We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must do if you are in Buenos Aires”
Review of Casa SaltShaker

Casa SaltShaker
Ranked #99 of 4,847 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Recoleta
Description: Welcome to Casa SaltShaker. We offer a unique dining experience, sharing a table with other guests at our home in Barrio Norte. The setting is casual and the conversation lively. Our food is eclectic with a Mediterranean base. It's all about meeting new friends over good food and wine.Bienvenidos a Casa SaltShaker (Salero). Ofrecemos una experiencia gastronómica única, compartiendo una mesa con otros comensales en nuestra casa de Barrio Norte. El ambiente es informal y la conversación animada. Nuestra cocina es ecléctica con una base mediteránea. Se trata de conocer nuevos amigos y sobre todo de gustar buena comida y buen vino.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a must do if you are in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first time at a puerto cerrado dinner in any country and we'll try it again on our next trip. Dan & Henry were terrific hosts and the wine pairings with the adventurous courses were on point. We enjoyed spending a relaxed spring evening with new friends from Seattle and Norway. We also found their recommendations on sightseeing in BA to be helpful. You can't have the same conversation at a restaurant or have the leisure to sit for hours enjoying the wines or the flavors of each dish over the course an evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 93012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
That's the fun thing for us too - the conversation every night is so completely different and it's always something that we'd never get to participate in if we were running a traditional restaurant. Thanks for being a part of that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    94
    23
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I recently visited Buenos Aires in late August 2012. I enjoyed a nice evening at Casa SaltShaker including soaking up the knowledge of Dan Pearlman, owner of CasaShaker, about regional foods and wine parings and everything Buenos Aires; sharing a table with other guests; and the relaxed atmosphere of dining in Dan and Henry’s home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Glad you enjoyed and that we had something worth "soaking up"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience in BA”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A friend recommended that we try a "closed door" dining experience while were in BA. After a little research, we decided on Casa SaltShaker. Reservations were easily made via e-mails, and the PayPal payment was easy and efficient. One thing to remember is that you are going into someone's home for dinner, so when you arrive at the address, it just looks like an entrance into an apartment, which is a little strange, but not a real problem.

The dinner started off with a before drink cocktail and about 15 - 20 minutes of time to get to know your dinning partners. This is one of the more unique parts of the CasaSaltShaker experience - there is one table for all the guest, so you get to know everyone, which was very nice. Since this was our first time to BA, we were able to get some great recommendations on where to go, what to do, where to eat, and where to avoid.

Dinner was great -- I think the dessert was my favorite apple and nut pie with a caramel sauce. It was excellent. The wine pairings were very good too. Overall this was a great experience and Dan, and his partner Henry, are great host.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for making the evening a great success - we can't do it without delightful guests joining us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a lovely evening. A group of 4 of us went along and had a nice night. We met some other great people and the conversation was flowing all night. I think we were particularly luck as we had 2 locals in our dinner sitting who could tell us all about BA.

The food was nice and the wines were nicely matched. The scallops were a highlight with the boys and the slow cooked pork was a hit with the girls.

We had a nice night, however i don't really recommend this for a group of friends because after our 5 wines were were not offered any more drinks(we would have been happy to pay for more) and felt as though we were being rushed out. To be fair it was midnight but when you are paying top dollar for the experience it would have been nice to be able to stay longer. I would go back, but only as a couple.

Thank you

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BexUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I'm glad that overall you enjoyed the evening and the food. I'd note, simply, that refills on wine are always available (and that the 9 folk who were there the evening you were went through 8 bottles over the course of the evening, I don't think we were skimping on it), all one need do is ask - generally we figure that after dessert and coffee, most folk don't want more wine. It's true, we don't have a bar for after dinner drinks and probably won't, liquor service brings in its own host of things like paperwork and such that we don't want to get into. Sorry if you felt rushed to leave, it wasn't intentional on our part, and some of the other folk stayed after you left, chatting with us - you would have been welcome to as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful evening!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dan and Henry were wonderful hosts. We meet some lovely people and the food was amazing and perfectly matched with local wine. Our best meal in Argentina. Highly recommended - thanks!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joss82x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We couldn't do it without you guys. Thanks for the lovely compliment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa SaltShaker also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Capital Federal District, Argentina
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Casa SaltShaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing