We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay at Recoleta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Ranked #39 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
RJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay at Recoleta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and son for the night before going back home. Very clean, confortable beds, good breakfast (bread, sweets, eggs, fruits, juices and coffee/milk). Just five blocks from Recoleta Mall, close to the Cemetery where Evita was buried. There is a nice "plaza" where you find Church of Nss. Sra.Del Pilar and Centro Cultural Recoleta. On sundays, there is a street fair where you can find local presents made of leather and local food (parrilada - smell and taste fantastic). Also, there is a Information Center at the "plaza" where you can buy tickets for the Buenos Aires Bus Tour (www.buenosairesbus.com.ar).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiodeJaneiroCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    312
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
258
355
36
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and my self stayed at the HJ hotel for 8 nights. The hotel location at the nice area of Recoleta is best to get easy every where in the city. There are good restaurants on Penia st. and the hotel is a short walk to Santa Fe Av. and to Recoleta mall and famous cemetery.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and all ways with a smile.
Breakfast is OK and the room was great . We will defiantly recommend it.
Dani & Tali Fesler, Israel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danif63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great room, helpful staff, great location. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed twice on a recent trip to South America (on arriving and then again leaving). First room was next to the construction which was noisy during the day but didn't start too early or finish late. As we were jet lagged even managed to sleep through it at 1pm!! Given our room earlier than standard check in because our flight arrived in the morning and we just wanted to get some rest. Monica on reception was amazing. Very good with giving information about the area, safety and helping two obviously shattered guests. Breakfast was a good spread for a small buffet, and you could get boiled eggs and omelettes if you asked. Great supply of teas, which was appreciated by someone who is caffeine free. Vouchers supplied for a welcome drink of wine, beer or coffee from the bar. Room was superb. Two large double beds (obviously American chain) and a coffee machine. View was rubbish but we wanted to experience BA not just look at it so it didn't bother us. Wifi in room was a bonus. The swimming pool is more of a splash spa and we never found the sauna on - the only downside to the hotel (apart from the temporary construction next door). It was an ideal base for visiting all of BA and we walked most of it. Never felt unsafe but then we aren't late eaters and were usually tucked up in bed by 11pm! We enjoyed it so much (and appreciated the coffee machine and sofa in the room so much) that we booked to stay 2 months later after travelling around South America. The hotel offered to arrange a driver to pick us up at the airport, which was no more expensive than sorting one out on arrival and took away the hassle. This time we asked for a room away from the construction but it didn't make the noise during the day any less. Our room was at the back of the building this time and not the street, but otherwise similar. Again arrived early as our incoming flight arrived at the airport at about 9.30am, and our room was ready for us with no extra charges.
I would definitely visit this hotel again. It was clean, comfortable and had the advantage of excellent staff - all very helpful and knowledgeable without trying to push trips or money earning extras. Without the construction and with the sauna working I would have given it an excellent review

Room Tip: Away from construction. Jacuzzi rooms have sofas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have been in this hotel multiple times, Excellent staff.. Amenities and location. Few things are just 'WoW' when you have not really expected it .. Overall very nice place and very relaxing ambience too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was really disappointed to hear the drills as I arrived into the lobby. Clearly they have had a lot of complaints as straight away (as we were checking in) she said essentially, next door is knocking down the building, there is noise from 9.30-6, all rooms are similarly affected by noise so changing your room won't make a different. At that point, had I not pre-paid with Agoda, I would have gone...

The drilling, hammering, welding, noise of falling rubble was extensive. There was no way that you could sleep through it. We had wanted to relax in the room before leaving to sightsee but it was stressful just being around that level of noise. No chance of a siesta!

Other than that... Bathroom was great - spacious, powerful & hot shower etc etc. Room was fine, quite an executive type room, spacious.

I didn't get the point of 2 queen beds, all I wanted was a double! I don't know whether they had just sold out when I booked, but that was all that was available.

The hotel felt a little lacking in personality.

The staff were lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannahhanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one day with my best friend on the tail end of our trip to Argentina. The location in Recolata was nice, but having stayed in Palermo Soho at the beginning of our trip, we preferred the Palermo Soho area (we are two women in our early 30s who loved the shopping and restaurant access in Soho).

Having said that, this hotel was very clean and our room was spacious with two queen beds. The bathroom was nice with good water pressure and warm water. The front desk staff was great and attentive. Wifi had a good, strong signal. We had an early morning flight to catch, and the kitchen staff made us an early breakfast of coffee, muffins and fruit - very nice!

I really can't complain about this hotel, other than the location preference. If you prefer the Recoleta area, then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayazteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#61 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#121 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#56 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta
#46 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Address: Calle Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#79 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta, strategically located in one of the most exclusive areas of Buenos Aires, is only few minutes away from the financial district and the most prestigious cultural, commercial and entertainment attractions with easy access to Buenos Aires domestic and international airports. More than a hotel it is a philosophy in which each guest is our focus and their needs are anticipated and satisfied in the most personalised and professional way. A unique experience centred on excellence and quality service, which will make your stay memorable. Designed and equipped with the highest technology and with the most refined selection of facilities and details to offer the most pleasant, comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing