We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the city!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kala Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kala Petit Hotel
Ranked #139 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem in the city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

After searching for months for a bed and breakfast in Palermo with a pool, we decided to go with Kala; what a gem in the city! Upon arrival we experienced nothing but kindness from its staff. From finding a cab at the last second before going to Androgue for our cooking class, which is almost 2 hours away to always coming home to a place that was spotless and with absolutely no intrusion whatsoever. The staff worked around the clock to make sure the guests were taken care of-sure some of the staff did not speak as much English, but if you find that to be such a problem, maybe traveling should not be on your itinerary...not every country's natives speak English.

We were a group of 4; two stayed in the Garden Suite and we stayed in Kala. I loved our room, not just because of the jacuzzi, but because it was peaceful and felt like home. The rooms were both clean had a basket of fresh towels awaiting us. Breakfast was your normal Argentinean with medialunas, array of cheeses, dulce de leche, ham and the usual coffee and orange juice with an assortment of fresh fruits and yogurt. It was just enough...eggs would have been a nice addition, but it was not missed as much because we were quite stuffed after breakfast.

As far as the location is concerned, it is smack dab in the middle of paradise! Tango classes were just in walking distance. The train was about 12 blocks away, but the area felt safe and we never encountered any problems whether alone or in a group. The area is also close to lots of bars, restaurants (major plus for me -as I am a foodie) and shopping boutiques. I recommend going to La Cabrera for dinner which is just a hop skip and a jump away for a great parilla!

Overall, our stay was well worth it from the staff to the location. I would do it again! Ciao!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latte_nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Kala Petit Hotel is a gorgeous little place, excellently located in Palermo, BA. We stayed here both at the start and end of our trip to Argentina, in two different rooms and had a wonderful experience. Mattias, who works here and took our reservation was incredibly helpful in guiding our choices for our trip and provided invaluable information. He has a travel company and can help with advice and bookings - and recommended the best restaurant experience we have ever had! The ambiance is lovely, there is a computer for communal use which is extremely helpful, and the beds and bed Linen are incredibly comfortable! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different - check with the hotel to select the room that is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hela2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Kala Petit is located in a great area, close to a selection of restaurants, bars and shops. The only bad thing in terms of location is that it is quite far from the metro (Subte) station, so if you were hoping to travel exclusively by metro, be prepared for the walk.
The rooms and lounge area are stylishly decorated, and generally make for a very comfortable stay. The kitchen is open for making teas/coffees/sandwiches during the day, which is nice. We shared a bathroom with 2 other rooms, it worked very well and was mostly clean. The hotel also has a pool and lovely garden, where you can relax if the city is getting too busy for you!
The rooms on the 1st floor on the street side get very noisy with the passing traffic, so rather book one at the back if you fancy a good night's sleep or a lie-in. The service is generally good, but be aware that Mathias is not always there, so if you need to straighten out any issues in English, you may have to wait for tomorrow.
Unfortunately, on the last morning, I discovered that some dollars of mine, that had been hidden away quite deep into my luggage, had been stolen. Very disconcerting as I wouldn't have expected it from a place like this. They do not have safes. Thus, we left with a bad taste in the mouth.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, not with a window to Thames street - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Althea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Kala Petit hotel was great change of pace from the Hilton i had been staying at previously. The staff are incredibly helpful, and were gracious to help me when I could not speak a word of spanish. As a solo traveler, i felt very safe in the location and was just blocks away from the heart of Palermo. My room (the pink room) was just charming and the back outside area was the perfect place to relax after a day of site seeing. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Kala is lovely, and was a great home base during a series of cancelled flights and early morning trips to the airpot. Matias and the wonderful staff were great. The location is superb, and Matias and staff will help gather info on any number of subjects. We've stayed here more than once on this trip due to volcano issues, and see it as a great bet in Palermo, a great part of town in which to be based. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilgoreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We had a wonderful time and very much recommend this charming family run small boutique style hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the owner, Matias, who did everything he could to make our stay memorable, arranging a tango evening for us and also a good hotel for our visit to Iguazu when everywhere appeared full. Even though we weren't returning to stay in the hotel he offered to store some of our luggage whilst we visited Iguazu.
The hotel is a wonderful little oasis in the hustle bustle of BA, elegant yet very comfortable. We spent 5 nights in their best room, Kala suite, which had an old colonial air about it with antique furniture, wooden floors and white bedlinen. The bathroom was spacious and old style but lovely, with a jacuzzi bath and body jet shower; good towels. Breakfast was relaxed with plenty to eat, sitting together at an antique table. The garden was courtyard style, with comfortable chairs and a small pool; green and peaceful after a day in the madness of central town. Cold beers available too!
Kala Petit is located in Palermo, which we found to be one of the best districts with many restaurants and bars and lots of individual, stylish shops and also small craft markets. There's even a Starbucks for those who need a familiar coffee fix. Bus stops to town are only a few minutes walk from the hotel, buses run frequently straight into the centre. Robin and Jean, England.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

We spent only one night at Kala Petit and found it very pleasant. The room was nice and clean. Sharing a bathroom was not a problem, there are rooms with private bathrooms as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was wonderful. The hotel has a small backyard with swimming pool that provides a great resting place from the bustle of the city. The location in Palermo is great for dining and nightlife, and the hotel is not far from Aeropuerto Jorge Newbery. The staff were also able to arrange a transport for us to Ezeiza airport. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaunusRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#12 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Palermo
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
#132 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Vitrum
Hotel Vitrum
#116 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#25 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#111 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kala Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kala Petit Hotel

Property: Kala Petit Hotel
Address: Calle Thames 1263 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1414DCY, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kala Petit Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kala Petit Hotel, is a stylish property, ideally located in one of Buenos Aires most charming neighbourhoods, Palermo Soho, a part of Town where classic argentine traditions and Art blend, with some of the areas most exquisite Restaurants, Bars and Galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kala Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing