We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Buenos Aires”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Jardin del Tango
Ranked #48 of 258 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed in Casa Jasmin for a total of five nights and couldn't have asked for a better place. Rachel lives up to her reputation as a fantastic hostess. Casa Jasmin has two bedrooms rooms (with air conditioning), a living room, a third bedroom that really serves as the computer room during the summer, a bathroom, and kitchenette. There's a laptop and free Internet access for guests, which was so helpful. You are given more than ample provisions for breakfast: eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereals, bread, juice, milk, coffee, and tea. Rachel also provides recommendations for fresh pasta and other food you can prepare in the kitchenette, as well as great ideas for your stay in Buenos Aires. You are a short walk from two Subte (subway) lines, and the price is great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
41
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

My girlfriend booked us in here for our first stay in Buenos Aires. We stayed in Casa Jasmin and found ourselves sharing the apartment with a charming American named, Bob. Rooms and accomodation in general are well kept and clean. Aircon (necessary in summer and occasional spring/autumnal heatwaves) and wi-fi provide all the mod-cons you need. Decor is pleasant and hostess knowledgable, friendly and helpful. Main downsides are having to share the bathroom with any other travellers staying there (though it is well kept and clean so only an issue of inconvenience) and the lack of noise supression throughout the apartment, especially between bedrooms, though this is only an issue if you are sharing with someone inconsiderate. Good location close to Metro (or Subte) and within walking distance of shopping streets such as Florida, sights such as Theatro Colon and many more. As a recommendation, we stayed here again on our return to BA at the end of our trip. On a personal note to those visiting BA, watch your wallet - you'll be very safe in the city but your cash might not be -esp. on Metro! Carry only what you can afford to lose in your wallet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We loved our 4 night stay at Casa Jasmin. Hostess Rachel was incredibly accommodating and knowlegable. The Lavendar room where we stayed was light, airy and comfortable. Why stay anywhere else when you can stay here?

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Your hostess, Rachel--originally a Kiwi, by the way-- is passionate about tango and wonderfully knowledgeable about what to see and do in Buenos Aires. She's also tirelessly helpful. We came to Buenos Aires first in late November, and booked an apartment in the Palermo district; but because we knew we were coming back in February before flying home, we booked Rachel's 'Avairy Room' for that February slot. Even before our first arrival in late November--months before we were going to be staying with her!--Rachel wrote to give us great advice about tourism in the city, and to give us also a series of links to useful and interesting websites. Our experience of Buenos Aires was much enriched by her help, as anyone's would be. When we came in February, for example, she directed us to a particularly beautiful, charming Milonga, to see people who enjoy tango in a day-to-day way (not just in 'shows') come together to practise and enjoy themselves. She also clued us in (earlier, in November) to the hop-on/hop-off tourist bus, which is a great way to get an overview of the city, though the books don't mention it. And she gave us lots of other tips that the guidebooks don't or can't provide.

Rachel has two properties, and we stayed in the main one, which is her home. This 'Jardin del Tango' is essentially one very large, comfortable apartment, in which you will have the bedroom on the back. You have free run of the kitchen if you want to cook or make yourself tea and coffee at any time. You get in the mornings a very ample breakfast of pastry, purchased that morning, fruit and, if you want it also, cereals. You are given keys (of course) with the invitation to come and go at all hours. You also have a laptop computer with excellent, high-speed internet connections, and a sitting room in which to use it, or to read, watch TV, or watch the world go by from her sixth-floor balcony.

The bathroom is shared, which was not at all a problem for us, though some may balk at this. Everything is clean and homey in a nice way. We just really enjoyed having what seemed like our own, comfortable apartment in town, with subway stops on two different lines very near; and we thoroughly enjoyed Rachel's company. She goes out of her way to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapistNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I was very fortunate to have found Rachel's B&B as my first "home" during my 2-week solo trip in Argentina!

Room - I had a room at Casa Rosa where Rachel stays as well. As Rachel lives in the apartment as well, the place is very homey with and is kept extremely clean. The room I had is equipped with a closet, a double bed and air-conditioning. The room has simple decoration but very cosy and clean. Rachel gives great attention to the details and uses beddings, towels and bathrobe of very high quality. Breakfast is great with fruit, pastries and yoghurt.

Location - The apartment is located in the district known as Once and is within 10-min walking distance from two subte stations, Pasteur and Facultad de Medicina, which you have the advantage of taking both the green and red lines. The neighbourhood is filled with wholesale shops of garments, accessories, toys, etc and tends to be quiet after business hours. It is not in the middle of the tourist attractions but it is well-connected to reach most of them.

Rachel is a great hostess and I certainly enjoyed our conversations which gave me an interesting insight of an expat living a local life in this charming city. She is very accommodating as well. I originally made my reservation for Casa Jasmin and found myself having the entire 3-room apartment to myself as the the other two rooms were not taken during the time I stayed. I told Rachel that I wasn't comfortable staying in the apartment alone and she immediately offered me to move to Casa Rosa where she herself lives! She's also very responsive to emails and was very helpful to provide me with a list of suggested activities in BA even before my arrival!

If you are someone like me, who's looking for a place that gives you the personal touch and not the standard full-suite service of a 3/4-star hotel, you won't be disppointed at El Jardin del Tango!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2011

As a solo female traveler, i was very lucky to have stayed with Rachel in El Jardin del Tango. She was simply a lovely woman and wonderful hostess. She provided a lot of pragmatic tips that went beyond what to do and where to go. For instance, one of the first things I learned from her is to always hail a taxi from the driver's right side because they aren't legally allowed to pick up passengers on the left side of the street. She also gave me a subte card and told me how to use it since it was not intuitive. (Tap once on the sensor by the entrance.)

I had the Aviary room and shared the two-bedroom apartment with Rachel and her two cats. The room faced the back of the building so there is no street noise. Sunlight poured into the room making it very inviting. The Aviary room is simple but decorated with great attention to detail. The sheets have higher thread count than the sheets I have at home.

The home is in Once barrio, which is not a tourist destination. This might be especially appealing to those who want to live among locals. The barrio reminds me a lot of the garment district in downtown L.A. There is an endless amount of fabric, button, and apparel shops at the street level. There are a few restaurants nearby, but the dining options are limited in the evening. The area is bustling in the daytime and quiet at night when all the shops are closed. It is, however, close to two subte stations, and it is always easy to grab a taxi at any hour. It is also a block away from Corrientes, which is a large commercial street with banks/ATMs and several dining options. The reputable Neo Tango shoe store is also a short walk away!

Overall, it was a truly lovely stay and a wonderful introduction to this fantastic city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcabc123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We recently stayed 4 days at La Casa Rosa in Buenos Aires - this was our first experience at a B & B, but it will not be our last! Rachel was an incredible host, and the cats, Carlos & Flavia were a joy to live with. Rachel's B&B is a charming apartment on the 6th floor (no worries, there is an elevator!), we stayed in The Rose Suite, while our friends stayed in the Aviary Room. It truly felt like home to us, especially since we have two cats too! The bed & the linens were very comfortable, the breakfasts that Rachel made were wonderful, and the conversations with her were the best! Her recommendations for what to see and do were spot on for us as well, her information and advice was greatly appreciated.

I honestly can't think of a negative thing to say about it, all was wonderful and we will return again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,412 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,012 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#82 of 445 in Buenos Aires
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,636 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#111 of 445 in Buenos Aires
452 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 460 in Buenos Aires
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin del Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin del Tango

Property: El Jardin del Tango
Address: Calle Lavalle 2236, Buenos Aires C1051ABJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin del Tango has two casas, both close to subtes and buses and within 15 mins walking distance of Obelisco, Recoleta and Abasto. Guest rooms have air conditioning - important in our hot, humid summer. Our rooms are available on a single or double basis, or Casa Jasmin is available for your exclusive use at a special rate. Great for tango dancers, first time visitors to Buenos Aires, international students (especially those who come to learn Spanish), or conferences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing