We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Casa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Calma Hotel
Ranked #5 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This tiny boutique hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires. It is 10 minutes walk to the famous pedestrian shopping street, the Florida Street. When we arrived at this hotel, our heart sank. It looks so crapy outside and no one even notice that is a hotel. But everything changed once we entered the door.

The reception and waiting area is tiny but the staff were extremely helpful! It was way better then the 5 star luxury hotel we stayed the night before. After settling the check in process, the staff pulled out a city map and started to recommend us where to visit and gave us a list of recommended restaurant with estimate time to get to each restaurants! Then one of the staff took our bag and showed us our room.

There were only two rooms per floor, we were thinking the room is going to be super tiny. Well well well! We were dead wrong! The room was huge with a Jacuzzi ( for two persons, a walk-in shower and a sauna! There was a "wellness boutique" underneath the two sinks ( love the two sinks so we don't have to wait for the other one to finish the business) there were bath bomb, massage oil, bath salt etc..with price list attached. A massage service can be arranged in our room too!

The king size bed was comfortable. We have lots of room for our luggage. Flat screen TV on the wall with lots of channels. We even have a little balcony by the room!

What really impressed me was the Nespresso coffee making machine and a yoga mat in the room.

They gave us a list of DVD to chose from for free. We were also told that they can had our breakfast sent to our room with no additional charge!

We love the high speed internet that worked everyday in the hotel.

The breakfast was good and they even had our egg made-to-order and we could have our cappucino with no additional charge.

The best thing was the room rate - it was only 1/3 of what we paid at the luxury hotel

We are so back to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    196
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
129
916
54
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located close to the main street of 9 de Julio, and within walkling distance to the city tour busses, Casa Calma was a great retreat in the middle of the city. In room spa and sauna took away our jet lag! The staff made sure our room was in top condition and offered us a discounted room rate as the shower door in the room was "broken" but still accessible. They greeted us with a bottle of wine for our honeymoon, and helped us with Tango show recommendations (a must!). Beautifl service and wonderful hotel. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After staying at number of "chains", decide to take a turn and try this place base on overwhelm great review fro, fellow trip advisor~ I was not disappointed.. This is a tinny boutique style hotel with personal attention and great amenities. Location is at "centro", (so if you do business on the east side or Palermo, the traffic will be a issue) Super room with great view, Spa resort style setting, you will think you walk out to the beach. Large size Jacuzzi bath tub, with private sauna in the room. The breakfast are served in your bed with no additional charge, Selections of DVD to rent, reception attention to details and make sure you feel like home. A great place away from home to rejuvenate from my long journey. If I had to pick one bad thing about this place..must be the breakfast..maybe is typical in Argentina, but choice is limited., bread are usually hard, coffee water down, eggs watery .....overall..Great choice if you tire of business/chain style hotel..

Room Tip: Bring your own Spa amenities~~ they wll come really handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALIAC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Before our stay, we received an email from the hotel with an attachment on things to do in BA and asking our flight details.
We arrived early morning in BA after a long intercontinental flight. Delighted that the hotel had a room ready for us, even though officially check in time was much later. Great service at reception (nice lemonade/water, provided with map of BA and explanation on where to go, list with recommended restaurants and tango shows). Front desk arranged tickets for a fantastic tango show (transfers and drinks included in the price).
Small boutique hotel, with wonderful light rooms. We had room 801, with 2-person jacuzzi. Very happy with the room. Got a personal note from the manager with a bottle of sparkling wine (because it is our honeymoon). Free wifi in the room, works perfectly fine. Help from frontdesk arranging transfer to local airport.
Good location, you can easily walk to casa rosada / plaza mayor, puerto madero. Would really recommend this hotel, though certainly not cheap (USD 185 with booking.com), we thought it was definitely worth it. Loved our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humuhumu_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel has the whole package; starting from the entrance, the reception area, the staff to your room, beautiful and well-maintained. The room is huge, with appropriate furniture that gives you the spa-resort feel, which made me contemplate if I should visit the city or simply stay in my room and enjoy the facilities.

You can see the extra mile the hotel makes in little touches such as informing you the next day's weather forecast, leaving complementary chocolates in your room, providing breakfast room service with no extra cost (the breakfast is delicious!!!), and even giving you handouts on the compilation of good tango shows and good dining places in Buenos Aires. You can see that they are detailed and thoughtful in their work!

In addition to the lovely rooms and impeccable service, the hotel is located at a pretty good and central location, near to the subtle and places of attraction. Without a doubt, I will stay here again, strongly recommend this to couples in fact, pretty romantic place to stay in!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chan_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended!!!!
- super comfy bed
- excellent service
- great breakfast (which can be delivered to your room for free)
- clean and well-maintained
- good, quiet location
- nice small touches (e.g. Daily weather forecast to your room)

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. The staff and incredibly kind and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. Their knowledge of the city is fantastic too. The give you comprehensive details of where to eat, and what tot do whilst you're in BA - read it, we had some bad eating experiences because we hadnt done so! The parilla they recommended that we did go to (Don Julios) was outstanding. The rooms in the hotel are large and airy and very simply and beautifully designed, each with a small sauna and a jacuzzi. The beds are large and very comfortable. Breakfasts are plentiful, imaginative and delicious. Home made muffins, wonderful fruit salads and yoghurts and hot dishes if you want them. There's an honesty bar and some comfy areas to sit. Its location is great for all the sites.

Room Tip: Any, they are all nice I'd say. We were in 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,597 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,809 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 447 in Buenos Aires
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 447 in Buenos Aires
790 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 447 in Buenos Aires
976 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calma Hotel

Property: Casa Calma Hotel
Address: Suipacha 1015, Buenos Aires C1008AAU, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#25 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hotel in Argentina devoted to the culture of wellness. Well wrapped up in a magnificent vertical garden, it is hidden away from the city in its own world in an exquisite, fresh and healing atmosphere. Located in the very heart of downtown, a block away from bustling Santa Fe Avenue and two blocks away from famous San Martin Square and Florida Street, CasaCalma is an urban oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casacalma Buenos Aires
Casacalma Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing