We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home away from home”
Review of Hotel Babel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Babel
Ranked #135 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed February 18, 2014

ok its basic, the rooms have no phones or bar fridges
the breakfasts are continental with eggs the front doors are kept locked for guest security
but
Richie and his staff will do everything in their power to make your stay an experience
the locale in the heart of San Telmo is perfect for the 'vibe' of old BA
would certainlyy recommend this boutique hotel

Room Tip: if you have luggage then request a downstairs room as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 551 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here on two occasions, a couple of weeks apart. Our first room was number 2, which we recommend. It is a reasonably large and well furnished room on the ground floor. While it has no window, it opens into the indoor atrium through pleasant shutter doors. On the second occasion, our room was on the first floor, room 9. This room was smaller and, being higher up, hotter in summer. However, it had a full length window opening onto the street below. The beds in both rooms were clean and comfortable. Both rooms had air conditioning, but the second room showed a lot more wear and tear, and the toilet seat was not particularly clean (which makes one wonder about the rest of the room). Internet access for the hotel is available through wi-fi or a computer on the first floor. Breakfast is provided in the lobby, rather slowly. As the hot water is in a vacuum jug, tea and coffee will only be hot if the water is fresh - in this respect the hotel is more like a hostel with private rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful and able to accommodate our limited Spanish. The hotel is very close to a number of good restaurants in San Telmo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellhamsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Not a luxury hotel experience, but a good friendly place in the center of San Telmo. Lack of windows but fairly clean and quiet. All the basics for a stay in San Telmo. AND Hotel Babel is purple -- very purple, which makes it easy to find and makes you smile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBS_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

There were no windows in our room, only the room's main door which opened into the public patio so Miguel gave us room number 8 with windows. It felt a bit like a hostel. The room hadn't been cleaned or the bed linen changed so we wondered why LAS Argentinië booked us again such a basic place...

Room Tip: Room number 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiseleRoosLaDiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location and comments on Trip Advisor. It proved to be in the heart of all things San Telmo. The Sunday market was just a few blocks away, and the choice of restaurants in the area was super. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was good and served promptly. The rooms were clean and the shower had plenty of hot water. Some of the towels could use replacing, but they were of good quality but showed wear. Best location for exploring the real Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankR_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for a night because we wanted to be in the heart of San Telmo. For location, it cannot be beat in this regard. But after so many positive reviews, I was surprised that I found the experience of the hotel itself disappointing.

I liked the art everywhere, and I loved the way the building was renovated- the design was great. But it felt the hotel wasn't kept up enough to live up to the design. It did not feel clean to me. My friend and I both felt a little funny going barefoot in the room. And there was a lingering musty smell everywhere. There were no windows in our room, only the room's main door which opened into the public patio. I felt there poor air circulation. As someone else has said, it felt a bit like a hostel and would have been lovely at hostel prices.

The gentleman at the concierge was friendly and fun, but recommended a restaurant to us that was closed for renovation. He was also the person I had booked with, and he had emailed me once to ask me if I had been charged yet for the room, which was disconcerting, and emailed a couple times to ask me questions I had already answered. Also, I had booked airport transportation through him. When I arrived at the hotel, I was told I had to pay the cab driver in cash, which sort of negated the point of booking it through the hotel. His response was "oh yes, it is always this way," even though I had never booked with them before and my experience in other Argentine hotels had been the opposite. He also played his own music late into the night, which wafted into all the rooms. This would have been fine, except that he was really in the mood to listen to this one song (he told us)... and he kept playing it over and over. Sometimes, he would stop other songs in the middle to go back to it. It's a song I like, but...

I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKludt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is one of the nicest boutique style hotels I have ever stayed in. The place is spotlessly clean and has a lovely modern feel to it. The rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms. The staff are absolutely amazing - always smiling, always polite, and always helpful. The location is good with public transport nearby (mainly opposite the university, which is close by). The breakfast is also very nice, although it could be improved on a little with a slightly bigger choice ( this is me being critical perhaps!). Check out the Sunday market nearby.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Grifflarudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Ribera Sur Hotel
Ribera Sur Hotel
#140 of 443 in Buenos Aires
142 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#89 of 443 in Buenos Aires
492 reviews
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#178 of 443 in Buenos Aires
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Babel Suites
Babel Suites
#257 of 443 in Buenos Aires
304 reviews
San Telmo
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel
#195 of 443 in Buenos Aires
267 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Babel

Address: Calle Balcarce 946 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1064AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#88 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#92 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $42 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Babel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Babel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babel Hotel Buenos Aires
Boutique Hotel Babel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing