We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of La Payuca

La Payuca
Ranked #974 of 4,926 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was so looking for to a great steak. I have heard some much about Argentine beef but I was disappointed. The steak was a little tough but tasty, I requested rare but it was closer to medium. Service was great and my server Matias was extremely helpful. They charge cubierto a fee just to sit at the table. Initially I thought this to be the tip, but it is not. They serve too much food for me to eat in a single meal. The place was not crowded but it took along time for the food to come out. Probably you don't notice when you are eating with others; however I was dining alone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    155
    111
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious steak dinner!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had an early dinner at La Payuca on Santa Fe, about 6 pm on our first evening in Buenos Aires. We had the place to ourselves the whole time. Portenos don't eat dinner until about 8:30. We were lucky they were even open.so early. The service was very good, as was the food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dianaArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great option with kids”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great place, nice ambience and service. We went to the Arenales road restaurant wich has a big kids area in the first floor and they have girls to look after and entertain the children.
Food is very tasty. I specially recommend the Payuca Provoleta as a starter.
Prices are OK.
Surely, we will be back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcela2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just an early dinner.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great food, sevice, atmosphere, and value! I will come here again. Try a Fernet Cola with your meal.

Helpful?
Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Nice ambience and kind service. Perfect steak medium rare. Didn't like being offered a limoncello at the end and it was put on the bill. Thought it was gratuitous. It was imitation to boot. Delicious leche.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank StV_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Payuca also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Payuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing