We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Britain in Buenos Aires”
Review of The New Brighton

The New Brighton
Ranked #16 of 4,926 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Nicolas
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Piece of Britain in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Food & Wine Are Very Good!
The Prices Very Competitive!
The Decoration Is Stunnig!

The New Brighton Is Definitely On My Porteño FAB List!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IgnacioGentiluomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    136
    36
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Classic old Tavern.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Nice old establishment that use to be a tailoring. Makes you feel like in old times. Traditional , elegant and classic establishment of the old days. Good food, excellent service and good wine selection.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fechavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing ambiance”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

For a 5 star restaurant, this one did not disappoint.
The service was excellent, the surroundings marvellous, and ambiance superb.
Our food was served exactly as we wanted it, after enough time to sample the excellent wine but not long enough that we wondered where it was.
We even managed a tour of their wine cellar with the maitre d' which, in itself was an education.
The price was not cheap .. but you do get your monies worth.
On most nights, reservations are definitely in order, and wear something nice.
They won't turn you away but this place demands dressing up a bit for dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MO0648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Far too expensive, mediocre food, beautifully preserved turn of the century establishment.”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I have been before and returned mainly to enjoy the very pleasant atmosphere. The food always was à weak point, but this time it was worse, and, prices were exorbitant. We had carpaccio wich came right out of the fridge, probably on thé same plate with only thé cellophane removed, and mollejas of similar origin. Salads were good and service attentive and professional, though. Wine list very extensive, but many items not available. Difficult to see how this establishment can survive much longer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11Frappier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best food and service on our travels around Argentina”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We went for dinner to the New Brighton just because we liked the name and it turned out to be a fantastic place to eat. The service was friendly and efficient, the piano playing just the right side of kitsch and the decor was like something out of an Agatha Christie novel. But the main reason we can't wait to go back at the end of our trip is the great value, melt in the mouth steak, huge portions and all perfectly prepared. What a treat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lollymlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Brighton also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to The New Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing