We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a Great City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Ranked #163 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location in a Great City”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed there for four nights in mid January and had a wondeful time, the hotel is in a very good location on the Plaza Durrego which was fantastic, would highly recomend staying here if you want to be right in the centre of things with rsturants bars and shopping all on your doorstep

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinC715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    72
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
89
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was in Buenos Aires discovering the city and meeting with family members who live in San Telmo, so for me the location was ideal. I was given a quiet room at the end of the hall, room 207, and was really thankful for this as Plaza Dorrego across the street can get pretty noisy late in the evening, especially in preparation for Carnaval. The rooms on the second floor all seem to have been designed in the same way: a desk and chair, a bed and the bathroom on the main floor, and the sleeping area (with bed, bedside table and lamp, closet equipped with in-room safe and luggage rack) up the steep staircase. These rooms also come with a power-operated blind system which works really well and comes in really handy, since second-floor rooms all have what feels like a 20-foot ceiling.
Also of interest, the A/C system has two thermostats which operate independently of each other, one for the lower part of the room and the other one for the sleeping area, and this was not explained to me when I checked in. Make sure you also turn on the A/C unit for upstairs when you enter your room, otherwise you'll need to freeze downstairs to feel comfortable at night. Also bear in mind that you'll need to switch on each A/C unit manually after inserting your room key in the power outlet each time you enter the room, a bit of a hassle to be honest.
I found the staff to be very kind and helpful, and accommodating too. The hotel is kept spotless and the bar/breakfast area is very comfortable and inviting. The free wifi worked really well, a fast and stable connection, and I was very happy with that. The included breakfast is mediocre at best: canned fruit salad, lousy croissants ("media lunas") and the most awful fruit juice I've had in years. Cannot comment on the coffee as I only drink tea. The only thing I'd recommend at breakfast would be their yogurt (the drinkable kind) and their scrambled eggs ("huevo revueltos") and toast (brown toast is "pan integral" in Spanish).
I did not get to use the rooftop patio during my stay, unfortunately, as it was being renovated. This generated some construction noise during regular work hours, quite annoying too during siesta time, but fortunately I did not spend much time in my room during the day.
I enquired about changing money at the beginning of my stay, and this you should know if you go to Buenos Aires. Money Exchange offices give you a poor rate in Buenos Aires, about 7 ARS per USD. The best way to make your dollar go further in BA is to change money with "unofficial" money changers on Calle Florida. When I was there in January 2014, they were offering roughly 11-11.5 pesos per US dollar. Of course, I did not change money there myself as it is illegal to do so, but just thought I would share this with you. :-) Also of interest: do not buy Argentinian pesos in large quantities, because when you leave the country nobody will want them back. Everybody wants your US dollars, but when comes the time to exchange your pesos back to US currency, you're on your own. I hear there is a bank in BA that will sell you US dollars for your pesos when you're about to leave, but it is a big hassle (dealing with ANY bank in Argentina IS a hassle!) as you'll need to show your passport and your plane ticket and possibly also all of your tattoos. :-p Anyway, be warned. Plus, all they were talking about on the news while I was in BA was restrictions on purchasing US currency, so things are bound to change yet again in the near future.
Back to the Telmho, I really really enjoyed my time there, very comfortable bed (*some noise seemed to be coming from the roof area though, on and off, and this did affect the quality of my sleep on my first couple of nights*), great shower with lots of hot water and excellent water pressure, everything kept super clean and staff that really cares. This one's a winner - and by booking in advance, I was able to get a rate of about US$60 per night, which to me is a bargain when compared to other places in BA and across the river in Uruguay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent one Sunday night here in December 2013. Wish we could have spent more time. Great Location in the heart of Old Quarter. Good security. Lovely vibe in the area. Hotel right across from the Plaza Dorrego, where the locals were tango dancing. Street Market on a Sunday night with lots of interesting fare. Good eating spots nearby. Hotel was neat and clean. Room was compact, but very comfortable. Bathroom clean and modern. Split level made it feel quite spacious. Good use of space. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Arranged taxi to airport. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel was fantastic! Located in the middle of San Telmho, we spent each evening on the beautiful roof terrace enjoying a bottle of wine and the tango music from the plaza below. I was here for work and the wi-fi was great. The room as a great two story room where our two beds were on the top floor and the bathroom and a chaise lounge were on the first floor, allowing for easy sharing. I recommend calling the hotel to discuss the rate as they will cut a deal for those staying multiple nights and who pay in cash (particularly American dollars). Wonderful time!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the street / plaza is nice but on the loud side since they play music in the plaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was in desperate need of solid internet for work and this place had the most reliable wi-fi I could hope for.

The staff could not have been nicer and the building is as secure as one could hope. Stellar on both fronts!

I found half way through the the wifi near the front on the terrace near the front end of the building comes through. I have never had as awesome a workspace as what that terrace provided.

Finally, it is right on a shared plaza with live tango, amazing steaks everywhere... if you can get in here on the weekends for the fair you are well on your way to an awesome time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

perfect location in San Telmo, on Plaza Dorrego, excellent and helpfull staff, orginal rooms (on 2 floors). I recommend.
If you stay a weekend, this is THE place to stay with the flee market and tango dancers in the street

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location, great space, great staff, great experience. I stayed for 9 nights and the 1st night was as good as the last. The staff was friendly, extremely helpful, and efficient. The room and the common areas are kept impeccably neat and clean, and the made-to-order breakfasts were the best way to start my days off. Wifi was solid and dependable. Lots of great food options right on Plaza Dorrego, and even more within short walking distance. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
San Telmo Luxury Suites
San Telmo Luxury Suites
#148 of 447 in Buenos Aires
244 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#93 of 447 in Buenos Aires
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Ribera Sur Hotel
Ribera Sur Hotel
#207 of 447 in Buenos Aires
101 reviews
San Telmo
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel
#212 of 447 in Buenos Aires
261 reviews
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#77 of 447 in Buenos Aires
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telmho Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telmho Hotel Boutique

Property: Telmho Hotel Boutique
Address: 1086 Defensa St., Buenos Aires 1065, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#103 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Telmho Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Telmho Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telmho Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing