We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful oasis in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa Calma Hotel
Ranked #6 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis in the heart of the city”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Casa Calma is situated very close to everything - museums & attractions as well as shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance, and it is a short cab ride (20 mins) from Palermo.

The rooms are beautiful, spacious and chic, with a small balcony (not big enough to sit, but you can stand there and watch the street!) and lots of greens hanging down, so you feel you have a green view instead of the street view. Windows block almost all noise out from the street, which is really lovely as it is a busy area.

The jacuzzi is a great touch instead of just a tub. Two people can sit comfortably in it, and after those long days of walking the city, this is just what you need!

We were very impressed by the friendliness and service from the girls there even before we arrived - they were so helpful in sorting out reservations and helping with suggestions.

The hotel itself is small, and the lobby- and breakfast areas are tiny. I suggest that you get your breakfast sent to your room (free of charge), where you can enjoy it better, as you feel like you are sitting on top of each other in the common area. We did not always get completely what we ordered, but it was a nice touch to be able to eat in your room without the normal extra charge.

The mini bar was OK stocked, but it was way to warm in there, so grabbing a bottle of champagne (and drinking it out of water glasses) was just not the same...

We had a great stay, and recommend this boutique hotel to couples who want to be close to everything, and do not mind to walk to get meals & drinks (only a few items on the room service, no meals).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    193
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
126
899
54
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

First time in Buenos Aires and this hotel is a great place to have as a base to explore. Rooms are large and airy with a jacuzzi bath and hugely comfortable to help get over jet lag. Location is downtown and within walking distance of many main landmarks. Staff could not have been more helpful and gave great recommendations. Two great restaurants within 2 mins walk and good breakfasts. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilbracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of Buenos Aires within walking distance from decent shopping and restaurants. The spacious rooms are amazing with an exquisite bathroom that complements the room offering. Even though the breakfast offering is adequate, the breakfast room is a bit cramped. In my opinion, the worst aspect of the hotel is the checking-in/ checking-out procedures with no proper reception desk in the lobby. When it gets busy, there is limited space! Unexpectedly for a hotel of this calibre, we did experience some glitches with the room and fortunately the staff were able to resolve these without delay. The hotel is expensive but offers good value for money provided that everything is in working condition!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My mother and I had the great pleasure of spending our Mother's Day get away trip in Buenos Aires at this fabulous fabulous hotel. The lobby is warm and inviting and the room was so modern and chic. The bathroom was like a spa with its rainfall shower head and jacuzzi bathtub. The breakfast was absolutely delicious every day, and we adored the dulce de leche and media lunas! The staff was always so very helpful in recommendations on shopping and dining, and were wonderful hosts. We thank Ana and the rest of the ladies and guys at the Casa Calma for making our Buenos Aires trip so memorable! We look forward to our happy return! Muchas Gracias!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this hotel after seeing the positive reviews. When I first walked into the lobby I was a little nervous, as it is small and I worried the hotel might feel too cramped. The downstairs is small, but the rooms are huge. They are spotless and comfortable and light and modern. The service was very friendly. It was a very convenient location, and I appreciated that the hotel was able to change money for me at a decent rate. The breakfast was tasty, and it was nice that the hours were so long (from 7-11 am), so you didn't have to worry about missing it.

A few tips: the hotel gives extensive recommendations, which was nice and helpful. One restaurant they didn't include is Juana M, which is close to the hotel. I recommend it highly! Also, the hotel is in short walking distance (about 15 minute walk) to the Tienda Leon bus station. This is an express bus to and from the EZE airport, for 80 pesos - much cheaper than taxis, which would be about 270. The buses leave every 30 minutes, so I think its a much better way to go than a taxi.

The front rooms in the hotel have some street noise - I was able to use a white noise machine app on my iphone. The hotel has a nice stereo system so perhaps its even possible to hook up your phone to that if you are like me and want something to block out some of the street noise.

I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parkplace09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XXX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

the builing is just 10 meters wide, the entrance is easily missed and only 2 rooms each floor.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Large rooms and very quite. WIFI fast.
Breakfast could be ordered to the room as the breakfast lounge is small.
Casacalma is not designed for buiness travellers if you need to work in the room. No table or desk, but they provide that on request.
As it is already some years operational, one can see the wear and tear, but not an issue. It is clean.
I would come back, even though it is pricey

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights, then another night after a quick trip to Iguazu in January 2013.

Service:
The staff was amazing and helped us with finding tourist sites, restaurant suggestions, and even where to buy an emergency wrist brace. They spoke fantastic English. I liked their taxi service where they arrange the taxis for you and you paid the hotel directly for the taxis. There is no risk of getting hit with the famous taxi scams. Additionally, they were able to store our large luggage safely for 2 days while we went to Iguazu. They were excellent in their email correspondence to set it up.

Rooms:
As a couple who love cushy, soft beds, this hotel had a very comfortable bed. Most hotels have very firm mattresses, which just means waking up in pain. The room and bathroom were large and very clean. The room was also quiet - we did not notice any outside noise.

Amenities:
The yoga mat in the room was a great touch, as we used it each day. Their breakfast was a tiny-bit lacking, but that was not our purposing for staying there.

Location:
It was a great location, because it was on a small side street with very little traffic. We felt safe everywhere we walked nearby.

Overall:
This hotel made our first stay in Buenos Aires very special and memorable. We are so glad we chose it over a large hotel, which we usually stay in. We would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling there and we would definitely stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,549 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#8 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,764 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 451 in Buenos Aires
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,753 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
720 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#5 of 451 in Buenos Aires
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calma Hotel

Property: Casa Calma Hotel
Address: Suipacha 1015, Buenos Aires C1008AAU, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#25 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hotel in Argentina devoted to the culture of wellness. Well wrapped up in a magnificent vertical garden, it is hidden away from the city in its own world in an exquisite, fresh and healing atmosphere. Located in the very heart of downtown, a block away from bustling Santa Fe Avenue and two blocks away from famous San Martin Square and Florida Street, CasaCalma is an urban oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casacalma Buenos Aires
Casacalma Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing