We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good cost/benefit hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Ranked #172 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good cost/benefit hotel”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 8 nights in the hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel staff is very engaged and carrying about the guests, Our room on the first floor very quiet e abolutely clean. Maybe a frigobar could be useful. The breakfeast is fresh and delicous but because we wanted to discover the area, we went often outside to test other bars/restaurants. The location is very good, safe and also quiet. You'll find many restaurants in a 15min walk around. The undergrond 'subte' is 5 min by feet and leads to all important areas. Taxi is about 30 pesos to Palermo, a famous quater for shopping and buying nice gifts. We'll return for sure.

Room Tip: room number 11 is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerndNes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    126
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
341
67
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kula, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a great stay at Raco de Buenos Aires. The staff is friendly and helpful and they all speak English very well. The building has been remodeled as a hotel and it is true to its architecture of early twentieth century. Marble stairs and beautiful old doors. The patio is quiet and pretty. It was quite hot so we didn't use it much. The air conditioning in our room and elsewhere in the hotel worked very well. We had an upstairs room with a balcony. Well worth the extra money. We enjoyed the neighborhood and went to Boeda Ave. for dinner a couple of times. We enjoyed Cafe Margot. We also enjoyed Las Violettas for drinks, coffee, and high tea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmgray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilia, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed there in August with my husband for 5 days. It's a small hotel, kind of far from the city center, but just what we needed. The room is spacious, the AC works perfectly, the shower is great. The staff is very polite and helpfull and extremely honest! I would definetly stay there again and recommed to all my friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahdri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

While a little strange that the hotel is identified by nothing more than an address, don't let the lack of exterior flash dissuade your booking this hotel. The staff greeted us warmly at the door even though it was nearly midnight. They hauled our bags to the room while we checked in and made us feel as though we were at our home away from home.
The modernized 1904 building was classic on the outside and classically modern inside.
The hotel is a little out of the way and requires a bit of courage in braving the Subte (Subway), but it is a mere three short blocks from the Carlos Barros station, right by the Violettes restaurant recommended by the staff for a traditional Buenos Aries breakfast; we started our day here. The subway provided access to large swaths of the city and was cheap; those places a little out of the way,catch a taxi.
Along with a great room, the staff offered some interesting and unusual sights, for instance the largest bookstore in town; its an old theater with the books lining the balconies; a great stop for the bibliophile.
I have already recommending the Raco to friends who might go to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy_Stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Warmly welcomed on my arrival and my room was awaiting. The front desk staff provided maps, advice, directions, and dining suggestions. The room was large and comfortable with an up to date/new bathroom. Although breakfast was not included in my room rate, after i offered to pay, it was provided and then delivered on a tray to the lovely courtyard. It was a peaceful way to start the day and much appreciated. A few blocks walk takes you a lively avenue of shops and dining options. The Saturday afternoon of my arrival, a local school was having an activity and so many parents and school children were about. International clientele at the hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on an upper floor although it was nice to have a room just steps away from the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdi2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It's true that this location is a little out of the way. But if you are willing to take the subway (which you should), this is very close to the station. There is about a three block walk from the station to the hotel but the walk is not a big deal. A couple of other reviews will note that the area can be sketchy at night and while it's true that it's a little rough I wouldn't call it dangerous. You will see a homeless person or two on several other streets in BA.

The staff here is absolutely fantastic! They will give you great advice on how to visit the key sites and which local restaurants to visit. They speak excellent English and will help you with whatever you need. It's clear that they take a personal interest in your stay and want you to have a very positive experience.

The breakfast is not luxurious but it is more than what you would expect given the very reasonable daily rate for room and board. There's a great breakfast cafe and sweet shop not far if you want a different breakfast. It's a MUST visit.

The rooms are very nice and have a fair amount of character. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was excellent and since we had recently emerged from Bolivia it was particularly important to us.

You will definitely enjoy your stay here. It's a five star property but the distance away from the sites pulls it just below five stars for me. But, I would definitely definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Based on excellent TripAdvisor reviews, my wife and I recently spent nearly two weeks at this hotel. On a protracted campaign to spend our kid’s inheritance, we have stayed in many dozens of hotels and B&B’s (especially in Europe). In comparison with all of these accommodations, the staff of the Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires clearly deserves our rating as the best (#1). We are particularly appreciative of the warm, friendly and most helpful advice of Natalie and Virginia. This is a very ‘cool’ hotel with great (comfortable) rooms, a beautiful courtyard (where you can have breakfast) and a classic building from the early 1900’s. A short walk from the hotel is the metro (subway) stop ‘Castro Barros’ providing trains that whisk you to city center. If you are looking for a small quaint boutique hotel at a great price with a superb staff and outstanding ambience, then do yourself a favor and book a room here. If this type of accommodation suits your preference, I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor room highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moongok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#62 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,218 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#116 of 447 in Buenos Aires
2,364 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#57 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palermo Place by P Hotels
Palermo Place by P Hotels
#66 of 447 in Buenos Aires
492 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#132 of 447 in Buenos Aires
549 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#83 of 447 in Buenos Aires
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires

Property: Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Yapeyu 271, Buenos Aires C1202ACE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in boutique hotel subject, located in the heart of Buenos Aires, Racó de Buenos Aires offers a new vision in luxury and comfort matters when traveling and staying in our city. At only 200 meters from the subway station and only 10 minutes from areas like Palermo, San Telmo, Recoleta and Puerto Madero, our boutique hotel will be your starting point for your activities in the most European city of Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing