in doing everything possible to make our stay memorable and hassle-free. All of this was provided at a price we felt was very reasonable. I would recommend the Magnolia to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's not really in the heart of Palermo but a short stroll to the busy restaurant and boutique precinct - but this location means it is quiet and away from traffic noise. We had a top floor room which generally meant we had the roof terrace to ourselves. A bottle of wine on the terrace at dusk was the perfect start to any evening. Breakfast was included in the price and delicious - eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit and more. What was particularly outstanding was the attitude of the staff - nothing was too much trouble and they were a fabulous source of information and suggestions - one highlight being an amazing dinner they booked for us at a nearby 'closed' restaurant - no name and no address until you had a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Magnolia Hotel Boutique based upon TripAdvisor reviews. While we can't say it was a bad experience, we just couldn't understand the lofty reviews, particularly for the price. First, the location is not very good for exploring the City and if we had it to do over again would have stayed closer to Ricoleta. Second, the beds in the room were small and uncomfortable and reminded me of something out of a European youth hostel. However, the primary reason we would not go back is a minor incident that we could not overlook. We stayed two nights and left a Sunday morning for a four day, three night trip to Mendoza. The Plan was to come back to the Magnolia Wednesday night. However, upon arrival at Cavas in Mendoza, we fell in love and decided we wanted to stay an extra day. So, we promptly that morning contacted Magnolia to cancel our Wednesday reservation. Unfortunately, the hotel has a 4 day advance notice policy and wasn't willing to waive it. I understand the problem cancellations present to hotels; however, this was the middle of the week and they would not have been prejudiced at all by the cancellation - the place was empty when we got there. So, a policy is a policy, but we expect from the hotels that get high trip advisor ratings something more than that, particularly if it doesn't harm them.

PS Cavas is great!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Propietario at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay with us. Your review was a surprise since you seemed to be really happy at Magnolia.

Unlike big chain hotels, last minute cancellations have a huge impact on us. There is a lot of work and organization behind each reservation and with a last minute cancellation the room will probably sleep empty.

As you know, we are a very small exclusive hotel and having only 8 rooms makes the hotel really private and quiet, so even if we are full it is rarely noticed.

We wish we knew about your discomfort during your stay, so that we had a chance to talk about it in person.

We want our guests to be happy more than anything :)

Best wishes from Buenos Aires!

Magnolia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Magnolia Hotel Botique is a wonderful experience. The whole house is journey back into the early 20th century. The house and rooms are beautifully furnished and one feels immediately at home. The service and breakfast are great and it is ideally located near nice shops and restaurants

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Magnolia and loved it. The location in Palermo is great--right on the border with Palermo Soho on a quiet yet safe street. Several cute shops/cafes right on the same block and we slept very well as there was no noise. We had a larger room on the top floor and it was spacious for our family of 3 including a good sized bathroom. It is the only room on that floor and so we often had the fantastic roof terrace to ourselves. The room's balcony was also great to sip a glass of wine and relax when we wanted a break from the streets of BA. The lounge is inviting with a handy selection of BA guides and other interesting art books. The staff were really great--professional, helpful with reservations & suggestions and very friendly to our 3 year old son. Never made us feel like we were bothering them. The breakfast was very good and includes cooked eggs of your choice. Decor is very tastefully selected for the entire hotel.
They also arranged airport pick-up for us which was really helpful after a long international flight.
We subsequently spent a night on our way back from Uruguay at another highly rated hotel and wish we had been at Magnolia again. Highly recommend this boutique hotel for a stay in BA. When we go back, we will definitely stay at the Magnolia.

Room Tip: Recommend top floor room for a small family--roof terrace right across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent a week at the Magnolia and found it absolutely charming. The location is about 4 blocks away from the most trendy part of Palermo Soho so it is easy to find interesting shopping, dining, and bars any time of day (which of course starts around noon here). The hotel's location is quiet and with the exception of the occasional sound of cars driving down the street it was silent (our room faced the street). Very safe too with nobody entering or leaving without the staff knowing. The complementary breakfast was very nicely prepared and graciously served - eggs to order, fruits, cereals or cheese, etc. and served until 11am. The soft-spoken concierge gave lots of useful advice and made a real effort to help us plan our trip. He made restaurant reservations, called cabs and booked a tango show for us, which was also fantastic.
The hotel is not a B&B, but rather an old converted house, functioning as a high-end hotel. There isn't fawning service trying to do things that you don't need, but rather helpful service that is constantly available and sincere without being obsequious. The rooftop balcony is also very pleasant in the evenings. Free internet and every evening we found some cookies or alfajores with a note at our bedside wishing us a good night.

The negatives are relatively few: 1. no pool or fitness room, 2. no hot water pot or coffee-maker in the room, 3. a bit overpriced compared to other nearby hotels (but a cut above the others).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restauranttoroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#25 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#11 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Palermo
Own Grand Palermo Soho
Own Grand Palermo Soho
#39 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palo Santo Hotel
Palo Santo Hotel
#14 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Boutique

Property: Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle Julian Alvarez 1746 | Palermo, Buenos Aires C1414DSJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#24 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#41 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Boutique represents a long house tradition of the city. It was built in 1892 and remodeled in order to preserve its essence and architecture, combining antique furniture with contemporary design. We want every guest to feel at home, in a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, enjoying design and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing