We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Ranked #172 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at "the Raco" for 6 nights. We could not have been treated better at a 5 star... Thanks to Julian, the owner, and Natalie and Virginia on the front desk for helping us with everything. This 1904 charming old hotel is terrific and has been lovingly restored, renovated, and updated. It is away from the usual tourist areas, and we enjoyed it more because of that. It is an ordinary neighbourhood with regular people living and working. There is a beautiful old Basilica just a block away - all restored and gorgeous inside - with a carillon that sounds the hours during the day weekdays, and plays tunes on Sunday.

The neighbourhood is very safe to walk, and the Subte station is 2 1/2 blocks away. We used the Subte for almost everywhere we wanted to go, and the price was 3.50 pesos one way. Cheap!
.
We had the first room on the main floor. It was very convenient and had no stairs to climb. The room was large enough, with a comfortable queen bed, desk and 2 chairs, 2 bedside tables and lots of shelves. There even was a luggage rack. We had been on a long trip and had 4 suitcases and lots of stuff, but there was plenty of room for everything. Julian brought us a safe into the room for our money and valuables. Safes are not in the room ordinarily, so we had to ask for one. It was quite hot when we were in Buenos Aires with temperatures during the day rising to 30 C, but the air-conditioning unit worked very well and we were comfortable. Also with the A/C running the room was not damp at all.

Unfortunately, the bathroom was a bit small with only a tiny 3" glass shelf under the mirror which was not secured well and leaned forward, so it was impossible to put anything on it without sliding off. There were no other shelves. The toilet top was not flat either, so there was no place to put our toiletries. Oddly there was also a bidet, which took up space that could have been used for something else. But oh well.... we managed.

The shower had no curtain just a Plexiglas partition for about 2' at one end,, so it was impossible to shower without water getting all over the bathroom. There was one hook but it was in the shower stall so we couldn't leave our towels there. No other hooks or shelves were in the bathroom. . And the cleaning lady gave us 2 fresh bath towels, 1 small towel and a bathmat daily - we needed them to replace our wet ones.

The rooms on the upper level looked somewhat larger and had bigger bathrooms, but had the same silly arrangement with no curtain for the shower. However, we managed just fine once we learned NOT to turn the water in the shower on full - just to have a little bit flowing, enough to get our body wet. This reduced the amount of water splashing out into the bathroom and all over the floor somewhat.

We had prepaid the room including the breakfast by Paypal so as to not have to carry mega bucks in $US on our long trip. (As you will discover every hotel and B&B in Argentina requires payment in $US, because their peso is in freefall and who knows what it will be worth next week!)

The included breakfast was juice, yogurt and fruit, toast or bread, butter and jam, and tea or coffee. My husband was told that it was 20 pesos more if he wanted eggs, but he always likes eggs so he ordered scrambled eggs daily. We were also offered a ham and cheese sandwich, but I tried it and didn't care for it. However, the yogurt was great, and some days I ate 2 small containers. Breakfast was served at small tables for 2 in the courtyard.

Others have mentioned Las Violettas restaurant - we were there twice. It was packed with families on Sunday so we had to wait a bit for a table. Sat and Sun they offer their special platters with sandwiches and cakes. Weekdays it is quieter and no problem to get a table.They also have a bakery shop attached where you can buy treats to take away. But we discovered that across from the Basilica around the corner is Don Bosco restaurant - just a local eatery and nothing fancy, but their pizzas are wonderful. We were there twice, and once we ordered in from them also.

Part way through our stay in BsAs we were downtown not far from the Cathedral when I was splattered all over my head, my clothes and my purse with pigeon poop by 2 women who were standing in the street. They were pickpockets. This is a common occurrence in BsAs - by this means of distraction they try to get at tourists' money by rushing over and pretending to help by brushing off the muck. Having been warned about this practice, I knew enough to step away from them quickly, and even though I could barely see through all the splatter on my glasses, I threatened to hit them with my cane! They ran away when my husband came closer. However, I didn't lose anything. We however had to return to the hotel so I could shower and change. This wasted a morning when we could have been sight seeing, and I was very angry about that.

But the hotel washed my clothes and didn't charge us, when I told them what had happened. And into the bargain, I received a nice glass of wine free, and they didn't charge for the eggs that my husband ate when we went to check out.

In conclusion, we would definitely stay here again. Yes, it is a bit farther out, but everything is accessible by Subte, and you will be hard pressed to find a staff more kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    126
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
341
67
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This lovely hotel is in a quiet, very pleasant suburb some way from the city centre. However, there is a metro station two blocks away, and the metro is quick, clean, safe and cheap. Next to the metro is a wonderful café called Violeta, ideal for breakfast, tea or early dinner.
Rooms in the Raco are stylish, large (by European hotel standards) and well appointed. The hotel is really quiet at night, and the beds very comfortable.
The staff are excellent, always interested in your plans, and how your day has gone, and prepared to put themselves out for you. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmurdock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltaville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Loved our stay at this hotel. We took a family vacation to Buenos Aires, me with my father and mother, and had a great time in the city, but also loved this hotel. Breakfast was the perfect amount of food, the staff was always attentive and very nice, and the room was always clean. The hotel decor was fun and interesting, funky and comfortable. From the outside, you wouldn't even have known it was a hotel, which just made you feel more immersed in to the city itself. the neighborhood Racor is in was a great location, close to everything we wanted to see, but a little off the beaten path so it was quiet, and it was a safe area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 8 nights in the hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel staff is very engaged and carrying about the guests, Our room on the first floor very quiet e abolutely clean. Maybe a frigobar could be useful. The breakfeast is fresh and delicous but because we wanted to discover the area, we went often outside to test other bars/restaurants. The location is very good, safe and also quiet. You'll find many restaurants in a 15min walk around. The undergrond 'subte' is 5 min by feet and leads to all important areas. Taxi is about 30 pesos to Palermo, a famous quater for shopping and buying nice gifts. We'll return for sure.

Room Tip: room number 11 is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerndNes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a great stay at Raco de Buenos Aires. The staff is friendly and helpful and they all speak English very well. The building has been remodeled as a hotel and it is true to its architecture of early twentieth century. Marble stairs and beautiful old doors. The patio is quiet and pretty. It was quite hot so we didn't use it much. The air conditioning in our room and elsewhere in the hotel worked very well. We had an upstairs room with a balcony. Well worth the extra money. We enjoyed the neighborhood and went to Boeda Ave. for dinner a couple of times. We enjoyed Cafe Margot. We also enjoyed Las Violettas for drinks, coffee, and high tea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmgray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilia, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed there in August with my husband for 5 days. It's a small hotel, kind of far from the city center, but just what we needed. The room is spacious, the AC works perfectly, the shower is great. The staff is very polite and helpfull and extremely honest! I would definetly stay there again and recommed to all my friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahdri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

While a little strange that the hotel is identified by nothing more than an address, don't let the lack of exterior flash dissuade your booking this hotel. The staff greeted us warmly at the door even though it was nearly midnight. They hauled our bags to the room while we checked in and made us feel as though we were at our home away from home.
The modernized 1904 building was classic on the outside and classically modern inside.
The hotel is a little out of the way and requires a bit of courage in braving the Subte (Subway), but it is a mere three short blocks from the Carlos Barros station, right by the Violettes restaurant recommended by the staff for a traditional Buenos Aries breakfast; we started our day here. The subway provided access to large swaths of the city and was cheap; those places a little out of the way,catch a taxi.
Along with a great room, the staff offered some interesting and unusual sights, for instance the largest bookstore in town; its an old theater with the books lining the balconies; a great stop for the bibliophile.
I have already recommending the Raco to friends who might go to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy_Stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#62 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,217 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#116 of 447 in Buenos Aires
2,364 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#57 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palermo Place by P Hotels
Palermo Place by P Hotels
#66 of 447 in Buenos Aires
492 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#132 of 447 in Buenos Aires
549 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#83 of 447 in Buenos Aires
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires

Property: Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Yapeyu 271, Buenos Aires C1202ACE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in boutique hotel subject, located in the heart of Buenos Aires, Racó de Buenos Aires offers a new vision in luxury and comfort matters when traveling and staying in our city. At only 200 meters from the subway station and only 10 minutes from areas like Palermo, San Telmo, Recoleta and Puerto Madero, our boutique hotel will be your starting point for your activities in the most European city of Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing