We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Ranked #18 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were originally booked into a hotel in the Puerto Madero area for our final night in BA after visiting Iguazu, but we enjoyed the Palermo area so much that we arranged to stay at this wonderful hotel (with the help of the Duque Hotel - our original hotel in BA before Iguazu).

The Magnolia is a very classy stylish boutique hotel in an amazing building in the buzzing Palermo area, although you might miss it as it has a very inconspicuous entrance. Our room was of a good size, with furniture was in keeping with the age of the building, air-con (which is needed at this time of the year!) was very quiet, en-suite was very well appointed and everything was spotlessly clean.

The served (not buffet) breakfast was very tasty and fresh, and the coffee was the best we had in BA and staff were friendly and attentive.

No negatives whatsoever, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 443 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Buenos Aires and also our second visit to Hotel Magnolia.
It is an oasis of calm and peace in a hectic city,but in a very well located area,with bars restaurants etc.
The staff are very polite and helpful (particularly Natalia and Fransisco)and can't do enough to help you and arrange any trips,shows etc.
So thank you to the team at Magnolia and if we are ever again in BA this is where we will stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank paulhumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just got back from a quick tour around Argentina. This hotel certainly met our expectations. There is so much character to this place and attention to detail. We stayed three nights in the Terrace rooms which will not disappoint. You have your own private patio and a lot of privacy as you are the only room on that floor. Argentinians do not eat much for breakfast but this was a quaint breakfast offering: eggs, cheese, meats, fresh OJ, coffee, fruits, sweet pastries and jams/dulce de leche/other spreads. It felt very cozy and the staff was incredible: Francisco and Natalia were so great! They were helpful keeping our luggage even after we had checked out a week after when we were transfering in BA. In addition, Franciso gave us two fab recommendations for nearby eats: La Chosa & Cabernet. PS. La Chosa was one of our fave meals on this trip. We recommend it highly!
Thanks for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Terrace Room for added privacy, own patio and some added luxe! FYI: I would bring my own moisturize...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travelnaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

After finding the rather inconspicuous entrance we were greeted to a magnificent hotel full of charm and warmth. The room was beautifully laid out and the communal areas were immaculate. The hotel is located in the Soho area and within 3 minutes of leaving the room we were surrounded by bars, restaurants and shops.

The breakfast provided was delicious and probably the best breakfast we had on our holiday. We were also greeted with a very satisfactory glass of wine upon arrival and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, they booked us a car to the restaurant (and discussed the quickest route with the driver $20 cheaper on the way there than the way back!), a car to the airport and gave us good advice on where to visit locally.

I would definitely return

Room Tip: We were on the main road and weren't disturbed in the night at all, pleasantly surprised
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Gorgeous hotel with luxurious fittings, a free glass of wine on arrival, lovely bedrooms, nice breakfast and extremely helpful and nice concierge/receptionists (particularly Francisco). Located in Palermo Soho - the trendy area of Buenos Aires and surrounded by nice restaurants and bars. Anyone would struggle to find a fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I had an incedible 3 night stay here in November. The service was really amazing, the staff was incredibly helpful, and the location was perfect. Located in the heart of Palermo, we were walking distance to many great restaurants, parks, and shopping. The subway was a short (10 min.) walk away. We only took cabs at night when we were going to further away restaraunts; otherwise, we walked everywhere (or to the subway) which was great. Our room was small, but perfect for what we needed. The breakfast we great- delicious food and a huge selection. But most of all, I can't say enough good things about the service. Everyone was happy to help and answer any questions or offer recommendations (all of which were perfect). I would highly recommend this place. And the hotel itself is really nice- very cozy and clean and well-decorated. I wish we had gone up on the roofdeck before our last day there because that was great as well. A great find!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hassy614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

As so many other have said too, the Magnolia really does live up to the reviews. We stayed here for four nights during our honeymoon in Argentina and we had a lovely time. The hotel is beautiful, for starters - the lobby and library/lounge area are stylish and charming, and really make great use of the beautiful old BA building it's in. Our room was on the first floor which was very convenient, and had its own private patio - a nice extra touch. We also spent a little time on the rooftop terrace, which is a beautiful setting as well! Our room was lovely, classy, and clean, and the bathroom was very nice as well. I thought water pressure might be an issue in such an old building, but in fact it was really impressive!

Everyone gets a free glass of wine sometime during their stay, and the breakfast was delicious - we stayed elsewhere in BA and Argentina on our trip and this breakfast beat all the others by a long shot. They even made mate for us - not sure we would have gotten to try it if we hadn't stayed there! And the staff was just tremendously friendly, warm, and helpful, making us feel right at home when we arrived late at night from Mendoza, and helping us set up tango show reservations and get tickets for the boat over to Uruguay. The location is just a few streets away from the action in Palermo, but the street is quiet and tree-lined, and there are still cafes (and some very good ice cream) nearby. We felt right at home here and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone or to stay there again - many thanks to everyone at the Magnolia who made our stay special!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#6 of 443 in Buenos Aires
805 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,340 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#3 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,005 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#25 of 443 in Buenos Aires
658 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Julian Alvarez 1746 | Palermo, Buenos Aires C1414DSJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#23 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#41 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $95 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Boutique represents a long house tradition of the city. It was built in 1892 and remodeled in order to preserve its essence and architecture, combining antique furniture with contemporary design. We want every guest to feel at home, in a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, enjoying design and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing