We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Nice Hotel, Affordable, Clean, Friendly 1st Class Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Ranked #38 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel, Affordable, Clean, Friendly 1st Class Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed in 4 and 5 star resorts around the world. This hotel is very nice, clean, upscale at a great price. The staff were unbeatable - friendly and service-oriented. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: really no pool, its a tiny hot tub area in door - very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    305
    42
    14
    6
See reviews for
249
352
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great location. Staff is friendly.and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Good breakfast included with room. Air conditioned as expected ( but now always present in other areas of Argentina )



There is a 200 character minimum per Trip Advisor- so I should have this by now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is very comfortable and in a great location. The staff is incredible. Rooms are very nice. But be aware there is construction next door. This means early morning noise. Very loud from 8am to about 6pm. if you want to sleep late, this may cause a problem.

Room Tip: Three blocks to alvear street and cemetery. Also nice restaurants straight down block by small loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My home away from home for 10 days, this 3 year old 29 room gen was perfection in comfort and service. I was amazed and appreciative how such a small hotel could afford such a professionally competent and caring staff, reponding to my many first time in Argentina visitor requests and even to assist in solving my considerable problems. My billfold, credit card and half of my cash was robbed by a man and woman's con: liquid apparently from a second story balcony hit me and they came from behind to offer tissues and then helped me wipe off the sticky goop from my clothing. After thanking them shortly I realized it was they who had sprayed me from behind and wiped so well that they wiped away my billford. The hotel helped me get the phone number to report the credit card theft, get my clothes cleaned at their expense, and gave me the support to my considerable emotional distress which I as a solo 77 year old traveler I needed. The 50 previous countries I have visited didn't prepare me for this. The rooms are spacious, the mattresses are a perfect half way between hard and soft, the air-heat conditioning responds to the guest's specification, quiet all night, nice breakfast spred, good advice for my city sites and restaurants, good central location in Recoleta from which I walked almost everywhere I went and everyone at the hotel was so very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iowaconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for the first three nights of our month in Buenos Aires. It was a great place to get our bearings for the rest of our stay (we rented an apartment for the rest of the time). It is in a great location close to all that Recoleta offers. We walked everywhere! The staff at the front desk was very helpful and attentive especially to our kids and their needs. We had a room with two queen beds and was spacious enough, but not for longer than 3 days as four of us in that one room got crowded after awhile! The bathroom and bedroom are both lovely and clean.
The only issue we had was the construction going on next door that started early every morning except Sunday and sounded like it was drilling and hammering on the wall above our beds. It was quite loud!
The breakfast is simple and plentiful and the courtyard in the back is a sunny spot to enjoy it.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for families, friends and stays up to about a week in length.

Room Tip: The construction is happening on the right side of the hotel (as facing the front of the hotel) so r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMamaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The HJ Recoleta Boutique Hotel is a really good choice at this nice neighborhood.
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and just did not have a perfect staying, because there is a construction just beside it, that seems/sounds that the constructors are inside your brain, early in a Saturday morning!!!!
By the way, check my ratings:
1) ROOM
- Positive: Big (huge), clean and with modern furniture;
- Negative: A bit dark, too soft mattress and pillows;
2) BATHROOM
- Positive: Clean, good sized and great shower;
- Negative: Tiny space at the shower place;
3) SERVICE
- Positive: Friendly staff;
- Negative: They can just call for one specific cab company, that is the most expensive one in BA, and they do not tell you that… I just realized it when I ask for a taxi to go to the airport and the front desk guy said it would cost me AR$250,00!!! I paid AR$170,00 (with tips) to a cab I chose just in front of the hotel!!!
4) OVERALL
I would go back to this hotel, but first I would certify myself about the construction besides it and if there is a room that do not take all that noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank João L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have mixed feelings about our stay in the Howard Johnson. The triple room was clean and spacious, and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. There was a reasonable selection available for the buffet breakfast although the restaurant is rather pokey. The hotel has a Jacuzzi and steam room (which had an out of order notice on it during the whole of our seven-day stay).

Unfortunately extremely noisy construction work was taking place next door, where apartments are being built. I realise this was outside the control of the hotel, but the noise started some mornings at 8am (not 9am claimed by the hotel) and continued until 6pm. Not necessarily a problem if you're planning to breakfast early and be out of the hotel all day but not very conducive to a relaxing break! Our room was supposed to be furthest away from the work but it made no difference, the noise affected the whole hotel.

I feel the hotel should have offered discount rates for the period of disruption. Some might think why should they take the hit for something outside of their control, but I’m tempted to think the hit taken through loss of business is far greater. Not many guests would be happy paying full rate to stay at an extremely noisy hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta
#54 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#31 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#61 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#66 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Address: Calle Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#79 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta, strategically located in one of the most exclusive areas of Buenos Aires, is only few minutes away from the financial district and the most prestigious cultural, commercial and entertainment attractions with easy access to Buenos Aires domestic and international airports. More than a hotel it is a philosophy in which each guest is our focus and their needs are anticipated and satisfied in the most personalised and professional way. A unique experience centred on excellence and quality service, which will make your stay memorable. Designed and equipped with the highest technology and with the most refined selection of facilities and details to offer the most pleasant, comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing