We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #52 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The facilities are modern and stylish, very relaxing vibe, practical common areas such as the pool and TV area. WIFI did work while we were there but mainly around the common areas. Staff was helpful thought needs to get a bit more informed about the city and things to do.

Rooms are simple, but really clean. Bathrooms are also clean, we had our own private bathroom as I understand all rooms have.

The breakfast was more than I expected, similar to a continental breakfast.

Definitively a place to go back to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here a few times. The staff are great, the food is awesome, the air-conditioning is just right and the pool really helps to beat the summer heat. the living room with a nice big t.v. and internet is very comfortable and the beds are really comfy and have nice white linen. Careful though, remember it is still a hostel. You will hear some of the noise and the guests are younger and stay up later, but you can't beat it for the price. Great restaurants and pubs nearby too if you want to get out.......Hopefully they can maintain their customer service level....

Room Tip: Pay the few dollars extra for the private room if you are a couple.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canucktravelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

As most travellers have noted, this isn't the place to stay if you want five star or even three star comforts. This is a hostel at the end of the day.

The facilities they have means they can very easily convert it to a three star hotel with not much further investment, but they prefer to run it as a hostel. As a consequence the customer service and the atmosphere can leave a bit to be desired at the time, but for the price we paid for a double room with en-suite and breakfast, we don't have any real complaints.

Plus the location is very good and quite central in San Telmo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Noisy unclean hostel. I was overcharged by the rude reception staff and then they refused to refund the difference. When i challanged the bill (once they had billed my credit card)They claimed some other people we had been hanging out with in the hostel hadn't paid their bill and we had to pay it because we had been associating with them. A ridiculous situation, why didn't they make us pay for everyone in the entire hostel because we had been in the same city as them? Totally unacceptable in my opinion. The manager on duty fufused to engage with our compliant and ignored us. I'm sorry but it was outright theft. The Only reason we let them get away with such a rip off was because we had to make an international flight.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kaituna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went here based on reviews on Tripadvisor for reasonable price hotel in San Telmo. I was a bit disappointed I had to sit around for nearly 3 hours, till after 3 pm, to check in, but maybe this is normal? No TV or phone in the room, which was small. And noisy, yo ucan hear the next rooms quite easily. Very clean though, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I think there must be somewhere else better for USD70 (for Saturday, normally USD60), but maybe this is the best you can get in BA for that price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelvinPassfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This place is great. There is a pool, a pool table and a bar. Staff during my week-long stay was great (although those staff members were temporal). It's located in San Telmo, a place were not many other hostels are located. However, it's a great area to explore. Non touristic, many wine bars and restaurants on almost every corner. 10 min walk from Puente de la Mujer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Circus is a fitting name for this hotel. My friends and I entered to a clean and friendly hotel when we arrived with completely competent desk staff. By that night, though, my friends and I found ourselves faced with an incompetent and unhelpful desk staff member.

At breakfast we found ourselves facing dirty tables that took what felt like a lifetime to clean and a counter full of bread products. The minute anything slightly healthy was placed on the counter- think oranges or bananas- other guests swooped down like hungry pigeons and the food was gone within seconds.

The most frustrating part of the stay was, again, in two parts. We had left our towels in the shower in the morning, as requested by the hotel, in order to have clean towels placed in the room. We returned to a clean room and the same dirty towels lying exactly where we had left them in the shower. When we informed the front desk we received a shoulder shrug as our answer to getting new towels. Thankfully I have a pretty adamant friend wouldn't take a shoulder shrug as an answer and she got new towels for us.

The final morning, when a taxi was picking us up at 7:30, found us scrounging around in our pockets for every lose centamo we had. The credit card machine had "broken" the night before (questionable since my adamant friend had seen someone using it that night) and we suddenly had to pay in cash. They refused to write down our credit card information or do an old-school swipe of it and charge us later. We had to pay full in cash as our cab waited for us to take us to the airport. Thank goodness I had taken money out of the bank machine the previous day. Otherwise, I wouldn't have been able to pay my bill and lend my friend money.

Would I stay at the Circus again? No, it's not worth the frustration, poor service, dirty towels, or plate of bread for breakfast. San Telmo's great, but the Circus isn't.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DTWKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#142 of 443 in Buenos Aires
569 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#123 of 443 in Buenos Aires
2,427 reviews
Hostel Sol
#342 of 443 in Buenos Aires
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#166 of 443 in Buenos Aires
505 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#231 of 443 in Buenos Aires
140 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#61 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circus Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Hostel & Hotel

Address: Chacabuco 1020 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1069AAV, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#61 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#95 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $14 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Circus Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of San Telmo - Buenos Aires, Circus Hostel & Hotel offers a very good combination of price and quality of service, both for the hotel traveler and for the hostel traveler. Our rooms were created so you can get a good rest without losing the desire to go out and walk, for that reason have no TV or telephone. You can choose the option with Continental breakfast that is served every morning. Daily activities organized by the hotel to discover and enjoy Bueno Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Circus Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Buenos Aires
Circus Hostel And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing