We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
12
25
29
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
25
29
7
12
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 85 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2017

Let's start with the positives - it is located in a perfect place in the heart of San Telmo area and it has a nice patio where you can relax when the weather is nice. That would be it.
Now the negatives. First of all, they are not completely honest about the prices. We booked them via booking.com where the prices are in dollars. We wanted to pay in Argebtinian pesos but the hotel applied their own exchange rate against the rules of Booking.com (no idea where they took it from)and refused to explain on what the calculation was based. We had to complain at booking.com and the following day Bolivar had to refund us the money. Then, the staff (apart from maybe one receptionist) seemed bored and indifferent (not to say rude). The rooms were stuffy, dark and they didn't even provide towels which should be a basic thing if you aspire to call yourself a "hotel". The breakfast was also very poor - only bread and orange jam, that's all they provide in terms of food. They also have a kitchen with a gas cook but there is barely no cooking equipment. When we wanted to boil some water there was even no lighter or matches to use the gas cook...And the receptionist didn't see any problem about it. So basically, to sum up - if you have a choice, avoid this place. And if you have to spend some time there, don't hesitate to fight for your rights regarding the exchange rate.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ewenezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017

Location in San Telmo is ideal. A late 19th Century construction built around two interior courtyards, it's surprisingly quiet inside. Rooftop terrace. Brewed coffee-rolls-powdered juice breakfast. Veteran hostelers will not be surprised by the kitchen; poorly lit, poorly equipped. There's no concierge as such, so save your questions for English-speaking day manager Juan, who knows most everything about the area and will find out when he doesn't. Front desk staff is otherwise female, one of whom answers most questions quickly and confidently but incorrectly. This is apparently a thing in Buenos Aires generally, a city reportedly with the world's highest per capita supply of psychologists.

Room Tip: Rooms around the deeper interior courtyard are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank novato1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

The good things first:
- great location
- affordable
- staff speak some English
- breakfast is included (tea/coffee with toast and jam) and you can get a top up
- our room (we stayed in a private double) was clean
- got a free yoga lesson
- not very crowded

The negatives:
- very, very loud at night, depending on where your room is
- bathrooms were old and mouldy; they were cleaned daily but still had cockroaches one day
- the kitchen isn't well equipped and very dark so you need a torch to cook anything
- kitchen looked like it hasn't been cleaned in a while

It's good value for money though and the staff were friendly.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We were shown 3 rooms all of which had visible lumpy mould on the walls, so clearly not recent, but of long standing. They are unpleasant & are a health hazzard to anyone, but especially someone with breathing problems. The doors did not close securely. There were no lampshades in our room. The sheets didn't fit the bed, so when we woke up we were sleeping on a bare well used mattress. The bathroom was also damp & in a poor state of repair. This hotel if you can call it that, as it is more like a hostel, is badly in need of complete renovation or at least some up to date pictures, so you know what you are getting.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAMMY1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Extremely good value for money. I like these kind of hotels: high ceilings, a few patios, an old building, wooden floors etc. The wifi in my room (nr 21) was only working just behind the door, but elsewhere in the building it worked fine. The breakfast is very simple, but it's a wonder that they give you breakfast for this money! This hotel is situated in a very nice and safe neighborhood. The guys behind the desk are very friendly and will answer all your questons about transport, safety, shops, restaurants etc. The only disadvantage is the nosiy street in front of the building. The doors of the room don't close very good, so you need earplugs do have a good rest....

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the street do have a balcony, but are noisy at night!
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews