We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Babel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Babel
Ranked #138 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is in an excellent location, just a 2 minute walk to the San Telmo markets (Sundays) & a great area to roam around. The staff were super friendly and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble and they even organised breakfast at 5am due to an early flight out of BA. The rooms are clean and modern. Also being a small hotel it has a nice feel to it - all up the perfect place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    158
    59
    10
    11
See reviews for
30
349
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place went beyond my expectations. The staff was very friendly and the room that we were given was nice and confortable. I love small hotels because the service is personalized. If I go back to Buenos Aires I will stay in Babel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel Babel is ideally located in the heart of the San Telmo area of Buenos Aires. After researching Buenos Aires we wanted to stay in Sam Telmo and we were not disappointed. This area has real charm and character, and you are just a short 10 / 15 minute walk from Plaza de Mayo or the subway (which is a very cheap way to travel around the city).

Great bars and restaurants are on almost every street in this area, which also specialises in antique shops / markets. We picked up a lovely penguin wine jug in a nearby market.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful during our stay; we were given a great recommendation for a tango show just round the corner at El Viejo Almacén which was simply wonderful.

There is also a nearby stop for the yellow tour bus company which takes you around the city.

The hotel is very relaxed and welcoming and does a great breakfast too.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahd148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Totally loved this hotel and the area where it is located. If you like the cafe scene you will thoroughly enjoy wandering around the little streets of this area and watching the tango dancers perform in the nearby piazza while you sip your coffee.

Found some great shoes for tangoeing in the local shops and enjoyed walking through the street market here.

Loved the atmosphere of this hotel, especially the friendliness of the staff on reception and great breakfast bar area. Excellent background music and the staff kindly give out a CD with a compilation of it on departure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've traveled to many different cities and this is the best service I've received by far. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights back in December and loved everything about this boutique hotel. The staff even invited us to a private art show! Very knowledgeable with the history of BA and great recommendations of must see and do for the area. I would recommend anyone looking to travel to BA to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phuong v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June. We were met by Miguel Angel who offered us a coffee and chatted to us and made us feel very welcome before checking in - we didnt meet him again until our last night but he was equally friendly and upbeat and greeted us with the same enthusiasm as when we first met him, inquiring with genuine interest about our stay in Buenos Aires and in the hotel. A good guy.
The hotel is located in San Telmo and is quite convenient to everything. it is about 15-20 minute walk to plaza de Mayo and is near many restaurants and bars. The breakfast is basic but has everything you need to set you up for the morning and you can request eggs or waffles on top of what is laid out.
We stayed in a downstairs room that was quiet and well appointed, despite having no window.
As others have pointed out, what makes this hotel is the staff. Despite their relatively young age, each member - we met four - was courteous, polite and professional. I initially dealt with Jose who was excellent in his correspondence via email and while there was brilliant in his approach to everything from questions, to advice to help with taxis. A true gentleman and professional. The girl from Costa Rica and the lad from Colombia were also great in offering a warm welcome and good advice on where to eat.
I would highly recommend this hotel and I would say that European hotel staff and indeed young staff in whatever line of work could learn from these guys. They are a credit to the owners and a real asset to the business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PowenyPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Babel for 5 nights on our first trip to Buenos Aires. This was the perfect place to stay for so many reasons, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

First, the hotel is safe. There is 24 door service, and guests must check in and out as they come and go by turning in their room key. The atmosphere is a combination of chic and charming, with a modern front lobby and courtyard, and retro doors and rooms. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are ample. The rooms are not huge, but they are more than enough.

The staff is incredible. Friendly and helpful, they will help you with whatever you need. They speak excellent English, and are more than willing to offer suggestions, make arrangements or just hang out at the bar and talk to the guests.

And San Telmo is THE place to stay in Buenos Aires. There is so much color, culture and history in this area. Restaurants and bars are on every corner, and one is as fun and cool as the next. I was tempted to stay in Palermo when I researched the city based on the reputation for things to do and nightlife. But San Telmo is sooo much better. Far more down to earth, real and fun. There may be more nightclubs, nouveau bars and high-end retail shops in Palermo, but ST is where you will find historic pubs, milongas, and some of the city's best parillas.

We loved Buenos Aires, and Hotel Babel and San Telmo had a lot to do with that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#155 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#86 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Montserrat
Babel Suites
Babel Suites
#259 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Centro
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Ai...
#170 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
San Telmo
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel
#207 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Babel

Property: Hotel Babel
Address: Calle Balcarce 946 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1064AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#89 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#93 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Babel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Babel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babel Hotel Buenos Aires
Boutique Hotel Babel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing