We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Pay for the Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of CasaSur Recoleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaSur Recoleta
Ranked #19 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You Pay for the Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at CasaSur for 4 nights in November. The hotel is perfectly located on Avenida Callao in Recoleta within walking distance of Duhau and Alvear. It’s also in close proximity to Palermo, Puerto Madero, San Telmo and other popular neighborhoods; cab fares are very reasonable from this location.

When checking in, we were “upgraded” to a suite off the road. This sound great, but in reality the balconies and street views are part of the hotel’s charm. Our suite did not have street view and instead faced a wall five feet out. Our reservation mentioned L’Occitane bath amenities, but these were not present. The room had a dirty towel and some leftover trash in cabinets from a previous guest. The toilet clogged on multiple occasions.

Service was average; we came from a luxury resort with impeccable service so maybe our expectation was too high. The front desk did a nice job getting cabs, but any type of “above and beyond” service wasn’t going to happen. We requested help with our LAN check in and seat selection, but the front desk said they were unsuccessful (funny…the other hotels were able to do this no problem). We called LAN and sorted everything out 60 minutes later on our own.

This hotel is certainly not luxurious in my mind, but the beds were soft, the water was hot, the Internet was free and the A/C worked well. We were on a two week trip and wanted to wash clothes, but the prices were absurd so we waited to visit our next hotel and had them cleaned for dramatically less.

Essentially you are paying for the location and basic hotel service. I think you could have a similar experience at a BA hotel for about half of the price.

As a city, Buenos Aires is fantastic and and Recoleta is a gem. We’ll visit again without doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Recoleta, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us in Tripadvisor.

We are glad you were delighted with our location, so convenient to cover all the city highlights.

We are sorry you could not take advantage of the upgrade we gave you to improve your stay with us and to relax in a more spacious and quiet room. Regarding the L´Occitane amenities, we are not able to offer them anymore since the provider is not selling the items due to import restrictions in the country. To continue with the same quality level, we replaced them for a luxury one which is used in lots of other 5 stars hotels in Buenos Aires.

Although we may have different points of view regarding your general experience at our property, I do apologize if we have failed in some way with your expectations. I am really surprised you had some shortcoming regarding service during your stay, since this is what most tourists stand out from us.

Please receive my apologies if we felt short of our goal in this opportunity. I hope you give us the chance to double our efforts and make you experience the high level service we are use to provide and the main reason why people come back.

Once again we appreciate you took the time to share your thoughts about the hotel with us, as it is only through constructive feedback that we can monitor and fine-tune our service and facilities.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to offer you a special rate and treatment for a future stay with us. At your service,

Happy New Year!!

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    175
    41
    18
    5
See reviews for
108
335
43
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Location: hotel has a great location which is very close to recoleta but is on a large, busy road.

Rooms: we needed to stay 3 nights last-minute. We spent one night in the suite and two nights in a superior room. The suite itself is quite disappointing: as other reviewers have noted, the windows face the internal wall, which is very close and not much light comes through (even on the 11th floor). The lighting itself inside was not great, so all together, pretty dark. However, it was spacious with two bathrooms and an extremely comfortable double bed and sofa bed. I would not recommend anyone to stay in the suite (also as more expensive) unless you don't care about being in a dark place.
The superior room was considerably better, with a view on the main road and also very quiet. It was smaller but big enough with the twin beds to cater for what we needed.
All rooms are very clean and modern in style. Bathroom was above average, interesting in fact (no bathtub, and shower with wooden floor) but not that practical with a very modern design (sink is really low, water splashes out and tap is hard to master).
All rooms have an espresso machine, but at 4us$ a capsule, only acceptable for business travelers. A 1 liter of Evian water at 10 us$ is also exaggerated in my point of view.
The internet was very good, in fact the best I have come across many hotels. Each floor has their own router/modem ensuring fast and continuous access. Also the iHome speaker system, where one docks an iPhone 3/4 and can charge and listen to music is a great addition.
My biggest complaint is the tv - there are two controls, one for the flat screen tv and one for the satellite box. Although I could handle them, slightly older guests may need a hand (in fact my mother did need some assistant). The satellite system has many channels but is slow to navigate and many channels are in Spanish.

Restaurant (breakfast and dinner):
Breakfast is below average, also compared to other hotels in BA. Presentation is very nice (see photos) but there is a limited selection, and basics like white/ brown toast are missing. There are one or two waiters there, so it's half self-service and half waiter-service. But the room is simply too small and, as noted by other reviewers, just not practical.
Dinner was great (I had a chicken curry to change from all the beef I had been eating) and it was really tasty. I'm sure everything is very good but the choice on the menu is limited to about 10-12 items. Furthermore the atmosphere was a little confused - a result of listening to daft punk's latest album while eating in what is a supposedly quite smart restaurant.

Service: the service here is excellent. Very forthcoming, very kind and very flexible. They let us have the suite for the price of the superior because they didn't have a superior available for 3 nights. They moved all our stuff from one room to another perfectly. They warned us about leaving the car outside the hotel because of parking fines and towing, and kept an eye out. Overall attentive, energetic and competent, I commend the staff on their efforts and they make a great deal of the good impression I have for this hotel.

Although this is a small luxury hotel of the world, I'm not sure it really fits into that category (an opinion also expressed by some other reviewers). However as noted before, although it has some shortcomings, it does enough to deserve a 4/5 and I would recommend this hotel as long as you don't want to stay in the suite.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ilbaldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Recoleta, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

We very appreciate you for such positive feedback! The comments that you have provided us are going to be share with all our team.

We are glad you enjoyed our location and facilities. We recommend indeed our superior rooms to be delighted with the perfect view of Callao Av.

Regarding minibar prices, they are similar to other hotels in the same category. Unfortunately some items are really expensive here due to importation restrictions.

In reference to our restaurant, we will consider a change in the buffet breakfast in order to include more variety and improve the offer.

We are delighted to receive such a pleasant feedback of your recent stay at Casasur Art Hotel; we would like to thank you for your most kind comments regarding our staff.

We are looking forwards to have you with us again.

Happy New Year,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

CasaSur was a perfect place for a one-week visit with my daughter. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and well designed-- hardwood floors were spotless. We had the great fortune of an upgrade to Suite 1103, which was spacious, spotless and incredibly quiet. While the restaurant was limited in selection, the fare was good and service charming, making it a perfect solution for first night exhaustion. The location is charming, a relatively quiet, elegant neighborhood, two blocks from La Biale and the Recoleta Cemetery (and 4 fabulous gelato establishments). Comfortable walking distance to shopping, both Patio Bullrich and Recoleta Mall and a few museums. I would highly recommend CasaSur as a tremendous travel value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustSF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Recoleta, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thanks very much for your e-mail and for such a wonderful review.

We are glad you enjoyed so much your stayed and could appreciate our facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you again in a future visit!!!

Best regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The service and staff at Casasur were excellent. They were attentive and most helpful in recommending activities and places to shop. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The included breakfast was delicious and more than we could consume.

The hotel restaurant had a limited menu, but what they did have was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Recoleta, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at CasaSur Hotel.

We are very glad to hear such nice words about our room, staff and breakfast, as well as the hotel location.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again in a futur visit to Buenos Aires.

With kindest regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I checked in to this hotel on October 31, 2013 for a three night stay at the beginning of our trip. First impressions of the building, lobby and staff were wonderful. We arrived at the hotel before noon and expected to have our luggage stored until check-in time but our room was ready early and we were able to check in and freshen up after a long flight. We were in room 302 which faces Callao Avenue. Even though we were fairly low down and on a busy street, the room was relatively quiet. There were GREAT sound-proof sliding doors onto a lovely balcony with table and chairs overlooking the street.

The room was spacious and had a lovely bathroom with a wonderfully powerful hair dryer. Sounds silly but it makes a difference when getting ready. The hotel is literally blocks away from the Recoletta cemetary and in a lovely old neighborhood with lots of cafes and shops.

The staff were also helpful with directions and booked a tango show for us the evening we arrived, with only a couple of hours of notice. We also received vouchers for a complementary drink in the tiny bar, which was nice after a long day of sightseeing.

I would definitely recommend the neighborhood and this hotel for someone travelling to Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: We were in room 302 and it faced Callao Avenue and had a lovely balcony but was still very quiet. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Recoleta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this positive review on Tripadvisor about your visit to CasaSur Art Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you appreciated our most luxury and attentive service from our ambassadors. There are so many aspects you mentioned that contributed to your overall satisfaction of your stay, be it the sound proof system of the suite, the early check in, the quality of our bar or the activities on offer.

Thank you for recommending CasaSur Art Hotel to your friends and family.

We do hope to have another occasion to welcome you back in the foreseeable future.

Kindest Regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I would strongly recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious and very well maintained. Also the bedrooms are quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again if I returned to BA.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Recoleta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took your precious time to write about us. Your feedback provides a great reward for our efforts and has been shared with our colleagues.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. We will be keen to contribute to your positive travel experiences in the future as well.

Best regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casasur for a total of 5 nights over a two week family holiday in Argentina. It is a lovely boutique hotel, very stylish and well equpied. The rooms are really good (spacious, comfortable beds and all amenities you might need). The best thing about the hotel though is the staff. They are super welcoming, friendly and helpful. Everytime we walked into the door, we felt like we were at home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FournierenSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Recoleta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Fournier Family,

Thanks very much for your lovely comments. It was an honour for the entire team to assist you during your several stays with us in your trip to SouthAmerica.

We are glad you enjoyed the facilities as well as the pleasant treatment of our staff.
We are really proud of our personnel, who through hard work and dedication succeed in achieving the services goals and contribuite to make a memorable stay for our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in a future visit.

Best Regards.

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#18 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#10 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaSur Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaSur Recoleta

Property: CasaSur Recoleta
Address: Avenida Callao 1823, Buenos Aires C1024AAE, Argentina (Formerly CasaSur Art Hotel)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#15 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#36 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CasaSur Recoleta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaSur stands out for its uniqueness, its room concept, innovation and personalized service. Located in the distinguished Recoleta neighbourhood, near by several cultural, gastronomic and art attractions.The combination of textures and noble materials outstands in each one of the 36 neoclassic style rooms. A warm environment, where details were thought to meet guests’ needs, at any time for every requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CasaSur Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casasur Art Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing