We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST MEAT RESTAURANTS IN BUENOS AIRES”
Review of Rio Alba

Rio Alba
Ranked #154 of 4,928 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
rio de janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST MEAT RESTAURANTS IN BUENOS AIRES”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I went to the Rio Alba for the second time last march. Just to confirm that this, indeed, is one of the best meat restaurants in the city. Not only meat dishes, mind you. There's a long menu with various dishes of the international cuisine as, for instance, the old timer "Suprema de Pollo Maryland". Service is not formal but is very attentive. by waiters that belong to the old generation. Undoubtely , I fully reccomend this restaurant not only because of the food quality but also for its prices, which were quite fair. Also, please bear in mind that you can easily share almost anything in the menu. For instance: the "medio lomo" which means "half a filet mignon", serves fully two persons. In fact, one should ask the waiter if a certain dish could serve two persons. He shall answer with dignity and honesty and you can take his advice. They have a fairly reasonable wine list and do serve wine by the glass in generous portions.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amalia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    142
    42
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Looking for good meat at reasonable price? This is the place.”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is one of the easiest reviews I wrote here, because I live very close to this place so we frequently go with my wife every time we want to eat very well without leaving the entire wallet in the restaurant.
The place is nice although not fancy, the area is quite but just 10 blocks away from one of the top nightly areas of Buenos Aires.
Entrees can be shared if you go with a wife or girldfriend. They serve all kind of food but, of course, I recommend meat. Prices are fair.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danieldotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best fillet mignon ever”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Really. Absolutely. No equal. Impossible to describe the quality of the meet. Staff was a little bit slow. Probably the fact we were tourists and the place was mostly for locals explains it. But steak... Best in the world.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We visited Rio Alba with friends and their relatives. They used to come here for many many years, and admitted that the place lost its appeal. The mixed parilla was simply overcooked and average, both in quality and quantity. Meat was nothing special, even those specialities that made this a "must go" place in Palermo. The place, anyway, was full. Service was careless. Overpriced, too: this seems to be a common problem in Buenos Aires, were prices have doubled in 5-6 years. Won't return, next time.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaxTaverna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak House”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We ate here on a previous trip to BA and returned this visit. It is a neighborhood restaurant that appears to have been there a long time. We were still on US eating time and were hungry - we walked up at 7:50 pm (10 minutes before they opened) and they saw us, opened the door and welcomed us in. We were the only diners for 30 minutes or more.

The service is good - the staff appears to have been there a long time. We had the Beef Tenderloin (lomo) and were able to get it rare to medium rare (huegoso spelling?).

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RagtopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Alba also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Rio Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing