We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, terrible service”
Review of 1880

1880
Ranked #508 of 4,926 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Telmo
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent food, terrible service”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The food was really good (the best fish I had in BA), but I've never seen such a terrible service! People in BA start their evening meals quite late, so the restaurant wasn't really busy when we came (in a large group, really hard not to notice) and the staff kinda didn't pay any attention at all. We had to wait for everything, starting with the wine. I only recommend it to those who are not in a hurry; otherwise, you'll be upset.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    67
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great steaks, tender & cooked as ordered, well-priced, excellent wine, wonderful service. A lot of locals there, great vibe in the place. Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Steak in BA”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed in BA for 6 weeks and ate out for every meal. This place has one of the best, if not THE best, steaks in the city. Inexpensive also. I like the ojo de beefe. My wife liked the lomo. A local place. You probably won't see any tourists there.

It doesn't open until 7:30 or 8:00 PM so don't go too early (Argentine's eat late in case you don't already know).

If in BA, also try a restaurant called "Kansas." It is actually modeled after an American chain called Houston's but it is way better. Very inexpensive and awesome steak, ribs, salads, deserts, and iced tea!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OneJESUSGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Authentic Buenos Aires parrilla”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We spent a few hours here thoroughly enjoying a late afternoon lunch. When we arrived at 2 pm on a weekday, the place was filled with locals - I think we were the only tourists.

My ojo de lomo was simply one of the best steaks I've ever had. It was so tender and cooked exactly how I ordered (med. rare). The portions were huge, so luckily one of my friends enjoyed mine more than her skirt steak and helped me eat it.

Our waiter was very patient with my friends who couldn't speak a word of Spanish and tried to help them out with his limited English.

Parrilla 1880 is located about five or six blocks from Plaza Dorrego, so a bit off the regular San Telmo tourist track, but so worth it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hummingbird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Typical Argentine Asado restaurant, popular with Portenos”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel and we weren't disappointed. We had our first meal in Argentina here on a Saturday lunchtime (we went back twice on different evenings but they were closed?) - not knowing the size of the Argentine portions we ordered 2 steaks and a salad. Needless to say the steaks were massive (but delicious) but we only really needed to order one. The 'vacio' cut was exceptional.

When speaking to Portenos around the city and in other parts of Argentina they all knew of 1880 and spoke highly of it and when we were there, there seemed to be a lot of locals eating which I liked.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank danielle4red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1880 also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing