We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa SaltShaker

Casa SaltShaker
Ranked #77 of 4,733 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Recoleta
Description: Welcome to Casa SaltShaker. We offer a unique dining experience, sharing a table with other guests at our home in Barrio Norte. The setting is casual and the conversation lively. Our food is eclectic with a Mediterranean base. It's all about meeting new friends over good food and wine.Bienvenidos a Casa SaltShaker (Salero). Ofrecemos una experiencia gastronómica única, compartiendo una mesa con otros comensales en nuestra casa de Barrio Norte. El ambiente es informal y la conversación animada. Nuestra cocina es ecléctica con una base mediteránea. Se trata de conocer nuevos amigos y sobre todo de gustar buena comida y buen vino.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went with four friends. We all pretty much loved all but one of the courses, and really enjoyed meeting Dan and the other guests (unfortunately, two of them were somewhat excluded by the language barrier, but the rest of us had a really nice conversation). Would absolutely go back if I return to Buenos Aires.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    93
    23
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Food with a tired Host”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

What to say about Casa SaltShaker? I've been to about 20 of these Supper Clubs in various countries and felt disappointed with my experience here. Whilst the food was good, and the wine also enjoyable, I often felt awkward. The people around the table were friendly and nice, and we had a good time with them but at no point did i ever feel 'welcomed' by the host. Any questions asked were mentioned with one word answers and I genuinely felt that he couldn't wait to get us out the door. I expect when you do this kind of thing four or five times a week, and for several years, there are always some off nights when the host feels jaded, and tonight felt like one of them. On leaving, most of the guests went for a drink together and they all felt the same so it wasn't just me. The reviews have generally been excellent so maybe it was one of these off nights but disappointing all the same. Three stars for the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank El-PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the food and the other guests. Our apologies if one or both of us came across as tired, we don't recall the evening in the same light, but guest perception is all important. Sometimes an off-night happens or one of us says (or, it sounds like, doesn't say) something that diminishes the experience, but if we were truly feeling as jaded as you describe, we'd simply close up shop for a week or two, it's one of the benefits of the style of place we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our first closed-door restaurant experience turned out to be amazing. Food was great and elaborate, of quality you find in high standard restaurant, but with this special home-made flavour that makes all the difference. Quantities were average, but that's a plus: in a 5-course meal of such taste, you really want to finish everything to the last crumb. I found the menu original and creative (seafood mousseline is NOT something you'll find in a random restaurant in BA). Wines were accordingly selected and an interesting discovery of Argentinian wines.
The atmosphere was really welcoming and you instantly feel at home and like the other guests here are long-time friends. Obviously you don't get to choose who you'll end up with for the evening, so you just depend on good (or bad) luck.
This is a good chance to exchange ideas, thoughts and tips with tourists about BA, but on the other hand I didn't really feel I was in a typical Argentinian restaurant (Dan also strives on cooking dishes very different from what you get in a standard restaurant in Buenos Aires), you really feel in an isolated bubble. This is obviously not a bad or good comment, it really depends on what you're looking for.
Service is both quiet and very effective, and only reminds you from time to time that no, you're not at home, you're in a real restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Happy to hear that as your first, we made the experience a great one. Thank you for joining us and helping make the magic happen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our party of four all enjoyed our first ever closed door dining experience. Dan and Henry were great hosts and prepared an exquisite menu. The potato causa we started with was excellent and the fish main course was cooked and flavoured to perfection. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEFlyerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
No, thank you, for making it all possible by joining us at the table. Exquisite? A favorite adjective and thanks for applying it to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A welcome, and welcoming treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

There is something very comforting and grounding about being welcomed into someone's home when you're in a huge and vibrant city that you don't know well. Add to that a fabulous meal and it becomes an evening that marks the moment when you begin to feel at home in Buenos Aires.
Dan prepared a menu that was both interesting and delicious (a special nod to the outstanding seafood mousseline.) The wines paired with each course complemented the dish perfectly. Although it should be said that four glasses of wine into the meal, some level of discernment may have been compromised.
An unexpected bonus of the evening was trading BA experience with other travellers. We found a jazz club, an small french bistro complete with surly owner,an excellent breakfast cafe, and most important of all, where to buy the bus pass that had been eluding us for two weeks.
Thanks to Dan and Henry for creating this very special experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Glad you enjoyed and happy that we're going to be seeing you again soon! I have to find out where the French bistro with the surly owner is, I missed that part of the conversation. Tahnks for making the evening a success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa SaltShaker also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Capital Federal District, Argentina
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Casa SaltShaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing