We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mine Hotel Boutique(Buenos Aires)
$153
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Recoleta Plaza(Buenos Aires)
$207
$166
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$451
$343
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $429/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alvear Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
$370
$293
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$549
$525
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
314
168
71
12
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
168
71
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan telmointernal courtyardtango showthe perfect place to stayplenty of hot waterrooms are comfortablebars and restaurantshotel is in a great locationtrip to buenos airesmaurobalcarceargentinaneighborhoodspanishusd
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 580 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

It's so rare in tourism (particularly in chain hotels) to find places which offer you a genuine, personal welcome. This is exactly what happens at Babel. Juan, the manager, made us feel completely at home and offered us free tea and coffee and a token for a free drink at the bar (a particularly appreciated touch). The hotel also displays art which is changed every month. When we were there, there was an art party where everyone got a free g&t, and it was an amazing way to catch the incredible artistic vibe of San Telmo. The hotel is also rather beautiful, with a gorgeous chic little courtyard. If you want to stay somewhere that makes you feel special, stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isingthereforeiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This place knows hot to tick all the boxes! It really isnt' that hard be a good hotel. This hotel shows how it's done. They offer great rooms, nice bathrooms (large shower areas), really comfortable beds (sleep quality is everything), quiet at night, amazing breakfast, a truly fantastic deck staff (extremely helpful and actually entertaining), as well as a comfortable inner court (very cool with the glass cover!), and desk area as well as super competitive rates and a great location right in the heart of San Telmo. That's the formula for a great hotel, and Hotel Babel has it all worked out. Thanks for a great stay, we shall be back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms, and both room types were very good. So choose according to your budget!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Babel in San Telmo for 5 days prior to our South American cruise from Buenos Aires. We certainly enjoyed this boutique hotel and could not recommend it more. The staff were just the best, very friendly and polite, and all speak English, they can arrange everything, even a Polo Match to watch. Breakfast was fresh and tasty, and more than adequate.........San Telmo is a lovely old area of B.A. lots of antique shops, fantastic restaurants and eateries, and the most amazing market held each Saturday.............We certainly picked the right hotel to stay in, and would definately stay there again..................

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWideEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I would highly recommend this for staying in the vibrant San Telmo area. We arrived after an early bus from Mendoza and were welcomed with a coffee and the offer of breakfast, which was much appreciated. We were not able to check in until 2pm, which was a little frustrating having been told 11pm by email, though this was the only service problem we had over our stay (and in reality the room ended up being ready by 1pm), the rest of the service was excellent.

The rooms are great, I think most are internal which is a little unusual though natural light gets in through the glass doors and the benefit of facing into the internal courtyard is that it is very quiet despite its bustling location. The bed was comfortable and the bathrooms well done, if a little dark.

On the second day we came back from time out to find that workmen had been in and were halfway through fixing the mirror in the bathroom, had I been warned of this I would have had no problem but it had not been mentioned so coming back to half done job was not great and when we returned later and the work was finished, it had not been properly cleared up, and the workman had left his cap. Aside from this minor gripe our stay was excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Babel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenacious_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Babel for nearly a week, and I can only agree that this is one of the friendliest and best hotels we have ever stayed in. The hotel and rooms have a been very well designed, with a wonderful contemporary feel that lets you know you are not in a chain hotel. We loved the local artwork hanging on the walls, and the constant laid back soundtrack playing in the lobby.

However what sets Babel apart is the staff and service. We felt instantly welcome, and the staff really went out of their way to look after us. The staff know their stuff about the local area, and were able to give fantastic recommendations for food and activities.

The hotel is located in the heart of trendy San Telmo, with all its bars and restaurants. It's a fantastic base for exploring Buenos Aires. We can also highly recommend the closest restaurant, Cafe Rivas.

We would definitely stay at Hotel Babel again if we return to Argentina.

We would definitely

Room Tip: Rooms off the courtyard are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atson-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews