We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of Casa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Calma Hotel
Ranked #5 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We took a short vacation over Thanksgiving to Buenos Aries and stayed at the Casa Calma based on Trip Advisor reviews. This is a superb boutique hotel. I booked on line and inquired via Email on a couple of questions we had. The registration process was quick and the Emails were responded to within 24 hours. We stayed in a Deluxe room in the front of the hotel, one of the bigger rooms. It was well appointed, clean, and quite (even though facing the street). On arrival (early in the day) we were quickly greeted by the staff. The process of registering is very individualized and compete. Our luggage was safely stored until the room was ready (which was sooner than the normal availability time). We were asked about tours or other needs for our stay. They were very responsive to all of our questions and requests throughout the stay. The hotel is situated nicely in about he center of the core city attractions and it was reasonably easy to walk to all of them. Mass transit (subway and bus) is close too if they are your preferred mode of travel. The European style breakfast was excellent. For other meals there were two superb restaurants with in a block and many very good ones within a a few blocks.

Room Tip: If you can spend a little more and get the Deluxe room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Beautiful hotel, rooms have a clean, modern and comfortable aesthetic. Vines spill down in front of the window outside - feels like an oasis in an otherwise busy part of the city.
We liked the walkable location to restaurants in Retiro, Recoleta, Plaza del Mayo and the beautiful Plaza San Martin. We skipped breakfast in favor of heading to a cute cafe 3 blocks away we spotted the day before. Helpful staff - fluent English, gave us a good city overview at check in.
Wish we'd had another night here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingSFgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great boutique hotel!
The room is well appointed and spacious enough for three adults. We travelled in a group of eight and all rooms were of the same high standard. The concierge was extremely helpful with local advice on security and food & restaurant options with suggested routes for shopping and sightseeing.
Not only were the amenities well appointed the sauna in room and spa bath make for a great therapeutic experience after walking the streets for hours!
Within walking distance was a beautiful park and shopping street that converted into a mall.
We tried a number of the suggested restaurants and were more than satisfied by choice and quality. Within a short walk of the hotel we ate at Federal a worthy local authentic restaurant of the region with great rustic decor.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank WaneringKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We only stayed here for one night because we had a stop over in Buenos Aires and departed again the next morning. The location of the hotel is excellent and only 15 min taxi ride to Aeroparque (one of the airports of BA, mostly used for domestic flights). Entering the hotel it immediately gave you a relaxing and calm feeling; very friendly staff and the plants and green area in the reception create a nice atmosfeer. Rooms a very spacious, with a very big bathtub/jacuzzi and also a very big shower. Nice and modern design, with nice white bed linen and a natural feel. Since we had an early flight; we could have our breakfast earlier then normal without any problems. Free and very quick wifi in the hotel. They also have an "honesty bar", where you just take your drink/snack and write what you took on your individual room panel. Great system and again shows the policy of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariposa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a knowledgeable staff with top notch service and a hotel with nice amenities then run the other way (fast). If you are looking for a clean, basic room with no frills then you have found your place. With a couple of exceptions, I found the staff mind-blowingly inept at their jobs (directions, reservations, etc.) which made the overall experience lackluster.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I was in Buenos Aires for my honeymoon and stayed in a couple of business hotels prior to this one. Upon arrival it was a breath of fresh air to be greeted in a personal way by the friendly staff and given tips on what to enjoy while in BA. The foyer is lined with greenery on the walls and DVDs the guests can borrow. The staff also offered to book any events for us, and we ended up seeing a Boca Jrs match and tango show on our last evening which they arranged and facilitated payment for. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to Retiro bus station and Avenida Florida where many shops are based. The room itself was lovely with white, crisp linen and a jacuzzi hot tub. We were given a nice sachet of free bath salts because it was our honeymoon. Breakfast was also available in our rooms instead of downstairs. The hotel prides itself on being a clean living, natural hotel, yoga mats are provided and a range of fresh
juices. Compared to the big standard impersonal hotels around I think this one is delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I spent several nights at Casa Calma before going on our Antarctic cruise. Couldn't have stayed in a more charming and comfortable small hotel. The staff was incredible....English speaking and very friendly. Our room was spacious and, like the entire hotel, beautifully designed and luxurious. Two rooms per floor, each with its own double Jacuzzi tub and a lovely sauna adjacent to the wonderful shower (4 shower heads!). Breakfast is served in a small area at end of the lobby and was very good.....buffet style, but eggs and omelets are available as well. This hotel was a fabulous discovery....easy walking distance to many sights and a very short walk into Recoletta. The young staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. A true gem in Buenos Aires!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,780 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#8 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,981 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#11 of 440 in Buenos Aires
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Carles Hotel Buenos Aires
Carles Hotel Buenos Aires
#3 of 440 in Buenos Aires
136 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#6 of 440 in Buenos Aires
835 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calma Hotel

Address: Suipacha 1015, Buenos Aires C1008AAU, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#23 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $108 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hotel in Argentina devoted to the culture of wellness. Well wrapped up in a magnificent vertical garden, it is hidden away from the city in its own world in an exquisite, fresh and healing atmosphere. Located in the very heart of downtown, a block away from bustling Santa Fe Avenue and two blocks away from famous San Martin Square and Florida Street, CasaCalma is an urban oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casacalma Buenos Aires
Casacalma Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing