We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in calm neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Ranked #159 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at Raco for five nights and got a beautiful room facing the courtyard, where you can have breakfast served in the morning.

The area is mainly residential, so it’s really calm and pleasant to walk around. There is a huge park nearby where I went for a jog every morning, and very good quality restaurants within a few blocks. The staff gave me directions for the subway (blue line) and buses, to get to the hot spots in less than 20 minutes.

Great value for your money. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinDanTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 630 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have just returned from Buenos Aires. I was lucky: a friend's apartment where I had been invited lost its hot water for baths and central heating, so the father of my goddaughter found Boutique Racó, and I spent several delightful days there. The owner's family had an antique 1900 house in a very nice neighborhood, and he updated it keeping the unique, elegant, attractive old elegance, and offering comfort and cleanliness and quality. The rooms are large, comfortable, with ample space to place your clothes, an up-to-date complete bathroom, linen of top quality, and even if you look at the photos in their Internet description, the reality is that you are in a palatial place, PLUS the fact that you are going to be treated royally. The Racó is family run, and the employees are young girls and boys (all around 21 years old) who are University students, speak excellent English and are up-to-date in classical knowledge of what is offered in BsAs (abbreviation for Buenos Aires). Young lady Andrea will converse with you about great European writers, philosophers and poets. Then get ready for the Breakfast! You can have it in a couple of places, but I recommend it downstairs. You will be offered superb coffee, excellent milk (all kept super-hot), a selection of the famous "medialunas" (Argentine croissants, probable the best in the world), toasted sandwiches ("tostados"), excellent fruits in an elegant glass ("macedonia de frutas"?) plus delicious yogurt, and .... as you enjoy that, delightful Vanessa (owner's wife) will offer you "more and more". Unbelievable but true! A couple of blocks to Avenida Rivadavia you will find a turn-of-the-century "Las Violetas" confitería, which will bring you back to the 1900's. To summarize: Beyond 5-Stars in elegance, personal treatment, and .... unforgettable!

Room Tip: I believe there are only 16 or 19 rooms, and I also believe that they are similar, but you could ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Raco is a real Gem. Tucked in a calm & very safe area of town 10m walk from the tube which takes you directly into Plaza de Majo, this is simply what you call a boutique hotel. Full of character, friendly, young and helpful staff. Definitely hits the "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranmer108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at Raco for five nights and got a beautiful room facing the courtyard, where you can have breakfast served in the morning.
The area is mainly residential, so it’s really calm and pleasant to walk around. There is a huge park nearby where I went for a jog every morning, and very good quality restaurants within a few blocks. The staff gave me directions for the subway (blue line) and buses, to get to the hot spots in less than 20 minutes.
Great value for your money. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel full of character in a traditional buenos aires building. Friendly and helpful staff. Only downside is its a little bit out of the way for central buenos aires and Palermo soho. Highly recomended

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillhead37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had read lots about this hotel, and it certainly didn’t disappoint. Raco is a small, charming place, located off the buzz of downtown, which was exactly what we were looking for. We are light sleepers, and Raco provided a quiet and calm atmosphere in a residential area, where we felt completely safe.

When we needed to get to the “micro-center”, we just hopped on the subway and got there after a 10 min ride.

You should definitely ask the lovely staff at the front desk for tips on where to eat and shop! They gave the most wonderful advice, and we ended up having dinner close to the hotel every night.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaixo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We´ve been twice to BA and the second time we decided to stay at Raco. We wanted something different from our first visit and were really into tasting the local flavor of the “capital portena”. This place was great for doing so, since it is located in a residential neighborhood, right in the center of the city. It was quite easy for us to access all main interesting points and we could get to the downtown area by subway in just 10´.

Front desk people were extremely helpful and they all spoke excellent English.

If I ever go to Buenos Aires again, no doubt this lovely antique hotel will be my first option!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 34352LadyNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenos Aires
Tribeca Studios
#256 of 442 in Buenos Aires
84 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#42 of 442 in Buenos Aires
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Lennox Hotel Buenos Aires
Lennox Hotel Buenos Aires
#64 of 442 in Buenos Aires
999 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#62 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Yapeyu 271, Buenos Aires C1202ACE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $67 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in boutique hotel subject, located in the heart of Buenos Aires, Racó de Buenos Aires offers a new vision in luxury and comfort matters when traveling and staying in our city. At only 200 meters from the subway station and only 10 minutes from areas like Palermo, San Telmo, Recoleta and Puerto Madero, our boutique hotel will be your starting point for your activities in the most European city of Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing